Customer reviews for Other Brands Earthgro® Potting Soil

Other Brands Earthgro® Potting Soil

Earthgro Potting Soil
Overall rating:
1.688 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
12
3 out of 16(19%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Review 1 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grubs

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBristow, OK 74010, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was under the impression that earthgrow products were superior. I have purchased this product before, but this fall the bags I purchased were full of grubs, dozens. Aside from this problem I find potting soil to be average, a little heavy on the sand.
ProsEasy to Use
Consfull of grubs
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 9, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts Potting Soil. The soil you purchased is a natural product. We do not sterilize the soil nor do we claim to on the package. In addition, soils and mulches may become infested with insects while in storage as they are waiting for sale.

I am also very sorry that you have been disappointed by the formulation of Scotts Potting Soil. Scotts has done extensive testing and has found that the current formulation performs most effectively for consumers. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to forward your concerns to our Marketing and Research Departments.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Full of sand and sticks - doesnt drain - Don't buy

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDallas
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I bought this to replant my mint plants in containers. I planted one in left over MiracleGro potting mix and the best plant in a big container with Earthgro.
Earthgro I got had abudant fine sand particles and lots of sticks. there is no way it resembled a potting mix. it was hard as cake and had to loosen it and fill up the container, now i see that it is very tight in the container after watering.
MiracleGro mint is thriving very well. Earthgro Mint is slowly stunted and I am assured it will die. I have to buy a better potting mix. wish I had read reviews before buying this. Waste of time, money and plant.
Don't sell them please. It wastes time more than money. you should know it takes lots of efforts to plant fertilize and await results. To end up with a piece of clump in the end is just disappointing
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 25, 2013
I am sorry that you have been disappointed by the formulation of Scotts Earthgro Potting Soil. Scotts has done extensive testing and has found that the current formulation performs most effectively for consumers. Although we try to keep a moisture content of at least 30% when our soils leave our packaging facility, it is possible for them to dry out while waiting for sale.

If you find the Potting Soil is dry or lumpy upon opening the bag, you may empty what you need into a plastic bucket or tub and slowly stir in a small amount of water. Wearing garden gloves and/or using a garden tool, work the soil and water together thoroughly until the soil is moistened. Do not add too much water at once, or the mix will be too wet. Since dry potting mix can be dusty and messy, it is best to mix the product outside. Any lumps can be easily crumbled by hand, wearing gardening gloves.

I also apologize for the wood that you have found in your Scotts Earthgro Potting Soil. I would like to assure you that Scotts makes every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Please rest assured that I will forward your information on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Earthgro Potting Soil:

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased two bags from a big name department store. Less than $3 a bag. Upon opening the bag the soil was very heavy and clumped, not loose...Had me concerned but it was all I had so I proceeded with my planting. We've been having a lot of rain this week. This soil does not absorb water. One of the pots I planted contains a begonia and it kept filling with water which I had to pour off a few times. The other pot has vegetables. I took a closer look at both and was surprised to find lots of obvious sand! I'm going to re-pot every plant that's in this soil using a brand that I've never had trouble with. I read another review where their bags contained plastic. I'm surprised to find out that it's a Scotts product. I imagine they would do a better job of checking their products before selling them to the public.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, sandy, not water absorbent
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 2, 2013
I am sorry for the problems you experienced with Earthgro Potting Soil. Although we try to keep a moisture content of at least 30% when our soils leave our packaging facility, it is possible for them to dry out while waiting for sale. If you find the soil is dry or lumpy upon opening the bag, you may empty what you need into a plastic bucket or tub, and slowly stir in a small amount of water. Wearing garden gloves and/or using a garden tool, work the soil and water together thoroughly until the soil is moistened. Do not add too much water at once, or the mix will be too wet.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Best used as fill

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My 4 bags of Earthgro Potting Soil contained shredded plastic that I had to pick out. Fortunately, I was mixing it with top soil, but I would never use this to grow anything besides grass. It's basically top soil with a tiny bit of perlite mixed in, but not enough that I would consider it potting soil. Seems quite irresponsible to me.
Conscontained shredded plastic
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 26, 2013
We apologize for the plastic that you have found in your Scotts Earthgro Potting Mix, I would like to assure you that Scotts makes every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Please rest assured that I will forward your information on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this for container gardening.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this soil for some of my container plants and they did poorly until I transplanted them to more suitable soil. This soil compacts and doesn't drain well. I've used other Scott's products with good results, stay away from this one.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJune 25, 2013
While we certainly don't like to hear that you have had this experience, we appreciate the feedback. In any case where you are not totally happy, please contact us about our guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible product!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnew jersey
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money on this product. There is no perlite in my bag but there is an abundance of sticks and extremely hard lumps etc. I did a jar soil test and it is basically all sand, the smallest sand, no real good LOAM in this product...so my plants suffocated. I had to go buy perlite cost me $17.00 just to add it to this subpar "soil." This is a terrible terrible bag of the poorest quality soil you could possibly find.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Problem with label, full of sticks hard lumps, suffocates plants if you dont add perlite..., poorest quality available
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 12, 2013
We are so sorry to hear you had a problem. Please get in touch with us to discuss a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNavarre, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When I opened the bag I expected some kind of material of substance but all I found was a lot of wood shavings/granules and lumps about the size of my fist that resembled clay. I have added leaves and some sand to make something of it. This stuff is not acceptable.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesFebruary 19, 2013
We apologize for the clumps and wood debris that you have found in your Earthgro Potting Soil. I would like to assure you that Scotts makes every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Please rest assured that I will forward your information on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would never buy again, inferior product

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDeb
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
all my planters and in ground plants are growing the same weeds. The product smelled bad, actually smelled like urine, was overly wet. I have to repot everything and dig out weeds. I am very disappointed and angry at the double work and costs. I will not repot using Scotts.
ConsBad Odor, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJuly 24, 2012
We are sorry you were not satisfied with Scotts Earthgro Potting Mix . We understand that it is very disappointing when weeds invade a desirable garden growing area. The soil product you purchased is a natural product that has been composted. While the composting process generally kills most weed seeds, there can still be some viable seeds after composting.

We are also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the odor of Scotts Earthgro Potting Mix. Scotts makes every effort to ensure that our products meet consumer expectations on every level, including odor and appearance, and I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Use!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromutah
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish I'd thought to read reviews before I purchased 12cf (6 2cf bags) of this horrible product. I thought I'd save some money and it ended up costing me so much more replacing $200.00 worth of plants, plus time, plus new potting soil. I can't believe this is on the market.
So, my bags were basically wood shavings and manure. None of the other stuff that makes the mixture sound alright for potting soil. Maybe they don't mix it up, or I got the bad stuff off the top, or they don't really add in any of the stuff it says it has in it. I will never buy cheap potting soil again and will never buy anything 'Scott's' again because I'm so mad.
Prosnone
ConsBad Odor, Didn't work as expected, burned plants, label contents wrong
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesJune 26, 2012
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Earthgro Potting Soil. There certainly should not be large wood pieces in the soil. Our soils are specially formulated and tested to ensure that plants will grow their best. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWhite Salmon, Washington
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this potting soil and when I opened it I was suprised to find it smelled terrible like manure. It was super wet and had no perilite in it like all other potting mixes I have bought. I planted some flowers with it even though I was hesitant. Less then 48 hours later my flowers were showing signs of being burned. I called The Home Depot and the Earth Gro 1-800 # and they all said it was fine. "It smells like that because it is a natural product." I dont believe them and am going to transplant everything into new name brand soil and will return this product. This is a terrible product. I am sure it is manure.
ConsBad Odor, burned my plants!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceMay 11, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the odor and formulation of Earthgro Potting Soil. Earthgro makes every effort to ensure that our products meet consumer expectations on every level, including odor and appearance, and I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance Department. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would not recommend this product.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSacramento, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Upon buying a 2cf bag of Earthgro potting soil, I found it infested with gnats. I planted a few plants with it, and noticed gnats almost immediately after. I would not recommend this soil, unless you want your plants infested with gnats. Very disappointed.
ProsValue
Consinfested with gnats
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceMay 3, 2012
I am sorry to hear of your experience with Earthgro Potting Mix. The soil you purchased is a natural product, it is composted but not sterilized. In some cases, soils become infested with fungus gnats that can enter the bags through tiny air holes that are necessary for the soil to "breath". All of our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, so at your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n we may also be able to provide additional tips.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

earthgo potting soil

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTexas, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
no 'soil' to it, bought a bag of wet CLAY! never again will I buy this product and I'll tell everyone I know not to either!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceApril 21, 2012
We apologize for the clumps and debris that you have found in your Scotts Earthgro Potting Mix. I would like to assure you that we make every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. All of our products carry a no quibble guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so that we can see what we can do to make this right. http://tinyurl.com/783fbxx

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a new raised bed where I filled half miracle gro soil and half of earthgro potting soil. I planted cucumbers and lettuce in the earthgro side and they love it so far. They are growing beautifully. My only downside for this soil is that after a week of raining. (I live in Buffalo, NY) mushrooms started to come out where I have the earthgro. The mushrooms aren't the poisonous type I just took them out, but this concern me how much they sterilize this soil. I guess I shouldn't be using for vegetables, but I was trying to be cheap hehe.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consmushrooms grew in it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for houseplants "right out of the bag"!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Label says "for use right out of the bag" and outdoors in a garden that's probably true. I sifted it and was left with 6 cups+ of rocks, sticks and clay balls - 10 qt. bag. (Would NOT want that in my african violet pots!)
Label says there's perlite added but darn little that I could see! Seems like a lot of sand and not as much organic matter as I hoped. Was stored inside hardware store so not wet or stinky as some warned.
I bought this as a substitute for peat moss, fully intending to add extra perlite & vermiculite. (Miracle-Gro brand potting soil & peat moss have fertilizer added, making feeding plants a guessing game and running a real risk of over-fertilizing.)
Will go slow and test this on a few at first...maybe use a majority to repot a fern instead. Also...baking it in the oven to pasteurize just to be overly cautious, perhaps.
ConsProblem with label, not ready to use!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks and feels good.

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWoodbridge, VA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
all organic well composted, Dark, and moist when I opened the first bag. lots of well rotted mulch. I saw None of the "clay" the first reviewer mentioned. Got it for a good price.
The thickness of the bag left some to be desired as both 1CU FT bags I got from Walmart had 1" plus holes.
Just started my first GrowPot#R# so don't know how well the outcome will be but see no reason to doubt that the EArthgro#R# potting soil will be anything but an excellent choice.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use
Conshole in each bag
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Earthgro® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Tropicals

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromIL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works great w/tropical plants. Despite soil or soil-less mediums, we mix according to plant type.
I feel Earch Gro has sufficient ingredients to keep a tropical plant going for years. Wish it was sold in more stores though.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Consproblem finding locally
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.