Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black

Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black

Scotts' best mulch with year-long color - guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.784 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
28
99 out of 130(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Review 1 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color not as advertised.

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWashington State
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Last year I purchased 45 bags of the Nature Scapes black, it was absolutely beautiful in my yard. This year so far I have purchased twenty five bags and the color is terrible, more like a brown. I purchased the product at two different stores hoping that maybe one store had gotten a "bad" batch. Need twenty bags more to finish yard though I wish I had taken the bags back in the beginning.
ProsEasy to Use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mulching equalsn Water Conservation & Less Weeding!

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWalnut, ca
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I began to mulch for decorative reasons until the benifits began to show. I use A LOT LESS WATER! And the weeds do not find there way to the surface through the mulch.
Our entire yard is munched and looks beautiful. when I amend my soils if I have a lot of debris on top I will remove by raking so I lose some of the mulch. Then I aerate the ground with new soil, the mulch will work its way into it. (Another benifit is the mulch in the ground retains the water) Last, top with new muclch and a beautiful garden continues to grow.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, water saver, weed reducer
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product alway remains it's true color.

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSpringfield, Masschusetts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Love this mulch, I use this every year, and it keeps the color. My neighbors always compliment on the color around my trees and bushes, I make sure to pick this up every year at Home Depot, I watch for it to become available.
ProsQuality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Black is not black

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHermistin, Or
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Searched all over town for black mulch & we finally found Scott's at our local Home Depot store. We're replacing old faded lava rock in our front yard. Purchased a couple of bags for a small area & the "black" mulch was more of a brown soil color. Very disappointed in our purchase and will be returning the bags we've not opened.
Conscolor not as stated on bag
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed.

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCenterville, UT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought 20 bags and it has faded to a light grey in 3 weeks. I went back and bought an additional 5 bags to mix in to try and make it look better after the first application faded and they went grey as well. I was very excited when I saw the product and put it in my beds it looks amazing. The 1 year color guarantee was a selling point but like I said it didn't last for 3 weeks. I hope they are able to correct the issue because out of the bag it looks amazing but it's not cheap and a lot of work to have it not last like Scotts says it will.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lasting color!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChesapeake Beach, MD
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used many brands of mulch over the year, most of them boasting of lasting color. However, I can say after much disappointment with other brands, Scotts Nature Scapes provides the longest lasting color! It also doesn't have scraps often found in the cheaper brands. Scotts cost a little more, but it is well worth it to spend your money on something that will last all season long!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOOZA

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRochester, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotts color guard mulch holds it's color for years unlike the other brands! Try it and you'll be hooked on Scotts for life!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, long lasting color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color and stayed put when put in place!

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromElgin, IL
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this to put on top of last year's mulch and had great color and stayed put. I even used my blower a bit near it and it did not blow away!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great and keeps its color longer!!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSaint Peters, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very happy with this mulch. Keeps its color longer than average mulch.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Black went grey after ONE rain storm

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBoston, MA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought eight bags of the black to do a small garden area. One good rain storm came through w/in the next couple days and all of my mulch is now grey. I still have the receipt and will be heading to the store for a refund today.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, NY
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After having redo our garden, we used the Nature Scapes mulch and we were very satisfied. We chose this becuse of the Scotts name and they did not disappoint. The pieces were a nice size and it really helped bring our garden to life. The colors in from the plants in the garden really "popped" against the black mulch. The best part was, they really did hold their color. In the past we used mulch where the dye would run and make a mess. The colorguard Scotts uses really makes a difference as the color doesn't fade and it doesn't blead off onto everthing else. Definately worth paying a little more for the better quality.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality and Environmental friendly

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBurlington, KY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this product after moving to new homesite. Over last 6 years color was maintained and mixing with Kentucky soil has not proved a problem.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like the quality and color of product.

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorthbridge, MA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product at Lowes. It is portable and convienent for the small area I need for coverage.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mulch

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMechanicsville, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keeps it's color longer then the other brands that I have tried.
ProsValue, Effective, looks great!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mulch! Hands down!!!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWoodridge, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the clean look of freshly laid mulch. What I don't like is the smell or the need to continually replace or rake over the mulch to keep that look! This is the only one that I have found that does not fade from the sun, I prefer the look of the black mulch. It gives it a non-mulched look, but keeps those nasty weeds at bay, as well as keeping my plants protected and their roots wet. I will continue to buy Scot's whenever I need to relenish my mulched beds.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective, long lasting color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNYC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I believe this product held it's color much longer than others I have used
ProsValue, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Black don't stay black

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEast Hartford, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had purchased 10 bags of this product in black to change the look of my home a little. When first put down it looked really rich. Wait until a couple of rain storms and sun. The black which is supposed to stay and is guaranteed turned to an ashy grey. Not happy at all. I am not sure about the other colors but stay away from the black unless you really need grey.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMay 21, 2015
We are sorry to hear that the Scotts NatureScapes Color Enhanced Mulch Classic Black faded. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product stays true to the color I chose.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGlen, NH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
User submitted photo
I used Scott's Nature Scapes Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black last spring. Well the snow has finally melted and has revealed the Classic Black mulch still rich and black. Needless to say I recommend this product.
ProsValue, Quality, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSmyrna, GA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had some mulch put in by a landscaper last year and it faded in about 6 weeks, I put this down a month ago, looks brand new!
ProsValue, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This a a great mulch!!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNewark, DE, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used Nature Scapes for several years --- the color did not fade and it kept weeds down. We highly recommend this product!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>