Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.123 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 179 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
7
1 Star
65
103 out of 176(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 21 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works in Most Difficult Conditions

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEdison, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the product to repair an area which is in direct sunlight and gets alot of traffic. Not only did the product work quickly - but the area where the repair to the grass was done still out performs the rest of the lawn. It is thick and deep,rich green. It has been flourishing for almost 2 years now. Great Product!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product did not work as well as expected

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArlington Heights, IL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had to re-seed with this product several times before the grass began to grow. With all of the seed that was sowed the grass should be very thick but it is spotty. I believe in Scotts seed so I will try a different Scotts seed when I re-seed next month.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pretty good

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Grass grew quick in a tough area. Not much seed for the price.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little to no sun in backyard

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. John, WA 99171, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very little sun in my backyard due to a very large walnut tree. There is a spot in my backyard without any grass at all. Neighbors told me there was no way I would ever get grass to grow. I saw the EZ seed and figured it would work. Within about 2-3 weeks I started to see grass start to sprout. It took a little longer than the bag says, but I also didn't follow the watering the way I was advised. Other than that the product worked amazing and I am very happy with the results. Can't wait til next summer :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ez feed

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRiverbank, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product worked mostly where there was direct sun light through out the day. I could not get the grass in shaded area and weed would take over area.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows grass in shade and quickly

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHemet, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I bought this product because rabbits were eating up sections of my lawn and it looked awful. I followed the directions on the package and low and behold within seven days I had new grass. It filled in the space and looks great! All I had to do was make sure it was watered. It was so easy. A landscaper wanted $500 - $700 dollars to re-sod the area. I did it for the cost of the EZ seed.
I would recommend this product to everyone!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did exactly as instructed and absolutely nothing grew.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesAugust 13, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHolly Springs, NC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a few containers of Bermudagrass EZ Seed (about $60 worth) and applied it exactly as instructed. I prepared the soil and watered the bare spots daily. Its been a month and other than a couple blades of grass here and there, this product was totally ineffective. $60 down the drain!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesAugust 13, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

washed away with first rainfall

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We tried to use this product on a few patches in our yard. We followed the directions exactly. A few days later a light rain washed the planting mix completely away into the surrounding grass areas. This was a total waste of $15.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 9, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade. Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade does not typically wash away with light rains, after having been intially watered in and we are sorry to hear this happened to you.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts EZ Seed is not a good product.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible product. Followed directions to a tee. Temps during the day 70-75. Evening 60-65 Watered according to directions. What I got where a couple of sprouts of grass and a lot of what looks like peat moss. I stopped Scotts lawn Service so they would not put down any weed/feed a month+prior to my seeding. I would not by this product ever again. Very disappointed in A SCOTTS PRODUCT.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade.Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55 degrees F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree F. range and not going below 50 degrees F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low night time temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWestern Wisconsin
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a couple of spots that needed to be reseeded, I followed the directions. When I applied the product it seemed as though there was very little actual seed, it seems as though I paid a premium price for a small bag of what seemed like peat moss. I waited for the results, 3 weeks in and only a few blades of new grass. Cost of failure nearly $40.
I finally gave up and purchased a bag of top soil for $1.50 and a 3lb bag of Scotts sun and shade grass seed for $13.50. Spread a thin layer of the top soil over the area to be seeded followed by a generous layer of seed. I then lightly raked the area and applied water, mother nature did the rest. 1 week later, I had green grass where there was none, plus I still had about 2lbs of seed left in the bag. Cost of success $15.
I wouldn't use this product ever again even if was free!
Prosno pros
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJuly 8, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIthaca, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a 20lb bag of this seed despite a lot of bad reviews. I've learned my lesson. Despite plenty of water, warm temperatures, and over 6 weeks of waiting, I don't think we've seen a single blade of grass sprout! Somehow I let myself get convinced by the "grows anywhere" advertisement. Scott's has usually been pretty reliable for us in the past but this was my first #and last# experience with EZ seed. I'll go back to using regular seed with lawn-starter mulch. It worked well for us last year, but I had decided to try a one-step approach this time, despite the very high pricetag. I'm just glad they have a guarantee. Now I just have to figure out how to make a claim...
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, doesn't grow at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 19, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade. Generally, we recommend seeding in late spring when temperatures are warm not only during the day, but at night also.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55 degrees F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree F. range and not going below 50 degrees F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low night time temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very litttle grass if any at all dont waste time

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromgreen bay wi
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
we bought 4 bgs at costco in Green Bay. We put up a fence and used it to cover that and the areas that needed alittle help.
After watering daily for 2 weeks still no grass. little if any grass has grown.
I would never use this product again waste of time and money
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 12, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So So

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArlington, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a bag of this pretty expensive seed in early spring and followed the instructions to a tee. I quickly realized that one bag does not go too far and had to go out and purchase a second bag to cover the bare spots in my lawn. I watered religiously and waited and waited. Finally, the seedlings started to sprout in some areas. Now it has been a couple months and about 2/3 of the areas I covered look pretty good. The grass isn't super thick but it looks covered decently from a distance. Oddly enough, the grass did not grow in a few areas at all. We had some pretty heavy rains so I guess it is possible that some of the seeds washed away but kind of doubt that was the issue. It appears that I should have really covered all dirt areas with seed even though the instructions say not to. Regardless, this is a decent product and if I hadn't already sunk $60 into it, I would try one more bag in the areas that did not take. But I can't justify $90 for bare spots so I guess I will live with them.
ProsEffective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No germination!!! Wow a Scott's product?!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Your product doesn't work. Really annoyed by the copy paste response from prior poor reviews, I live in sunny Southern California. My lawn is warm and is watered via sprinkler system. I am surprised that it's been 2 weeks with very poor results.
ProsEasy to Use
Consdoesn't work at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnnConsumer ServiceJune 3, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not get the results that you expected from Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed. We don't mean to disappoint you with our responses to others who have had similar problems with this product. However, in most cases a lack of germination is caused by one or a combination of four issues: temperatures, moisture, the use of herbicides or that the product was applied at more than 1/8 of an inch thick.

With the exception of the use of herbicides, correcting the problem will help the seed to germinate. We offer our product guarantee because we understand that it is disappointing to go through the effort of seeding and not get the results that you expected. If you would like to discuss your problem further or if you would like to receive a refund for the product that you purchased, please use the following link to contact us
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromStreamwood, IL
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Prepped ground
Spread seeds evenly
3 weeks later I'm still staring at dirt
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Three weeks+ and still only sparse growth. Disappointed!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew London, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I planted EZ seed in well-prepared ground more than three weeks ago, and have watered and monitored it consistently ever since. There are now still only patches of grass, mostly bare ground and the weeds have pretty much filled in the rest. I am sorely disappointed! I have added regular grass seed to the areas now hoping that something will grow to fill in the bare spots. I would like my money back - is the product "Guaranteed to grow?" because it has not. LOOK AT THE PICTURES and see for yourself.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee Ann Consumer ServiceMay 22, 2014
We are sorry that you did not get the germination that you expected from Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. We hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We completely wasted $80 by spending more money and going wtih the "big name" in yard care to make sure our grass looked nice. Followed the directions on the bag to the tee, watered everyday, had the area properly prepared, and the bare spots on the ground look the same today, as they did on April 19 when I seeded. An absolute complete waste, and I will never pay the premium for a Scotts product again. Scotts should put more money into the R&D of their product and not so much into their marketing. Now today I get to spend more time and money putting down top soil and traditional seed, which in hindsight I should of done from the beginning. Don't waste your time or money on this "magic" product, it doesn't workk as advertised.
ConsDidn't work as expected, expensive
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 13, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the EZ Seed Sun & Shade evenly over the prepared area. EZ Seed Sun & Shade should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If EZ Seed Sun & Shade has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete Disappointment

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am very disappointed in this product. I followed all the instructions and watered daily for weeks and still have nothing. Not a single green sprout. I gave up and just bought squares of grass today. This product isn't cheap and was a total waste of my money. I definitely do NOT recommend this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected, never germinated
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 13, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade. Generally, we recommend seeding in late spring when temperatures are warm not only during the day, but at night also.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55 degrees F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree F. range and not going below 50 degrees F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low night time temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for quick repair of bare spots.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product worked like magic. Just follow the instructions and water the treated areas twice daily if needed. keep the treated spots moist and you will grow grass quick. It took about 7 days to germinate in my lawn. I love the results. Again, thanks Scott's for making such great products.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Consslightly expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>