Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(541 reviews) 541
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 541 reviews
5 Stars
309
4 Stars
88
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
25
1 Star
97
392 out of 519(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 21 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expensive and kind of works

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestfield, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cannot use over too much area as it is really pricey, therefore best for just spot repair. Must keep the product wet, must water it more than once per day during sunny weather..make sure the product stays dark brown - it gets light brown when dry. Seeds are slow to germinate and grass does not come out as full as I would like.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMontague, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy this product every year for those little spots that just need a touch up :) Easy to shake over the area and grows and fills in great !!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromnew york,ny
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
grass doesnt stay after it grows in shady areas,it dies in a few months
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

work very well

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoxboro, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is easy to used and work . I have tried different kind but this one really wok and so easy to used.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used EZ seed to patch up a few bare spots in my backyard. It worked well, took a few weeks and daily watering, but i'm satisfied with the results.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing ALL in One Grass Seed

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEagan, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
User submitted photo
I have used Scotts products for over 20 years. I recently had the city out and drove heavy equipment through my yard They put down some generic grass seed that was very patchy, and looked horrible. There were so many spots, that I really didnt want to try and put down dirt seed and fertilizer. I purchased EZ Seed by Scotts and gave it water for 7 days. I was amazed to see growth in that short of time. MY grass looks great and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Scotts!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, quick results
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCanal Winchester, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this product is easy to use but it doesn't match my lawn. I can notice the difference in grass type but overall a decent product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consnot the same grass type
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fantastic!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLodi, OH 44254, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only does it work wonderfully! Its easy,easy,easy! Great results with little effort. Leaving more time for summer fun!
Thanks Scott's!
ProsEasy to Use
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ez seed grass seed sun and shade

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDunkirk, NY 14048, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used Scotts ez seed grass seed in a spot where there used to be a swimming pool. Much of the terrain left behind was rocks, dirt, sand and concrete, and it grew on top like it claimed it would.
It filled it in very well
I also used it to fill in spots that were caused by damage caused by a lawn mower that should have been retired many years before with broken wheel and height adjuster that caused sever burning of the lawn. It repaired and filled those spots real well.
Scotts ez seed is the only grass seed I will ever use
It includes a quality grade grass seed and a very excellent grade fertilizer
I like that the seed and fertilizer change colors so you know when to irrigate
I also like the fact it can grow on rocks, concrete, dirt and it eliminates prep work on the base soil
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, it can grow on multiple surfaces, no need to prep the soil
Consno coms what so ever
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKeene, NH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
I have to redo some spots from last year, fertilizer doesn't seem to hold water well during first week of planting.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works.

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromThornton, CO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a spot on my lawn where I couldn't get grass to grow well. Sun & Shade is the only seeding product that grew there and filled in my lawn. The grass from the Sun & Shade looks better than the sod planted here when we moved in.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome for for where i live

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love this ez seed it isn't complicated at all i use all the time since i bought my house thanks scotts for making this lawn beautiful
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ Seed

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCherry Hill, New Jersey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best grass growing product I have ever used. Had a large spruce tree removed from my backyard. Went to the nursery to find out the best seeds to put down. Spent a bundle and hardly any grass appeared and what did come up didn't even cover all of the exposed lawn. Saw an EZ Seed commercial, thought what do I have to lose.......guess what It was worth every penny, grass came in rather quickly and blended so well you can't even see where the tree had been. Thanks Scott!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, blended in with the other grass perfectly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic products that works!

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFairlawn, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a large area that was dug up by city workers in my yard. I looked online and read reviews about Scotts EZ Sun and Shade and decided to give it a try. Not only was it easy to use, the results were fantastic. I can't even tell where my yard was destroyed!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well!

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDallas, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this to patch some bare spots in our new yard. It works really well if you can minimize traffic and keep it watered for the first 3-4 weeks. The grass came back strong after winter as well. It's not a miracle in a bottle, its actual grass that will take root and stay if taken care of properly.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good reliable grass seed

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've bought and used the Scott's EZ seed, definitely grows as described. Buy it on sale as it's a little more expensive than regular seed.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This prodcut works!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOlympia, WA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used this product Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade since it first came out. We were very skeptical at first. After using this product to fix bare spots in our lawn we continue to use it to this day. So easy to use, not messy and the grass grows fast! We highly recommend this product for lawn repair to all our family and friends.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ Seed works great!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromApollo, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used EZ Seed several times over the years and it always works great. Easy to use and works great to grow grass in bare spots.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like the idea of mulch, seed and fertilizer all in one

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWinston-Salem NC
Age:65 or over
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been great in large and small areas that need to be reseeded. The mulch holds the water and seed. You can see the grass growing in 3-4 days. And it fills in completely in a week or two.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I just got it and so far .....

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I put it down a week ago following the instructions on the label. So far I have not seen grass growing. I am watering everyday when I see that the color turns to a lite brown color. Like I am just following the instruction and still nothing. Hopefully grass starts growing soon.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Consdon't know if it works yet
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>