Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.868 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(551 reviews) 551
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 551 reviews
5 Stars
311
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
25
1 Star
104
395 out of 529(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 21 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the convenience

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product is very convenient for small jobs, seems to work reasonably well. But a bit pricey.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consprice
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought and used, works just like it states. Nice product that is easy to use. No complaints here.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Bedford, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use & grass grows very quickly with daily watering.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use, good coverage

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is easy to use, coverage is better than I expected. keep it watered and you'll have great results. germinates quickly. following year you'll see it thicken well.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLithia, Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product is reasonably price considering it virtually guarantees you grass! It is easy to use, just follow the directions and you will be amazed. It has never failed once for me. Much better than other products on the market.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product! Works as advertised

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFalls Church, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the EZ Seeds in early April and started seeing sprouts withing a week. Should have used this product before. Will use again in the Fall. Unlikely will use another product in the future.
ProsValue
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts 4 step program

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to apply. Works great. Grass is green and no weeds. Highly recommend.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very iffy

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromErie County, NY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't know about this stuff. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Don't know if it's old on the shelf or what. I use all Scotts products but this one leaves something to be desired !
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't grow

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBoise, ID, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2 weeks after using this and following all the directions, not one seed has germinated. Total waste of time and money.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love EZ seed

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGrand Forks, ND, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd year of using EZ seed. There wasn't much snow here this winter and with a dog on the premises there were many brown places this spring and EZ seed is a huge help in taking care of those.
I highly recommend it!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expensive and kind of works

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestfield, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cannot use over too much area as it is really pricey, therefore best for just spot repair. Must keep the product wet, must water it more than once per day during sunny weather..make sure the product stays dark brown - it gets light brown when dry. Seeds are slow to germinate and grass does not come out as full as I would like.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMontague, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy this product every year for those little spots that just need a touch up :) Easy to shake over the area and grows and fills in great !!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromnew york,ny
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas,it dies in a few months
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

work very well

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoxboro, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is easy to used and work . I have tried different kind but this one really wok and so easy to used.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used EZ seed to patch up a few bare spots in my backyard. It worked well, took a few weeks and daily watering, but i'm satisfied with the results.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing ALL in One Grass Seed

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEagan, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
User submitted photo
I have used Scotts products for over 20 years. I recently had the city out and drove heavy equipment through my yard They put down some generic grass seed that was very patchy, and looked horrible. There were so many spots, that I really didnt want to try and put down dirt seed and fertilizer. I purchased EZ Seed by Scotts and gave it water for 7 days. I was amazed to see growth in that short of time. MY grass looks great and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Scotts!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, quick results
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCanal Winchester, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this product is easy to use but it doesn't match my lawn. I can notice the difference in grass type but overall a decent product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consnot the same grass type
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fantastic!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLodi, OH 44254, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only does it work wonderfully! Its easy,easy,easy! Great results with little effort. Leaving more time for summer fun!
Thanks Scott's!
ProsEasy to Use
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ez seed grass seed sun and shade

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDunkirk, NY 14048, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used Scotts ez seed grass seed in a spot where there used to be a swimming pool. Much of the terrain left behind was rocks, dirt, sand and concrete, and it grew on top like it claimed it would.
It filled it in very well
I also used it to fill in spots that were caused by damage caused by a lawn mower that should have been retired many years before with broken wheel and height adjuster that caused sever burning of the lawn. It repaired and filled those spots real well.
Scotts ez seed is the only grass seed I will ever use
It includes a quality grade grass seed and a very excellent grade fertilizer
I like that the seed and fertilizer change colors so you know when to irrigate
I also like the fact it can grow on rocks, concrete, dirt and it eliminates prep work on the base soil
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, it can grow on multiple surfaces, no need to prep the soil
Consno coms what so ever
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKeene, NH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
I have to redo some spots from last year, fertilizer doesn't seem to hold water well during first week of planting.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>