Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.89 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(499 reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 499 reviews
5 Stars
285
4 Stars
80
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
22
1 Star
92
360 out of 479(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 21 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Seed filled in my lawn bald spot

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWest Chester Township, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy Seed worked so well! After one summer I cannot find the bald spot in my lawn that I filled in with Easy Seed.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows Fast

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWIlloughby ohio
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product does great
Holds moisture grows fast and thick
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not work for "pet spots"

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromToledo, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Although this was in an easy to use container I did not get the results I was hoping for. As long as you don't have bare spots you can add to your existing lawn with this product.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked like a charm

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromva beach
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this to fill a few bare spots and with 2 weeks I have Beautiful green grass growing.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable product

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromElyria, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was unable to grow grass under my large oak tree until I used Scott's EZ Seed Sun and Shade. It was easy to apply and was very effective.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is easy to use

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHamden, CT, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i like the fact that this product allows you to easily fill in areas in your lawn that gave no grass. Great as a patch product. It has both seed and starter fertilizer built in as opposed to separate products to fill in bare spots. It does require watering each day.. Same as if you were seeding a new lawn. Only issue is the length of time for the grass to actually grow. A little longer than anticipated.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product was easy and work well.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSachse, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product was easy to use and grows vigorously when the temperature finally warmed. We had a significant amount of rain and though I had lost it but first warm and sunny day grew thick and rapidly.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product did not deliver as advertized

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHillsborough New Jersey
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I use your Scotts products such as fertilizer for my Lawn and I am always pleased with the results, I actually have the greenest lawn.
So I thought I would try your EZ seed for a few bare spots on my Lawn, the grass begain to come up, but after a few weeks, it died off and I had my Bare spots back again
I tried this product on both sunny and shaded spots and had the same results. Please tell me why it did not work as you advertized?
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

the product does exactly what it says it does

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromapalachin ny
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i used the seed under maple and oak trees that do not get much sun at all and after a short time i had some grass. i then overseeded it and it filled in very nicely.it now looks great just like the rest of my lawnthe product does work very nicely thank you
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The grass can always be greener on your side!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMarietta, GA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've personally applied this product to my front and back lawns for two years. I have three dogs and they love to dig and cause those pesky patches in the lawn. Now it is a simple and quick fix. Apply Scott's EZ seed. It's important to follow the directions and maintain the watering. I have tall fescue and have found where I have parched last year the lawn is very lush and dark green. I couldn't be more pleased with the results. Money well spent on my biggest investment. My home.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EAsy to use

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having some yard drainage issues fixed had some patching to do. This product worked very well and was easy to use.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

filling in the gaps

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a great product if you have those hard to fill patches in your yard
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the best!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHamburg, NY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
I live in Hamburg, New York which is near Buffalo. Every winter the snow plow pushes grass and dirt from both ends of my driveway, it is always a mess. I have to put top soil down and seed the area, EZ seed makes the job a lot easier and I have great results!!!(We had 7 feet of snow last November)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not work

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCleburne, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have shade on the west side of our home and have always wanted it to be solid grass so we tried this. The result after tilling and putting out the seed, maybe a spot of grass here and there.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An effortless way to lawn care

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHoward Beach, Queens, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product for 2 seasons and I must say it is the easiest product if it's kind that I've used. There is no reason to have a bare spot or brown spot on your lawn with a product like this with such ease of use. I will keep using it as long as I need to patch my lawn,
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Conspricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easiest product on the market

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The hardest part to a nice lawn is opening the jar.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go to Seed

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWyoming, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my Go To Seed. I have ripped up parts of my lawn changing landscapes and a broken waterline. I always come back to Scotts EZ Seed because there is so little to do. Pour it on and water it. That's my kind of finish work.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome results

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromTurnersville, Washington Township, NJ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since getting our family dog Fozzy Bear, my yard has been a challenge. I purchased Scott's ez seed to fill in the bare spots. I like that it is easy to put down and germinates quickly. In no time, goodbye bare spots.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work for me

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEdmonds WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I tried this twice and did not have good results either time. I used it as directed.to cover a few spots in my yard. The reason I tried twice I have used Scotts products for many years and thought that maybe the first package was old and had been on the shelf to long.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works the best on our lawn.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSyracuse, NY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotts EZ Sun and Shade has never failed on our lawn. The soil on our lawn is not the highest quality. We have used it for quite a while and because of it our front law and back yard grass area looks beautiful, green and healthy. We have received compliments from others and we always tell them to use this product. We will continue to use it forever.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, is the best grass seed out there.
Consnone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>