Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(578 reviews) 578
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 578 reviews
5 Stars
319
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
25
1 Star
119
405 out of 554(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 1 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had some bare spots in the back lawn where trees had been removed. Added some soil and used Scott's easy seed and it came up great. Good product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and very quick!

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This grass seed is great and very fast growing. It will grow anywhere and without a lot of fuss. Just add water and in a few days you will have lots of grass. Would like to plant my whole yard with this instead of a few spots!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will almost grow grass anywhere

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMontreal, QC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been using this product for 4 seasons here in Montreal Quebec and I have not found a product that grows effortlessly shake it out over the bare spot or where you want to overseed a little and water, sprouts in about 8 days and grows really well in any soil. It is a little pricey if you want to reseed a lawn but nothing better for any other type or repair
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Quality
Consa little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The stuff is great

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLittleton, CO
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think that you could grow grass on a bowling ball if you use Scotts EZ Seed.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Take Care of the Empty spaces in your Lawn

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLincoln Park, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EZ Seed gives you a quick and easy way to reseed those nasty bare patches in your lawn. Preparation is simple and with fertilizer and absorbent in the mix seed germinates quickly and you see results in no time. There is no problem knowing when you have to water for best results. A single product does it all.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows Evertime

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromColumbus
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have used this product a number of times on small patched areas and it works great. I decided to replace a larger ±500 sf strip of lawn just over a month ago. I removed the existing grass and applied the EZ Seed. I watered pretty regularly (2 times a day, sometimes a light water mid-day). The temperatures were in the 60-70s and sunny. It only took about 7 days for the grass to poke out of the ground, and just about 4 weeks for it grow enough for the first cut. This is the before and after. Since this worked so well I decided to use it for another large patch in the backyard. Again, it only took about a week for the grass to come up and it is almost fully covered. Water regularly and keep traffic off the area.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Conssomewhat expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is the best product ever!

PostedSeptember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSpokane, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried for 15 years to grow grass in my backyard. I live in an area where the soil is very bad and Sandy, and I cannot believe the beautiful yard this product gave me.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWhitesboro, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have used this product a couple times this season. I have been very pleased with how quickly the grass grows and how thick it has filled in.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product gave me grass sprouting up in 6 Days and complete coveage of new grass carpet!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMissoula Mt
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Never have I had such great results from a Grass Seed Product in about 50 years and fast too. I live in North West Montana at Missoula. The area seeded is part sun but mostly shade and applied exactly to the directions Monday June 1st. As can happen here the weather turned cool with highs in the low 60 during the day and the low around 40 degrees at night. Tuesday through Thursday we had torrential rainy times and some hail. I figured all was lost with my planted grass seed all washed away. I faithfully continued watering the area in the morning and evening, Saturday night June 6th while watering the area, bingo grass sprouting as we warmed to the mid 80's on Friday and Saturday. Grass sprouting in 6 days after planting unbelievable. I did lay about a 1/4 inch of Scotts Garden Soil mulch over the area first and then seeded it. The mulch with the seed mulch kept every seed in place through heavy rain and Hail! Scotts EZ seed is the only way to go but follow the directions and keep it watered, how many times a day depend on where you live! No I was not paid to write this not a penny, these are my personal results using Scotts EZ Seed and following directions per Scotts on the label..
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Consno cons at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked beautifully!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWetumpka, AL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Used on several spots and worked beautifully! We use all Scotts products throughout year and have for years. Pleased with results everytime!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I applied this product in May and it worked about 10 days later.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDowningtown, PA 19335, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Pennsylvania, I applied this product in the middle of May when the temperatures were between 70 and 80 degrees. I followed the directions in regards to the amount to put down, and kept it moist, which meant I put a little bit of water down in the morning and again in the evening unless it rained. it is now about 10 days later and I have grass coming up. the product works well!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFayetteville, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not have a green thumb. This product was easy to use and the directions were easy to follow as well.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromStow, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We used EZSeed in several areas. It was very easy to use and so far grass is coming in nice.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast growing seed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlauvelt, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been buying this EZ Seed for a few years. The end result always is great thick new grass. I have kids that are always playing on my grass. So every once in awhile I need to add grass seed to certain areas. This is perfect. Easy to put down and works within a few weeks for thick green grass. Thanks Scotts.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grow Grass ANYWHERE

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is truly amazing. I had an area of the lawn chewed up by grubs and I used EZ Seed to bring this area back to life.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought and used, works just like it states. Nice product that is easy to use. No complaints here.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Bedford, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use & grass grows very quickly with daily watering.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use, good coverage

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is easy to use, coverage is better than I expected. keep it watered and you'll have great results. germinates quickly. following year you'll see it thicken well.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLithia, Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product is reasonably price considering it virtually guarantees you grass! It is easy to use, just follow the directions and you will be amazed. It has never failed once for me. Much better than other products on the market.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product! Works as advertised

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFalls Church, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the EZ Seeds in early April and started seeing sprouts withing a week. Should have used this product before. Will use again in the Fall. Unlikely will use another product in the future.
ProsValue
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>