Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Scotts Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material.
Overall rating:
3.892 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(508 reviews) 508
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 508 reviews
5 Stars
289
4 Stars
83
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
22
1 Star
93
367 out of 488(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Review 1 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This prodcut works!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOlympia, WA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used this product Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade since it first came out. We were very skeptical at first. After using this product to fix bare spots in our lawn we continue to use it to this day. So easy to use, not messy and the grass grows fast! We highly recommend this product for lawn repair to all our family and friends.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ Seed works great!

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromApollo, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used EZ Seed several times over the years and it always works great. Easy to use and works great to grow grass in bare spots.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like the idea of mulch, seed and fertilizer all in one

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWinston-Salem NC
Age:65 or over
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been great in large and small areas that need to be reseeded. The mulch holds the water and seed. You can see the grass growing in 3-4 days. And it fills in completely in a week or two.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSaginaw, MI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works great and grass grew fine x;xxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conspricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product produces as advertised

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second container of EZSeed Sun & Shade that I have
used on my front yard. After winter, I just rake up the dead area or bald spot and shake in the prepared seed & water. I looked at the other brands but noticed a dramatic difference in the content.
I'm a believer in Scotts products.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for small bare spots!

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better performance than the other scotts patchmaster.Came in quick and survived the winter.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use and 100% successful!

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBloomington, IN
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Scott EZ Seed ever since it was availabe. It works every time in shade or sun. I have never had a failure. I definitely have a Scott's yard
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, none other like it!
Consnone that i am aware of.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use Grass Repair , Pour and Water

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPerris, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Takes the guesswork out of Lawn Maintenance, No measuring or calibrating. Just Pour and Water ! Effortless, I would recommend this to anybody repairing Bald or bad spots in Lawn !
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grass grows fast and fixes any problem spots. Outstanding for all winter and urine damage. Easy to use. Easy to store.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromYork, SC 29745, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of the best mulches I've ever used. I continue to use year after year. Keeps its color for months. Bit more in cost but well worth it!!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product for small areas and mixing with other seed when do patch work. big Scotts fam here
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product to fix bald spots

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Port Richey, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I had around 10 bald spots in my front yard from winter damage.
I removed the dead grass with a rake, and spread easy seed over the areas. I wet it in and boom, 5 days it began to sprout. It filled in the areas perfectly. Quality product and easy to use.
I like Scotts products, I have always used them with good results.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy way to fix bare spots

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChelmsford, MA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great way to fix bare spots as it is an all-in-one product that has very good ingredients to get the job done. You will still need to water often until the grass is at least 1 inch in height, but the odds of success are high due to the quality.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conscost
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromShelter Island, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is truly as advertised. I was able to grow grass quickly in places that would not take hold using other brands.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grass Seed for Dummies

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCary, NC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotts Easy Seed is hands down the easiest and most cost effective product out there. We have tried just about every grass seed available and Scotts Easy Seed is hands down the shining winner. There's no guess work, it's easy to grow and you end up with a lush lawn with minimal effort.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fixed bare spots quickly and easily

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRoxbury Township, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for a few years and have had great success getting rid of bare spots in both front and back yards. The dispenser is easy to use and when you follow watering directions the seed will germinate in a few weeks.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Seed filled in my lawn bald spot

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWest Chester Township, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy Seed worked so well! After one summer I cannot find the bald spot in my lawn that I filled in with Easy Seed.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows Fast

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWIlloughby ohio
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product does great
Holds moisture grows fast and thick
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked like a charm

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromva beach
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this to fill a few bare spots and with 2 weeks I have Beautiful green grass growing.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® EZ Seed® Sun & Shade
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable product

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromElyria, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was unable to grow grass under my large oak tree until I used Scott's EZ Seed Sun and Shade. It was easy to apply and was very effective.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>