Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.862 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(552 reviews) 552
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 552 reviews
5 Stars
311
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
25
1 Star
105
395 out of 529(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 1 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product gave me grass sprouting up in 6 Days and complete coveage of new grass carpet!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMissoula Mt
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Never have I had such great results from a Grass Seed Product in about 50 years and fast too. I live in North West Montana at Missoula. The area seeded is part sun but mostly shade and applied exactly to the directions Monday June 1st. As can happen here the weather turned cool with highs in the low 60 during the day and the low around 40 degrees at night. Tuesday through Thursday we had torrential rainy times and some hail. I figured all was lost with my planted grass seed all washed away. I faithfully continued watering the area in the morning and evening, Saturday night June 6th while watering the area, bingo grass sprouting as we warmed to the mid 80's on Friday and Saturday. Grass sprouting in 6 days after planting unbelievable. I did lay about a 1/4 inch of Scotts Garden Soil mulch over the area first and then seeded it. The mulch with the seed mulch kept every seed in place through heavy rain and Hail! Scotts EZ seed is the only way to go but follow the directions and keep it watered, how many times a day depend on where you live! No I was not paid to write this not a penny, these are my personal results using Scotts EZ Seed and following directions per Scotts on the label..
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Consno cons at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked beautifully!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWetumpka, AL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Used on several spots and worked beautifully! We use all Scotts products throughout year and have for years. Pleased with results everytime!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I applied this product in May and it worked about 10 days later.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDowningtown, PA 19335, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Pennsylvania, I applied this product in the middle of May when the temperatures were between 70 and 80 degrees. I followed the directions in regards to the amount to put down, and kept it moist, which meant I put a little bit of water down in the morning and again in the evening unless it rained. it is now about 10 days later and I have grass coming up. the product works well!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFayetteville, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not have a green thumb. This product was easy to use and the directions were easy to follow as well.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromStow, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We used EZSeed in several areas. It was very easy to use and so far grass is coming in nice.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast growing seed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlauvelt, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been buying this EZ Seed for a few years. The end result always is great thick new grass. I have kids that are always playing on my grass. So every once in awhile I need to add grass seed to certain areas. This is perfect. Easy to put down and works within a few weeks for thick green grass. Thanks Scotts.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grow Grass ANYWHERE

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is truly amazing. I had an area of the lawn chewed up by grubs and I used EZ Seed to bring this area back to life.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought and used, works just like it states. Nice product that is easy to use. No complaints here.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Bedford, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use & grass grows very quickly with daily watering.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use, good coverage

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is easy to use, coverage is better than I expected. keep it watered and you'll have great results. germinates quickly. following year you'll see it thicken well.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLithia, Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product is reasonably price considering it virtually guarantees you grass! It is easy to use, just follow the directions and you will be amazed. It has never failed once for me. Much better than other products on the market.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product! Works as advertised

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFalls Church, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the EZ Seeds in early April and started seeing sprouts withing a week. Should have used this product before. Will use again in the Fall. Unlikely will use another product in the future.
ProsValue
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts 4 step program

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to apply. Works great. Grass is green and no weeds. Highly recommend.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love EZ seed

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGrand Forks, ND, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd year of using EZ seed. There wasn't much snow here this winter and with a dog on the premises there were many brown places this spring and EZ seed is a huge help in taking care of those.
I highly recommend it!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMontague, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy this product every year for those little spots that just need a touch up :) Easy to shake over the area and grows and fills in great !!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

work very well

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoxboro, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is easy to used and work . I have tried different kind but this one really wok and so easy to used.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing ALL in One Grass Seed

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEagan, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
User submitted photo
I have used Scotts products for over 20 years. I recently had the city out and drove heavy equipment through my yard They put down some generic grass seed that was very patchy, and looked horrible. There were so many spots, that I really didnt want to try and put down dirt seed and fertilizer. I purchased EZ Seed by Scotts and gave it water for 7 days. I was amazed to see growth in that short of time. MY grass looks great and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Scotts!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, quick results
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fantastic!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLodi, OH 44254, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only does it work wonderfully! Its easy,easy,easy! Great results with little effort. Leaving more time for summer fun!
Thanks Scott's!
ProsEasy to Use
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works.

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromThornton, CO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a spot on my lawn where I couldn't get grass to grow well. Sun & Shade is the only seeding product that grew there and filled in my lawn. The grass from the Sun & Shade looks better than the sod planted here when we moved in.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome for for where i live

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love this ez seed it isn't complicated at all i use all the time since i bought my house thanks scotts for making this lawn beautiful
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>