Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed

Kills dandelions and other major lawn weeds. Builds strong, deep roots.
Overall rating:
3.651 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(275 reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 275 reviews
5 Stars
123
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
18
1 Star
55
193 out of 268(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
154 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Burned Grass in patches

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFrisco, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am using Scott products from several years but this is first time I noted bad results, burned my back yard and side yard grass in patches and rest looks stressed out now. As always I followed instructions and used a new Scott rotary spreader (3 1/4 settings).
I guess some thing changed in this product, please fix it before you hear more voices.
Proseffective until my previous application
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 22, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions.

Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It kills EVERYTHING! Grass included!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromConnecticut, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I used this (and the seed) for my lawn and it did nothing but kill everything. My concern was filling the patches that I had to make my lawn whole again. I used the product as directed and even bought the spreader. As you can see in the pics, you can see everywhere I went with this. The neighbors grass on left, right and across the street all have nice grass. Even the rest of my yard I did NOT use this product on is great and green. ONLY where I used this is where the grass is dead. Never again will I use this company or any sister companies they own. TERRIBLE! The only plus is that it didn't spread to the rest of my yard or the neighbor's yard...
Prosit didn't spread anywhere else
ConsDidn't work as expected, it killed everything it touched, wasted my time, i have to redo everything, costs me more in the end to find something else
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 10, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions.

Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJeffB
 
Please wait while more information about JeffB is loaded.
Additional information about JeffB could not be loaded.
onJune 9, 2014
Did you water it enought? If you are going through any sort of drought or if you used any other fertilizer/weed killer in the last 6 weeks, you may have burned out the grass.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

more expensive than other brands but worth it!

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Since last year I've been a dedicated Scotts user. Tried cheaper products and they don't cut it. Neighbors all asking me what I do to make the lawn so nice. Almost didn't want to reveal my secret but ah what the heck. :-) If you want the greenest, thickest, weed free lawn in your neighborhood go with Scotts year round. I'm happy I made the switch!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCumming, GA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
User submitted photo
I am an ardent user of Scotts® Turf Builder® With PLUS 2® Weed Control and I just love this product. I swear by this product. If you want to have an healthy, sturdy looking lawn... just use this product as recommended on the label and you can't go wrong. Before I started using this product I use to fight with weed and dead lawn year after year. I decided to give Scotts® Turf Builder® With PLUS 2® Weed Control a try and I notice that gradually my lawn started looking healthy, green and fresh. I was wondering if my eyes were playing tricks on my until my neighbour came over and asked what I have been using on my lawn because it looks so good. I even got Yard of the Month twice in my community.
Give it a try you have nothing to loose, but everythig to gain.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, everything to gain, you can't go wrong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product has seriously damaged large areas of a healthy, well watered lawn.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGuilford, CT
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The product was applied carefully and accurately under ideal weather conditions. The lawn was watered and green prior to use. Product was applied in accordance with instructions and applied with a Scotts Rotary spreader at the recommended dial setting and rate. The square foot area covered (15000 sq feet) was consistent with the suggested usage indicated on the bag.
Within several days following application, the lawn was sufficiently watered and daytime temperatures were in the low 70's. Gradually, while my neighbors untreated lawns became greener, mine developed brown patches that continue to spread. There has been little to no affect on the patches of clover that reamin after application. I am very disappointed with the product. My lawn grasses are none of those contraindicated on the label. I take pride in my lawn, but amI somewhat embarrased by the damage this product has produced. The pictures attached show my neighbor's untreated lawn. Prior to this Scotts application my lawn was greener and healthier than my neighbors. The two other pictures depict the poor appearance after the Scotts application.
ConsDidn't work as expected, clearly damaged my lawn.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 16, 2012
We're sorry to see the condition of your lawn after using Scotts Turf Builder with Plus 2 Weed Control. Damage can occur if applied when daytime highs are consistently above 85 degrees or if product is over-applied. Be aware that issues such as lawn disease or insects feeding are often mistaken for product damage. Lawns damaged by this product will typically recover if a 1/2 inch of water is applied every 2 to 3 days for 3 to 4 weeks. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation. Please contact us to discuss your situation further and to see of what assistance we can be to you. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you have bermuda grass beware!

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromOpelika, AL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I applied this product at 8:05 AM Central time on Common Bermuda grass on 9/08/2012 to grass (wet from dew) that had not been mowed for 6 days. Mt Scotts Standard Broadcast Spreader was set on 3. Each pass was 3' apart. The temperature was 73-75 degrees. I did not expect rain but at 2 PM we received 2/10ths inches of rain.
At 3PM after the thunderstorm I noticed the hundreds numerous 3"-5" brown spots all over my yard that everyone writing reviews is talking about.
I think this product got mislabeled or has not been properly labeled.
If an errant thunderstorm wets the application and that is a problem, it should be noted on the products label.
All this damage in only 8 hours!
Beware!
ProsEasy to Use
ConsProblem with label, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 10, 2012
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the Turf Builder Plus 2. We appreciate your taking the time to post the pictures for review. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation. Please contact us to discuss your situation further and to see of what assistance we can be to you. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps my lawn greener than my neighbors

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWhittier, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have a front lawn that I share with my neighbor so I started using turf builder only on my half of the lawn to see if it actually made a difference. i noticed that my half of the lawn was greener and healthier that his half.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromFairless Hills, PA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Have a Kentucky Blue Grass Lawn and Scotts is all that I use. I follow their spring, summer and fall plan and have nothing but success. The grass just grows and grows. Of course there may be instances when I have to bend down and pull a weed here and there but to be honest, it is far and few between. I was cutting the grass today and a man pulled up in his truck and wanted to know what I did to keep the grass so green and lush. My answer was: start with good grass and treat with Scotts and plenty of water. That is the only way to go!
I dare you to find a weed in the photos of my front lawn...
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning Lawn, Scotts ALWAYS!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHardyston, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Year after year, season after season, Scotts NEVER disappoints! I simply follow the Scotts 4 step system and the results are ALWAYS the same, STUNNING! Turf Builder with PLUS 2 Weed Control, keeps my lawn healthy, strong and weed free. My lawn is the envy of the neighborhood and passerby's stop, look and compliment on how great my lawn looks. When they ask how is my lawn so green, lush and weed free, I simply tell them that my secret is Scotts. Scotts takes the guesswork out of lawn care and Turf Builder with PLUS 2 Weed Control helps me achieve and maintain the Best Lawn on the block!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Faster than Expected

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCarlisle, PA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Read the directions and apply to damp lawn, and anticipate no rain for a couple of days.
Dandelion plants shrivelled into sick looking clumps and were easy to scoop out with a hand shovel.
This was my first application of this product and my lawn looks 100% better. I can't wait to see what it looks like in 2 years after consistent applications.
ProsQuality, Good Directions, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does everything it says it does

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I'm in my third season of using this product. I don't know why it's gotten so many bad reviews because it does everything it says it does. I have a small yard so I use a little more than recommended so maybe thats why I've gotten such good results. The first year before my lawn was fertilized the yard was completely taken over by dandelions. I used this product and got almost immediate results. The dandelions died off and the grass grew in thicker, greener, and just looked better. The following year the dandelions didn't even return but I continued using this product. The grass grew in so nice that people actually complimented me on how nice my lawn looked. I just put down my first application of turf builder for this season and will put more down in about a week. I love Scott's turf builder and will continue to use it every year. if You use it right, you will get great results.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's not all about the fertilizer...

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPacific Northwest
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I inherited a truly terrible lawn. 50% moss, 30% weeds and some spindly, rather sickly looking fescue that resembled a bad toupee’. It was then that I prepped the entire area with a moss killer to raise the iron level. The entire area was then de-thatched and aerated. It looked like a construction site, a true mud pit with patches of green. I then over seeded heavily with a bluegrass, rye, fescue mixture and let it take with the early Northwest Spring floods.
Once I saw growth, I noticed that the weeds were also taking root along with the new seed. As it matured I disregarded this as I knew that the new grass, once healthy, would eventually choke out the weeds. After a few cuttings I applied this product per label and pulled a couple of the larger offenders by hand, including some crabgrass.
Eventually it started to come into picture. The new grass seed combined with the existing rye, fescue started taking root and coming in. The weeds died out and were replaced with newly sprouting seed with a little help via EZ Seed.
Now, it looks great and grows fast and thick. Weeds never get a chance to take root. The neighbor’s yard is a sea of dandelions and they never propagate into my yard but that still doesn’t stop them from asking me how that whole thing works…..
My hope in this terrible diatribe is that folks understand that anyone can take a bag of “X” and throw it on a terrible existing condition and expect it to perform miracles. I apologize, but that’s just not going to happen. There is definitely work involved in getting a nice looking lawn. It’s not two weeks, not a month, or sometimes even longer. It can be a year or more until you get things healthy and the weeds under control. When you eventually do, it’s really nice and quite easy to keep it looking the same all year long.
In my opinion, the Turf Builder with weed control works great. I haven’t pulled a weed in recent memory. And if I did, I surely wouldn’t blame it on this product.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Death in a bag

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromOregon City, OR, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
This product killed nearly all my nice lawn in a matter of hours notwithstanding having followed the instructions to the letter!
ConsDidn't work as expected, kills weeds and lawn
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesApril 30, 2012
I am sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder with Plus 2 Weed Control. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering.

If you want to contact us to discuss this further, we have live chat at our website, you can e-mail us, or call 877-465-5160.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for me

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromIndiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used this for the past 7 years. Even with neighbors on both sides that do not do any lawn care, I am able to control most of the weeds that try to grow in my lawn. If you could see the amount of dandelion seeds that blow into my lawn and how few are able to sprout, you too, would be as impressed as I am with Scott's.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
49of 67voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bypetey
 
Please wait while more information about petey is loaded.
Additional information about petey could not be loaded.
onJune 7, 2013
ohio - outstanding product. very small lawn with lots of dandelions. applied product as directed and very pleased with results.
I mow at 3.75 - 4.0 noticed improved root system, more healthy growth
0points
2of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts System doesn't work

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used Scotts products for years with no success. I started out this year with a relatively nice looking lawn. I then applied the Crabgrass preventer with fertilizer. It grew well but I started to see weeds. I then applied the turf builder weed killer (all as per instructions). Now I can say that I have the best crop of weeds and crabgrass on the whole block. I think by they added weed fertilizer to the product instead of weed killer. I'm done with Scotts. When I first started out I used competitors products. They were harder to find so I switched to Scotts. Every year my lawn gets worse. The only product that seems to work well is the Weed-B-Gone MAX (not the regular - the MAX that is not sold everywhere). I'll be out hand spraying my lawn with that (time consuming & expensive but I now have no choice).
ConsDidn't work as expected, fertilizes the weeds instead of the grass
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMarion, MT
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always used a store brand fertilizer on my yard along with Ortho Weed-B-Gone with good results. Last year I used Scotts Winterguard Fall fertilizer expecting my lawn to be more lush and green in the Spring. It wasn't. So, then I applied Scott's Turf Builder Weed and Feed in the spring hoping I could rid my lawn of wide blade grasses, white clover and other weeds along with encouraging lawn repair, with overseeding, on the winter-kill areas. Very disappointed in that I have more clover and weeds than ever and my winter-kill areas remain and my grass is brown in spots. I have always followed the directions explicitly as I do not have the money to waste and I now feel that the 2 bags of winterguard and the 2 bags of weed and feed were a huge waste. I would not recommend this product.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 22, 2014
We are sorry that the Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed did not control the white dutch clover as expected. I hope this hasn't caused you to lose complete faith in our products. Occasionally, even when products are used correctly, weeds fail to die and we simply can't identify why. I do hope you'll try using one of our weed controls again, and I would like to offer some tips that may help you in your future weed control efforts.

When using any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime high temperatures are consistently between 60 to 90° F. For best results the temperatures should be between 65 and 85. Turf Builder Weed & Feed should be applied to a wet lawn and allowed to stay on the foliage undisturbed for at least 24 hours without rain or water. Since this product is initially absorbed through the weed's foliage, we recommend that the weeds not be mowed for two days both before and after the product application. This product will only kill weeds that are actively growing at the time of application, and cannot prevent new weeds from germinating.

There are a few particularly troublesome weeds that Turf Builder Weed & Feed does not control. If you have any questions as to what the weed is that you are battling in your yard, we recommend that you contact a local reputable nursery to see if they can help you identify the weed before you attempt retreating it with any other product. Once you have had it identified, please let us know what it is and we can help you find the right product to control it.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My grass looks like straw now

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWest Deptford, NJ, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After reading the reviews, I still said "hey.. they must be doing it wrong" and I tried anyway. Now the front of my house looks like the wild west. At first I thought, maybe I just have a lot of weeds and it is killing them all but as the brown plaque took over my lawn, I noticed more and more that it was killing the grass as well as the weeds. I'm disappointed and will not use this product again. It's a shame because I spent like $60 and didn't even use half the bag. What a huge waste!
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions.

Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation.

Please be aware that issues such as lawn disease or insects feeding are often mistaken for product damage. You may want to take a sample of the damaged area to a reputable nursery to rule these out.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Killed my Grass

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Due to the harsh winter I had a lot of weeds this spring. 4 weeks ago, going on 5 today. I used this product and it turned my entire lawn brown. We waited two weeks with watering and still had an embarrassing brown lawn. Stressed we bought ez seed, raked up the brown grass and we still have no grass. I close my eyes when I walk up to my house.
ConsDifficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 9, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Killed the weeds and the grass!! Ouch!!!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNH
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied this product of the first time as part of the Scott's (4) step program. The Turf Builder product in early spring and the Turf Builder with Halts worked great, so I had similar expectations for this product. I had read about some of the issues with this product so I was very careful to apply properly per the instructions. Unfortunately the results were awful, it burned the lawn where I had planted new grass 10 weeks ago and burned other areas also. Yes it did kill some weeds but in all I would have been much better not using this product. Now I'm watering like crazy trying to salvage a lot of work and money as I've got a 3 acre lawn. This was painful!
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJuly 1, 2014
We hate to hear about the condition of your lawn. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label. Lawns may brown or yellow when too much fertilizer is applied. Watering will help the lawn to recover. We recommend a 1/2 inch of water (20 to 30 minutes) every 2 to 3 days for the next 4 weeks.

Again, we are sorry to hear about your situation and we would like to talk with you regarding your experience. At your earliest convenience, please call us at 877-465-5160.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first use ever.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMillbury, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first time ever using any kind or lawn fertilizer or weed and feed. I had to do some math to figure my brand of spreader setting and I played it safe. The dandelions were one per square inch in spots in early spring. They're all pretty much gone. On the clover I think it's tougher, you could make out where my spacing was a little wide clover was still present in streaks but not as strong. I think I will apply again but on opposite direction. I think that will take of what was missed. I just have to play weather right along with the mow times. You really have to read up in order to do it right. If you do it like a dumby hire someone. I have 3 acres minus 1/3 acre pond, driveway, house and flower beds. This product worked beyond my expectations. My neighbors lawn is so thick with clover it looks like it snowed over there. I just moved in last year so I assume his yard would be same as mine. I upset my kids about killing weeds (flowers) maybe kids are wiser then we are about nature. I still like my lawn looking good. I wish Scotts would put other manufactures spreader setting in instructions but I under stand why not I just did the math. I mainly wrote this review to counter all bad reviews. I like the Scotts responses to bad review almost ever time with same reply "read the directions".
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, good web site to read up more then label.
Consis more $but i've heard because of granular size
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>