Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black

Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black

Use up to 30% less water than with ordinary mulches while still getting the year long color guaranteed!
Overall rating:
2.442 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
21
18 out of 42(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Review 1 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Killed my Steed Holly

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
User submitted photo
Be careful where you use this product. I put it around a 6 month old 3 foot Steed Holly and now the Holly is dying. I took the mulch out immediately but I'm afraid the bush isn't going to recover. I removed the mulch from my other beds for fear of killing my other landscape bushes.
Afterwards, I read the small print on the bag and it says not to use near walls or smaller places. I guess its the weed prevention chemical that isn't healthy for young bushes. Too late for my plant but they should make it very apparent on the bag that it can be toxic to landscape.
Conskilled my holly
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesSeptember 23, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. We make every effort to ensure that our product is safe to use. Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly performance tested.

The product you purchased does not inherently contain harmful substances. While it is not sterilized, Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has undergone a composting process that kills most harmful microorganisms while allowing beneficial microorganisms to survive. A local nursery may help you determine if disease, insects, or other environmental factors have played a role in the problem you have experienced.

When applying the Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch we would recommend that you apply between 2 and 3 inches for the best possible results. However, we do not recommend applying more than 3 inches of the Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch at a time. If the mulch is too thick, the plants could dry out. If you are applying to an area that has been previously mulched I suggest turning over the existing mulch.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lasted long the first time

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this much kept its color for a long time and bought some more for other parts of my yard.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consprice
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mulch that fades

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPaos Park
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
The product is easy to apply. My problem with the mulch was that it would fade quickly and turn almost gray or ashy. This was not the look that we were attempting to accomplish around our house. I expect the mulch to fade, but not after a month.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesAugust 21, 2014
We are sorry that the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has faded since it was applied this year. Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch is guaranteed to stay colorfast for one year. However, for optimum color, we recommend turning the top inch of mulch every 3-4 months. We at Scotts appreciate your feedback and I assure you I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromJohnson City, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Highly recommend this product very good color and blendung
ProsEasy to Use
Conscolor fades with lots of rain
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black mulch kept most of weeds from germanting.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAnnie
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color did not fade during summer heat, kept shrubs and flowers moist.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Color Enhanced Mulch

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used a few different mulch products in the past. Some seem better than others. 2 years ago I purchased Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Color Enhanced Mulch and found that the color retention was the best from all the other products I have used. This year I purchased 25 bags to mulch my front beds and I was happy with the results. This past weekend I purchased 18 additional bags and after only one day of rain, the color has washed away. I am very disappointed with these results
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

became moldy within a few weeks

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnorthern kentucky
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i purchased 30 bags of nature scapes black mulch and after a few weeks there was a lot of white mold. i was disappointed in the mold and how it looked. i hope next years batch of mulch has better color quality and will not mold as easily.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor color retention, appearance

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used this product in the past with great satisfaction. Scott's brand was worth paying a premium for given the superior quality and color retention.
However, this year I purchased 25 bags and noticed
- a moldy spots in a few bags
- color was not as dark as in previous years
- within a matter of a couple of weeks the product began to lose a significant amount of color.
- size of the wood chips seemed much larger
Very disappointing given the time, cost and effort to purchase and apply the product.
I hope the quality issue is limited and will be resolved quickly.
ConsDidn't work as expected, poor quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 22, 2014
We are sorry for your disappointment with the color and texture of Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. We appreciate you making me aware of your concerns.

Our mulches are produced regionally, and for that reason they can vary in color and size/texture. Different types of wood are used depending on supply, demand, and geographic region; and the different types of wood have different textures and absorb the dye different. We are very sorry for any problem this has caused. We have passed these issues along to our Marketing and Research Departments. We value feedback from our consumers, and we will certainly take these points into consideration.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faded in 2 days; moldy when removed from bags

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMount Cobb, PA 18436, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Purchased six bags for backyard garden. I have used this product in the past, and was very satisfied. However, these bags were not the same product as used before. First of all, they were not as "black" as the previous bags I've purchased. They had moldy white mulch throughout, chunks of large wood, and even some red plastic something. I had to use them because we were expecting company and didn't want to leave it unfinished. Two days later, the black mulch looked like it had been put down a year ago - and it's in a shadier part of the yard! Very disappointed in this Scott's product - not the same quality. I should have read other reviews first. Will now purchase more mulch from a different company to cover the Scott's. Quality control needs to be better.
ConsDidn't work as expected, white mold throughout, faded in 2 days, poor quality not same product as used in past
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. This is not what we expect of our mulch and we have reported all of your comments to our Quality Assurance and Marketing Teams for review.

We see that you have been in contact with us and your refund, per our product guarantee, has been processed. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can be of any additional assistance.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The price you pay doesn't equal the quality you receive

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia,Pa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought about 20 bags between April and May. You would think when you're paying twice as much for a bag of mulch it would be alot better quality. Not from what I've seen. I've spent alot less and got the same quality of mulch. Not all the mulch is black, some is gray already. It doesn't do anything more than any other mulch does.....I'll never use Scott's mulch again
Consnot worth the price too $$$
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 3, 2014
We are sorry that the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has faded since it was applied this year. Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch is guaranteed to stay colorfast for one year. However, for optimum color, the label instructions recommend turning the top inch of mulch every 3-4 months. We at Scotts appreciate your feedback and I assure you I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NatureScapes

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNovelty, OH 44072, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Purchased 16 bags this past weekend.
In at least half the bags, the mulch was a very light black. The deeper I got into the bag, the mulch was already gray and had mold forming on it.
At almost $8/bag I am very disappointed as I thought this was a "Premium" product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 12, 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the consistency of Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. Scotts makes every effort to ensure that our products meet consumer expectations on every level. We appreciate the time you took to make us aware of the problem, and I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faded within two weeks.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMilton, FL
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this product because I loved the black color and the contrast with my plants; however, the color was no match for Florida sunshine and faded within two weeks and completely changed color within a month.
ConsDidn't work as expected, doesn't live up to scotts reputation.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJune 10, 2014
We are sorry that the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has faded since it was applied this year. Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch is guaranteed to stay colorfast for one year. We assure you that your comments will be forwarded to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faded in 3 days....Must have been a bad batch or product is not as promised.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSpring, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed....I spent all weekend leveling and planting and thought a layer of black mulch would do the trick. Too bad it only stayed the rich deep black for about 3 days. Came home today after a rain shower and noticed the mulch was no longer black but gray and wood color. 12 month is laughable. Purchased at Lowes hopefully Scotts or Lowes will return and get me a refund or a batch that won't fade.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, faded very quickly, false advertisement
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 3, 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the of Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. Scotts makes every effort to ensure that our products meet consumer expectations on every level. We appreciate the time you took to make us aware of the problem, and I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not close to Scott's quality

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDerby, CT
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
To say I am extremely disappointed in this product would be an understatement. I am a life-long customer of Scott's and have exclusively used their products including grass seed and fertilizers.
I don't even think you can call this mulch. The best I can describe this is a bag of sticks. Extremely huge pieces and chunks, looks horrible and is difficult to spread. As far as the guarantee of this being color-fast for a year, most of the larger pieces did not even take the color in the first place.
I purchased over 30 bags and spread about half of them already. I am going to try and return what I didn't use and will remove what is already down - I dislike like look that much. As a very busy person it is aggravating to have to take the time and effort to return products and to re-do my work.
As a homeowner I am always willing to try something new, and sometimes you get burned - but this is the first time it has happened to me with a Scott's product. I hope they are paying attention to the poor reviews here.
ConsDifficult to use, poor quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 20, 2014
We are sorry for your disappointment with the color and texture of Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. We appreciate you making us aware of your concerns.

Our mulches are produced regionally, and for that reason they can vary in color and size/texture. Different types of wood are used depending on supply, demand, and geographic region. We do try to use the same types of wood at the same manufacturing facility, but it's still possible for the same facility to have to utilize a different type of wood if demand is high. We are very sorry for any problem this has caused. Again. We have passed these issues along to our Marketing and Research Departments. We value feedback from our consumers, and we will certainly take these points into consideration for future production and packaging.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2014 Mulch apparently better than 2013

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromtx
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was kind of hesitant to buy this mulch due to so many negative reviews last year, but I wanted black mulch and this was my only option. The mulch is perfect. Consistent size, color, and quality across numerous bags. Will definitely buy again next spring and would recommend product.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conscolor gets on everything it touches.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This must've been a bad year for Scotts mulch!

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSpring, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Lots of large pieces and sticks. It's only been down a week and it's already fading. I've been using Scotts for more than 10 years and this is the first time I've seen this. I hope next year is better or I'm just going back to the cheaper stuff and save a buck a bag.
ConsDidn't work as expected
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 8, 2013
I apologize for the sticks and large pieces of wood that you have found in your Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. I would like to assure you that Scotts makes every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. I am also sorry to learn that the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch has faded since it was applied this year. Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch is guaranteed to stay colorfast for one year. We at Scotts appreciate your feedback and I assure you I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance Department.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers.

At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a disappointment

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromcamp hill, pa
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Everything we use is "scotts" because we think it's superior to other products. We purchased 70 bags of mulch which we aren't returning to Lowe's because it's too much effort. The mulch pieces were huge. Twigs, chunks, large sticks, some at least 1/2" thick and 4" long. It wasn't much more expensive than other mulches but it was still a complete waste. It looks pretty from a distance but up close it is exactly the look we did not want. Actually, last year it was the same but we assumed it was just a bad batch. This was definitely a learning experience; a mistake we won't make again.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 27, 2013
I am sorry for your disappointment with the color and texture of Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch. I appreciate you making me aware of your concerns.

Our mulches are produced regionally, and for that reason they can vary in color and size/texture. We do try to use the same types of wood at the same manufacturing facility, but it's still possible for the same facility to have to utilize a different type of wood if demand is high, or even for us to have to ship from a different facility to an area with high demand. This can account for differences in color or composition of the mulches, even at the same retail location. I'm very sorry for any problem this has caused. Again, I can certainly understand that you want your mulch to match. I've passed these issues along to our Marketing and Research Departments. We value feedback from our consumers, and we will certainly take these points into consideration for future production and packaging.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So Disappointed

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a loyal consumer of numerous Scotts products and have always felt confident in purchasing their products. I was thrilled when i learned that Scotts was producing what i thought was a high end mulch. I purchased 35 bags to mulch my own house as well as my mothers. I was highly disappointed by the inconsistency and large size of the mulch. It was very thick and wet and did not spread well at all. Three of the bags of mulch were a completely different style, They were almost like bags of dry black sticks is the best way i can describe it, The final straw for me was less than a week later when looking at my beds they had allready lost that deep black color and looked grey. I paid twice as much per bag than other brands and was willing to pay a premium for a premium product. This is anything but a premium product.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, doesn't hopld its color at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJune 23, 2013
We hate to disappoint, but glad you brought this to our attention. We will report the problem to our quality team. Meanwhile, we encourage you to take advantage of our guarantee.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMustang, OK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the 2nd year I have bought the black mulch and still very unsatisfied with the product. It has been in place for almost 2 months now and I have more weeds than ever before and I thought the product was to help with weed control??? We have had a lot of rain in the past month and most has washed away around our flowerbeds.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServicesJune 20, 2013
I am sorry that the Scotts Nature Scapes Advanced Classic Black Mulch did not prevent weeds as you expected. Our mulches suppress weeds when applied at a 3 inch depth (per label directions) by blocking growth and access to sunlight. Weed suppression is not expected if mulch is not applied at a 3 inch thickness. In addition, none of our mulches have an additional chemical component to control weeds.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Advanced, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shouldn't be guaranteed for 12 months

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromClarksville, TN, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We got the brown color last spring and it faded fairly quickly, but we wrote it off as being the color we had picked out and didn't think too much of it. Then this summer when we purchased mulch we noticed the "12 month guarantee" and thought that would be a great deal and plus it was by Scotts. So we went with the black. It looked nice when we first put it out last month, but it has already faded to just a "brown wood color" for lack of better words. The consistency is lumpy, not very mulchy. It also seems to be disintegrating or something because it seems to be shrinking where we put it around our trees. I do not see how it could be guaranteed for a year, when it looks like we will have to buy more to fix this mess only a month (maybe) after we put it out :(
ConsDidn't work as expected, fades, large lumps
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>