Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer

Scotts Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer

Kills weeds to the root. Strengthens your lawn. Kills and prevents fire ants.
Overall rating:
3.529 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
11 out of 17(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Review 1 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been outstanding!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very disappointed that this excellent product has been discontinued. I've used this product in South Florida on St. Augustine grass and in Atlanta on Zoysia grass with excellent results.
What do you recommend now?
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, works like no other.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Murdered Lawn!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRotonda West, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this item because we always used Scotts in the past. However, we sprinkled some of this on a patch of grass and instead of killing the weeds, it killed the lawn! The weeds are just growing their merry little green selves, but the lawn now has brown patches. So glad we only put a small quantity down by the front door and did not do the whole lawn. We have patches of dead grass, which used to be nice and green.
Very disappointed, will not purchase again. It seems the generic brands seem to work better.
ConsDidn't work as expected, killed lawn
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 12, 2013
We do not recommend applying Scotts Bonus S MAX Southern Weed & Feed And Fire Ant Killer by hand or as a spot treatment, we suggest using a spreader. Applying this type of product by hand will not allow you to receive an even distribution of the product. You may over apply the product in some areas, while under applying in others. This will lead to both uneven green up from the fertilizer, and inconsistent weed control.

Atrazine is root active and activated by water. Heavy watering will not neutralize Scotts Bonus S MAX Southern Weed & Feed And Fire Ant Killer, and should be avoided. Heavy watering can cause the chemical to leach down slopes and into untreated areas or under shrubs and trees, which may cause plant damage.

If applied within the last 24 hours and the product has not been watered in, activated charcoal (carbon) can be applied (1 lb. per 100 sq. ft.). An application to the lawn surface will absorb the active ingredient. Activated charcoal may be found at large hardware or farm supply stores or pet or aquarium supply stores. If Bonus S MAX Southern Weed & Feed And Fire Ant Killer has been watered in or been down longer than 24 hours, there is unfortunately no way to neutralize it; activated charcoal would need to be tilled into the soil to be effective at this point. We suggest normal watering (1/2" every 2 to 3 days) and waiting to see if any damage occurs.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stained concrete.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromKilleen, texas
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I followed the instructions to the letter( I used it before it rained), and sweep up the granules. I looked extra close to make sure they were all up. I had previously read reviews and noticed how many people said it stained, so I sweep very , very well. However, after the rain I came outside to find my driveway and sidewalk covered with orange rust like stains. The fertilizer must have washed out of the lawn and onto the concrete. I am very upset. I followed the instructions and it still stained my concrete, very badly. I hope it at least does a good job on my lawn,(since that is yet to be known). My advice , use at your own discretion , because if you have ANY concrete surrounding your lawn it will be stained(if wet, I don't know how it works dry).
ProsEasy to Use
Conswill stain concrete badly
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceMay 19, 2013
We are sorry to hear about the staining that has occurred while using Scotts Bonus S MAX Southern Weed & Feed And Fire Ant Killer. The more quickly a stain can be removed, the more effective the process will be.

We strongly recommend that before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test the product on a small area to see if the product will fade or damage the stained surface. Note that sealed or colored concrete or pavers may experience lifting of the sealant or color with many cleaning products.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ helps in three ways

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer product that helps in three ways. It fertilizes grass, second it kills weed, and third it kill Ants too. Therefore I do not need different product to use. It is great.
You can also try it.
ProsValue, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytwinsmama
 
Please wait while more information about twinsmama is loaded.
Additional information about twinsmama could not be loaded.
onFebruary 13, 2013
I just sarted to use this product. How quick did you see the results?
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product which provided Great results

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBelton, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have used this product in both the Spring and Summer seasons. Using Scotts Bonus S MAX as recommended and at the recommended times, provided me with a healthier and thicker lawn than years past. I can say without hesitation that my 2012 lawn growing season has been the best of my 12 years at my current Central Texas location. With a healthier lawn, weeds are almost nonexistent. Fire Ants have been controlled beyond my expectations. I, as well as my immediate neighbors, will be using Scotts Bonus S MAX for years to come…
Additionally, I have used Miracle-Gro Bloom Booster liquid feed ferilizer and Miracle-Gro Shake 'n Feed fertilizer products in my flower garden beds and container gardens. Have enjoyed many compliments from my Friends and Neighbors!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consclumpy in the bag during high humidity conditions
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Miracle-Gro® LiquaFeed® Bloom Booster® Flower Food Refill Bottles
5 out of 5
(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product worked great!!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBluffton, SC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great product!! After I put it on my lawn it only took about 2 weeks to see some great results. My grass was a nice thick dark green. And I never saw the fire ants again. Will purchase again next summer. Was great for my centipede grass!!
ProsEffective
Consonly lasts about 2-3 months.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO ANTS ! !

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMelbourne, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One of the best products to control Fire Ants I've ever used... Kept the pesky little buggers away for a whole six months, and man was my grass green and weed-free ! !
Love this stuff ! !
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good weed control

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good weed control, not as strong on ants because of the amount of rain in our area.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bonus S Max

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMesquite, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the 2nd year I have used bonus s max and I am not very happy with it.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy grass and eliminated weeds.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used Bonus S a few days ago and already my grass looks healthier and the weeds are gone.
I live in the Miami, Florida area.
I have used Scotts products for over 40 years and I heartily recommed them.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, excellant customer service
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytwinsmama
 
Please wait while more information about twinsmama is loaded.
Additional information about twinsmama could not be loaded.
onFebruary 13, 2013
Before you use this product how good or bad was your grass?? My grass is not so good and I just started to use this product. I would like to know so I can compare. I live in Orlando. Thank you,
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCharleston, SC, USA
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this during the month of May and live in South Carolina. It was recommended to me by a vendor at Lowes, who had it on sale for 19.99 a bag. Excited, I came home and followed the directions to a "T". Upon initial inspection it looked good, but as I began to spread it, I realized that the filler used kept getting bogged down in the spreader itself. Having already used in the past the weed and feed bonus s product, my guess is that the filler was the fire ant preventative. To make matters worse, the "fire ant preventative" had absolutely no effect on my yard. In fact, it's almost worst now. Don't purchase this product. I would be more apt to buy the weed and feed product in the future. Quite disappointed.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, mixture of materials specifically the ant killer, had no effect on ants., clogs spreader causing uneven distribution
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great in Houston

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCypress, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have St. Augustine grass and fire ants were a problem - no more with Bonus S Max...I have a green lawn with not a fire ant in sight - I'm sold on this terrific product.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not waste your money

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMadisonville, LA 70447, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always used Scotts products and couldn't garden without them however this product is a waste of money. It didn't kill the weeds and it didn't kill the ants.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJune 4, 2012
We are sorry that the Bonus S MAX Southern Weed & Feed And Fire Ant Killer did not control the weeds, or ants as expected. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product saves time

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was able to fertilize, weed, and debug in one treatment; it saved a lot of time and seems to work well. It's a little expensive treating this way, so you have to weigh out the cost/time saving issues.
ProsEasy to Use, saves time with one application
Consexpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You'll Have The Best Lawn On The Block!!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBradenton, FL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started three years ago with a yard full of weeds when I bought my house. I installed irrigation and use only Bonus S Max. Now....with only water and "BSMax" I have a super green thick lawn....and Bonus S Max is the answer. I work at a golf course and I must say, this product rivals any "professional" product on the market. Well worth the price....the results are unreal !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ProsEffective, great value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ant Control Spotty

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
from31545
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I used this instead of the Bonus S for ant control. I had to go back and use another product because of the fire ant infestation. However, my yard is very lush and hardy.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Bonus® S MAX™ Southern Weed & Feed and Fire Ant Killer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ant are as bad as they were, maybe even worse

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromcocoa, florida
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always used scott's products, Miracle grow potting soil, fertilizers, plant food, bloom booster, store brands have never been a match for anything scotts has to offer...However I just tried the new bonus s max w/ ant killer and it was a big waste of money, I have 1 acre so it takes alot to cover it, I spent $39.96 a bag at walmart spent half a day putting it on the lawn and watering it in. Now 2 weeks later I have ants everywhere still, some of the weeds are dead and the grass is taking off much faster now , but ants everywhere. Big let down!!!
ConsDidn't work as expected, didnt kill ants
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceMay 3, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your experience with our product. You may not see the ants die immediately, but you should see a reduction in the pests or their damage within a few days. For severe infestations, you may need to reapply the product or a similar control product according to label directions. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.