Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.851 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(557 reviews) 557
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 557 reviews
5 Stars
312
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
25
1 Star
107
397 out of 534(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 21 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't grow any grass

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNoblrsville
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I followed the directions and after 4 weeks no grass
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 22, 2015
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, ScottsEZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money.

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoebuck, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought three of the 3.75 lb containers. We have used 1 1/2 containers and it is not doing any good at all. In 21 days results are supposed to be seen says the container. This stuff is not worth the money we spent.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromStow, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We used EZSeed in several areas. It was very easy to use and so far grass is coming in nice.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast growing seed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlauvelt, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been buying this EZ Seed for a few years. The end result always is great thick new grass. I have kids that are always playing on my grass. So every once in awhile I need to add grass seed to certain areas. This is perfect. Easy to put down and works within a few weeks for thick green grass. Thanks Scotts.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

We got the 20 pound bag and spent 59 bucks for nothing I didn't get on strand of grass and it's been 2 months of watering it ever day and loving it

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWBSM-AM New Bedford, Fairhaven, MA 02719, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was excited to try this product after seeing it on tv and reading about it and I'm far from pleased we went out and got two bags of the the 20 pounders at 59 bucks a peice and we had dug up the whole front lawn and turned it spent days out there starting fresh and we put the ez seed down and it's been 2 months of nothing I mean nothing I am so upset I wasted my money I went and got cheap quick and thick and some other brand and did little test spots and both of those spots are full and beautiful and nothing on the ez seed side I will never use again
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 16, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to further assist you in any way that we can.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grow Grass ANYWHERE

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is truly amazing. I had an area of the lawn chewed up by grubs and I used EZ Seed to bring this area back to life.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the convenience

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product is very convenient for small jobs, seems to work reasonably well. But a bit pricey.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consprice
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought and used, works just like it states. Nice product that is easy to use. No complaints here.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Bedford, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use & grass grows very quickly with daily watering.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use, good coverage

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is easy to use, coverage is better than I expected. keep it watered and you'll have great results. germinates quickly. following year you'll see it thicken well.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLithia, Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product is reasonably price considering it virtually guarantees you grass! It is easy to use, just follow the directions and you will be amazed. It has never failed once for me. Much better than other products on the market.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product! Works as advertised

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFalls Church, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the EZ Seeds in early April and started seeing sprouts withing a week. Should have used this product before. Will use again in the Fall. Unlikely will use another product in the future.
ProsValue
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts 4 step program

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to apply. Works great. Grass is green and no weeds. Highly recommend.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very iffy

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromErie County, NY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't know about this stuff. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Don't know if it's old on the shelf or what. I use all Scotts products but this one leaves something to be desired !
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't grow

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBoise, ID, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2 weeks after using this and following all the directions, not one seed has germinated. Total waste of time and money.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, and offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience by using the information that can be found by following the link below.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love EZ seed

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGrand Forks, ND, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd year of using EZ seed. There wasn't much snow here this winter and with a dog on the premises there were many brown places this spring and EZ seed is a huge help in taking care of those.
I highly recommend it!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expensive and kind of works

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestfield, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cannot use over too much area as it is really pricey, therefore best for just spot repair. Must keep the product wet, must water it more than once per day during sunny weather..make sure the product stays dark brown - it gets light brown when dry. Seeds are slow to germinate and grass does not come out as full as I would like.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMontague, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy this product every year for those little spots that just need a touch up :) Easy to shake over the area and grows and fills in great !!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromnew york,ny
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas,it dies in a few months
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy HoneyConsumer ServicesJuly 9, 2015
We were sorry to hear about your experience with this product. We want you to have a positive experience with our products and when that doesn't happen, we offer our No Quibble Guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience to see what we can do for you. Our contact information is found at the following link: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

work very well

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoxboro, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is easy to used and work . I have tried different kind but this one really wok and so easy to used.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>