Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.218 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(206 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 206 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
10
1 Star
69
122 out of 202(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 21 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Couldn't get to grow

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really can't give a good review because i could not get it to grow. I more or less wasted $60.00 on something that was guaranteed to grow. I couldn't get my money back because I mis-placed the receipt. I really like Scott products but I just can't give this product a good review. I am not sure if I just got a bad bag, but I was hoping for a beautiful front lawn and then it never produced. Now I may have to try it again when I can afford another 40 lb bag. Sorry Scotts.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 14, 2014
We're sorry you were disappointed in your last seeding effort when using Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed. Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55° F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80°F. range and not going below 50°F at night. Soil temperatures for warm season grass seed (bermudagrass, zoysiagrass, centipedegrass, bahiagrass) must be around 70° F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures should be 77° F or higher and not going below 60° F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low nighttime temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

Our product guarantee does require proof of purchase. This can be the original itemized receipt, the store copy of the receipt or the UPC barcode. If you have any additional questions or need additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us again.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product did not work as advertised.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHigh Point
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I followed the directions and the product came up and then died.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesSeptember 9, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade. Unfortunately, I cannot be certain why your grass has died after growing well at first. Once they start growing, grass seedlings may succumb to environmental factors such as disease, insects, or extremes of temperature and moisture. This is not necessarily evidence of inferior grass seed, as even superior grass types are subject to natural stresses.

Maintaining constant soil moisture is the most critical factor in the success of a new seeding, both before and after germination. Even though the seed germinated, the soil may have dried out for a short time after it was up and growing.

Two enemies of newly seeded lawns are herbicides and lawn diseases. While you have very little control over the outbreak of a lawn disease, please make sure that no weed control or weed prevention chemical has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. If you see the grass ailing, I recommend that you contact a local nursery for help with diagnosis.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to grow, just keep wet

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChurch Hill, TN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have a lot of trees and just a little direct sun. Dug out the moss
in my back yard and decided to use EZ Seed as a last resort for
new grass. After raking in the EZ Seed, just kept it wet and I got a
beautiful backyard of green grass.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quick way to fix spots on your lawn

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had some dead spots on my lawn from last years drought, put down a good layer of EZ Seed and within a few weeks you could not find the spots. Blended if perfectly with my existing grass and with almost no work.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromConnecticut, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use, Grass grew in beautiful! Used on several spots in my yard, I sprinkled it on and watered it twice, then I forgot about it..but it grew, no weeds either.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't grow anywhere or as fast as it promises

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
By no means do I have a green thumb, but I followed directions and I couldn't get the grass to grow.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesSeptember 8, 2014
We apologize for the disappointing experience you had with Turf Builder EZ Seed. EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to a depth of about 1/16 inch to 1/8 inch thick. Also, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree range for successful germination.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product is questionable

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
frommilwaukee,wi
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I tried to use this product and still cannot get grass to grow even have scotts lawn service
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesSeptember 5, 2014
We're sorry you had disappointing results with Turf Builder EZ Seed Sun & Shade. Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade sparsely at a depth of about 1/16 inch to 1/8 inch thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromny
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this a number of times with very good results.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Seeding

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRio Rancho, NM
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We used the Turf Builder EZ Seed in the spring and had wonderful results--just about all the seeded areas produced wonderful thick grass. Going to try it after the weather cools down a bit in Sept.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consa little expensive but worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works every time

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used EZ Seed twice and both times the grass grew thick and strong in about a month. I simply followed the directions, including watering it often as the grass was coming up. Couldn't get easier.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consa little expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor results from this product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHamburg, NY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Grass very spotty and not much of it. Very expensive, so it's a bad deal all around. Ended up going out and buying Scotts Commercial seed and it is far superior.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, expensive
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesSeptember 2, 2014
We're sorry you did not receive the germination results you expected from Turf Builder EZ Seed Sun & Shade Mix. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16 inch to 1/8 inch thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Daytime temperatures should also be in the 60-80 degree range.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, easy to use

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromO'Fallon, MO
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just sprinkle and water. So easy, a 2nd grader can have a green thumb in no time.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows grass easy and fast

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because I had a few bare spots on my lawn. It shows you when to water to ensure the grass grows as quickly as possible. It covered up my bare spots and my lawn looks much better!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Don't know why all the negative reviews, but I thin the key to success is really taking care of it especially in the early stages. I live in NY and our summer has not been to hot mostly in the 80'sF daytime, and cool 60'sF to 50'sF at night, so I think this helps. Also my lawn receives both sun and shade. Area in picture remains mostly in shade and gets some sun later in the day. Here is what I did. I had a fairly large bare spot, and 2 smaller ones. I raked out and pulled up dead grass/weeds. Native soil isn't the greatest quality so I purchased some of Scotts lawn soil and mixed it in. Next, I spread the product thoroughly over area and lightly raked it shallowly to the soil. then I spread out some more to top it off. I then watered very very well for the first time, and have been watering around twice daily ever since because I think that is key, keeping it consistently moist and never allowing it to dry out. 7 days later they started to sprout!!! A couple of days later even more!. Later on I decided to spread a light top layer of Scotts lawn soil as a dressing and it seemed to have given it a boost!! Really sprouting and spreading well. Seems well over 80% germination!! I truly believe once established an filled in, a couple of mows, and regular feedings it will flourish and thrive! Also, NO FOOT TRAFFIC ON NEWLY SEEDED areas until established. See my picture I put signs up and roped off the area. Area behind rope was bare to the bone.:) Next I plan on working on the entire lawn which has been plagued by clover, dandelions and crabgrass!! I plan to aerate, use Scotts weed n feed, and then do an over seeding, finally a good feeding in fall before winter. Good luck to all of you out there. This is working out well for me! :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a big fan...

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPacific Northwest
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Used this multiple times to patch areas of a newly seeded lawn.
Mine could have been out of date but it was dead when it hit the soil. No sprouting, growth.. Anything.. Tried clear poly-sheeting to raise the temperature and humidity to no avail.
Went back to the old, "good local seed, good soil and peat moss cover method", and everything got back on track.
It's a great idea, but I think it needs to be localized more to specific growing zones. Probably something that a local warehouse store could give a rip about..
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNepean, Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I have never had much success in growing grass seed. I decided to try ez seed for many ugly patches we had on our large lawn. A miracle - within days we had seed growing! It was so encouraging to see and raised my spirits immensely. I had about given up on our lawn but will now proceed to dig up more patches and use ez seed. Thank you Scotts.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made A Huge Difference

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMarion, IA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had some bare spots from having a trampoline in our yard. We raked and applies this EZ Seed. Our spots looked like normal grass in less than a month and have held up well since.
Highly recommended.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product has great features

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArlington, WA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
simple process. But i got a lot weeds and took several weeks before any growth. had to reseed several times.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

always works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKeene, NH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second year I have used it. As long as it is kept wet until the grass starts growing, it is fine. I like the way the color turns a different brown. Seemed to work better this year with all the extra rain we got. Just brought more to do fall seeding. Also works better if spread thinly.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sometimes it works and sometimes it doeasn't.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHuntington, WV, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
When it works, it's great, but my last purchase 10-days ago was a large $32.00 bag that did not germinate even though the weather was mild and I watered it every other day. This time of year, all grass seed should germinate. I've used EZ Seed before with good results....but not this time for some reason. I love Scott's products and was very disappointed.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, didn't germinate
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>