Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black

Scotts Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black

Scotts' best mulch with year-long color - guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.604 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 149 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
38
103 out of 144(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Review 1 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

White paint splotches

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromIl
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
We purchased 95 bags of blrown nature scapes Mulch....
12 of the bags contained mulch that looks like white paint had been splattered on it ! So ever disappointing .
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, not brown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very very poor color retention---1 day!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAccord, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I tried Scotts mulch this year as it has a 12 month color retention boast on the bag. Put down the mulch in the evening--looked great until the sun set. It rained that evening and the next morning I had plain wood mulch--the black color was gone. What a waste of time-never again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product ia a great value

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
But the rebate would not work because we bought it at Lowe's.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Product!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCicero, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been using Scotts Nature Scapes Black Mulch for several years now at our fairly new home (now 7 years old) and it looks great! Our house is light grey with charcoal trim so we decided the black color would look the best. It looks wonderful! Color stays and we just have to push it around to make it look fresh again. We are very satisfied with this product and will continue to use it!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product I ever bought!! Color washed away within 4 days!!

PostedJune 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromProspect, CT
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I put the product down on a weekend (23 bags) and within the first rain we had during that week ALL the color washed out. I am now left with grey / white mulch in my newly prepared beds. It looks awful and I will have to redo the entire yard. I would never buy this product again. I usually buy bulk but thought using the bags would be easier. Biggest mistake I ever made. Scott should take the term "Color Guard" off the bag!!!
ConsDidn't work as expected, color washed away immediatley
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black sets off the colors in the landscaped bed

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCape Coral, FL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Really so much better than red mulch...Much more classy..
Will really be happy if the color holds up throughout the hot Florida summer
ProsEasy to Use, Quality
Conswear gloves to put down/color comes off on hands, wish it was even blacker than it is
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

material is not enhanced to last a year. One rain and turns brown like 3 year old looking mulch. Worst mulch i ve ever purchased would not recommend

PostedJune 7, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Material not worth one dollar a bag. Turns brown after first rain. Complete waste of your time money nd effort to apply to your flower beds.
Proscheap
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byquintc
 
Please wait while more information about quintc is loaded.
Additional information about quintc could not be loaded.
onJune 15, 2015
I completely agree. I put the mulch down (2) weeks ago and after we had reain that week ALL the color came out. Now I have essentially white/gray mulch in my beds. It looks awful. I have to redo the entire bed. Would never buy it again!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful mulch

PostedJune 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Went through the time and effort of laying 20 bags of this and after watering our plants on a light setting for the 1st time, the color went from black to brown immediately. Horrible product. Will never use this again.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color faded drastically

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPort Jervis, Port Jervis, NY 12771, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased three bags of the Scott's black mulch this past Sunday. It looked so sharp when I put it in my flower bed. We received a few days of rain and most of my black mulch is now brown. I'm very disappointed as I assumed a product from Scott's would be superior to others.
ConsDidn't work as expected, poor quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color disappeared in 2 days.

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGardner, MA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I recently purchased 2 bags of this mulch. I put it all down on Saturday and then it rained (mildly) for 3 days. Today, Wednesday, the color is almost completely gone from this mulch. I am very disappointed.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, looks nice at first
ConsDidn't work as expected, color doesn't last a week
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall good product but contains fist sized rocks & mud chunks

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromElizabeth, PA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My first ever experience with finding several rocks and mud chunks within each of my (12) bags I purchased! Not sure how these rocks and mud chunks would have made it through the shredder but once I separated these out of my mulch bed, my area was good looking. Not sure what Scotts wants to do about this.
ProsEasy to Use
Conshalf dozen rocks & mud chunks in each bag!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
Put down 9 bags of mulch 2 days ago, no it has to be replaced. What a waste of time and money. I hope Scott's honors their money back guarantee.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lost all color in first rain

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLouisiana, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looks great when first applied but looses 75% of its color in the rain. Stuck with 8 bags of poor quality mulch in Baton Rouge.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not color advantage

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKaty, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bougth scotts black color and after 1 day and a rain my black mulch became light brown . Only last 1 day and now look like the old i took away. Very dissapointed. I spend all morning working in my yard and it look the same as the 2 years old mulch i used to have,:(
Proscheap
ConsDidn't work as expected, not color durable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big sticks in Mulch

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKnoxville, TN, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because of the Scott's name. Thinking it would be of the highest quality, even paid more for it than the other brands. There were to many big sticks in there bags. I will not be trusting the Scott's name anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color not as advertised.

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWashington State
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Last year I purchased 45 bags of the Nature Scapes black, it was absolutely beautiful in my yard. This year so far I have purchased twenty five bags and the color is terrible, more like a brown. I purchased the product at two different stores hoping that maybe one store had gotten a "bad" batch. Need twenty bags more to finish yard though I wish I had taken the bags back in the beginning.
ProsEasy to Use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mulching equalsn Water Conservation & Less Weeding!

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWalnut, ca
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I began to mulch for decorative reasons until the benifits began to show. I use A LOT LESS WATER! And the weeds do not find there way to the surface through the mulch.
Our entire yard is munched and looks beautiful. when I amend my soils if I have a lot of debris on top I will remove by raking so I lose some of the mulch. Then I aerate the ground with new soil, the mulch will work its way into it. (Another benifit is the mulch in the ground retains the water) Last, top with new muclch and a beautiful garden continues to grow.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, water saver, weed reducer
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product alway remains it's true color.

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSpringfield, Masschusetts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Love this mulch, I use this every year, and it keeps the color. My neighbors always compliment on the color around my trees and bushes, I make sure to pick this up every year at Home Depot, I watch for it to become available.
ProsQuality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Black is not black

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHermistin, Or
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Searched all over town for black mulch & we finally found Scott's at our local Home Depot store. We're replacing old faded lava rock in our front yard. Purchased a couple of bags for a small area & the "black" mulch was more of a brown soil color. Very disappointed in our purchase and will be returning the bags we've not opened.
Conscolor not as stated on bag
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Nature Scapes® Color Enhanced Mulch, Classic Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed.

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCenterville, UT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought 20 bags and it has faded to a light grey in 3 weeks. I went back and bought an additional 5 bags to mix in to try and make it look better after the first application faded and they went grey as well. I was very excited when I saw the product and put it in my beds it looks amazing. The 1 year color guarantee was a selling point but like I said it didn't last for 3 weeks. I hope they are able to correct the issue because out of the bag it looks amazing but it's not cheap and a lot of work to have it not last like Scotts says it will.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>