Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
2.967 / 5
3
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 151 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
62
80 out of 148(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 21 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This by Scotts?

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTolland, CT, USA
Age:65 or over
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied this over four weeks ago and followed growing instructions, etc. A couple of wisps of grass have appeared but a real disappointment overall. Approaching fall fertilization period but this may have to be delayed because of the lack of growth.
ConsDidn't work as expected, total waste of $
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 26, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. Turf Builder EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If Turf Builder EZ Seed has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Uncharacteristically poor product from Scotts, very expensive for the coverage

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBucks, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I needed to patch a few small areas that had been covered with dirt after planting trees. I purchased a 10 lb bag of EZ Seed because there were no bags of Scotts Grass Seed available. Despite following the instructions calling for a good initial watering, and making sure the area was adequately watered and with only partial shade, the seeded areas sprouted only a few thin anemic-looking stalks.
It may grow grass on pavement as the bag indicated, but it certainly DID NOT grow in a nicely prepared small lawn area. After two months I gave up and purchased a 7 lb bag of Scotts Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix, which grew enthusiastically in the same areas. The 7 lb bag of Sun & Shade Mix advertises more over ten times the coverage area than the 10 lb bag of EZ Seed, and was $3 cheaper.
Do not buy this product, unless perhaps you really need to grow grass on pavement. I didn't try that.
I sent a letter to Scotts requesting a refund.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGGB
 
Please wait while more information about GGB is loaded.
Additional information about GGB could not be loaded.
onSeptember 2, 2013
I received a very comprehensive reply from Scotts, suggesting some guidelines that went beyond the product's instructions. In particular they recommended to more sparsely apply the mix in a depth of 1/16 to 1/8 inch for best germination.
The bag's instructions state to apply the seed so the area is mostly covered, but bare ground is still visible. I did that, as well as lightly raking the seed into the ground. Perhaps I should have simply left the mix on top of bare ground…?
Scotts agreed to send a refund, so yesterday I purchased a small jug to use in a particularly challenging shady area. I distributed it in the very sparse manner suggested by the email, gave it a thorough watering, and didn't touch it. I'll find out in a few weeks if this proves more successful.
Thank you Scotts for following up so quickly.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 23 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure why all the bad reviews

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL (suburbs)
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used EZ Seed all around my new patio when it was put in three years ago. It took a week or two to see any growth. I used it in the summer and then after the winter and into the next summer it had grown in very full. To this day it is still very full and I have had no issues with any of it dying. I can't believe there are so many bad reviews because this product worked great for me! I would definitely recommend it
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money, not usual Scott's Quality

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First, I usually use Scott's products with success. However, this was a complete waste of money, planted, watered daily and not a single blade of grass grew. I then put down some regular Scott's grass seed and starter fertilizer and had new grass growing in a few days.
I should have read the reviews first, normally a product with this many bad reviews I would steer clear of. This is definitely not normal Scotts quality. It costs more than Scott's regular grass seed and claims to grow on anything, but does absolutely nothing.
Don't waste your money.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceAugust 9, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. Turf Builder EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If Turf Builder EZ Seed has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Planted this 14 days ago. Prepped ground as instructed... watered every day, sometimes twice. Not one blade of grass grew. Waste of time, money and water. Would not purchase again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJuly 23, 2013
Grass seeds fall into cool season and warm season categories; the grass seed in this product is a cool season grass. It will not germinate if the soil is too warm, which is quite likely in July in your area. You may find that the grass germinates later in the season, once the temperatures cool. However, with any of our products, your satisfaction is our goal. You may wish to contact us about arranging a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Product Is A Waste Of Your Money

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMO.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I tried 2 of these, not once but twice in the same area. How dumb can I be? Bought another brand and it is growing as it should! Waste Of Your Money!
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, bad seed very poor quality!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 2, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. It should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't live up to Scotts name

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRochester, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was a major disappointment. I bought a 20lb bag to fill in some bare spots. I watered, but got very poor results. Some spots took most didn't. Even though I shook the bag first to make sure the seed hadn't settled to the bottom.
Scotts gets a zero on this one.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, doesn't spead evenly
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 25, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. Turf Builder EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAlbany, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I strictly followed the instructions, making sure to loosen the soil well with a garden weasel (with rotating tines). I spread the EZ Seed as instructed, enough so that some ground was still visible, made sure that the area was kept moist, and made sure not to disturb the area.
It's been over 3 weeks now, and I've given up on expecting to get anything more than a few thin blades of grass.
Last year, I seeded some areas with my own mixture of seed, starter fertilizer, and peat moss, and had much better success. I should have done the same this year, but only needed a few small areas to repair. Feeling that Scotts was a superior product with a well-known trusted name, I tried the EZ Seed. Sorry to say, it was a waste of time and money.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bysamjg
 
Please wait while more information about samjg is loaded.
Additional information about samjg could not be loaded.
onJune 8, 2013
Update:
I did an online chat with Scotts, and the representative determined that because the temperature went below 40 degrees at night in the early part of the month, germination time would be longer. It's now been over a month and still nothing grew.
BTW, the instructions on the bag mention nothing about temperatures.
Either I got a bad batch, or this stuff just generally isn't worth the time and money.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 29 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This grass dies after the first season

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This grass grows like crazy and looks great--but it's an annual grass. It dies out over the winter. My yard man warned me. I couldn't believe Scott's would sell grass seed like that. But sure enough, come spring the grass was all dead.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 23, 2013
I am sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed. Unfortunately, I cannot be certain why your grass has died after growing well at first. Once they start growing, grass seedlings may succumb to environmental factors such as disease, insects, or extremes of temperature and moisture. This is not necessarily evidence of inferior grass seed, as even superior grass types are subject to natural stresses.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would never buy again

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought 4 containers spread over new top soil. Watered daily.
Nothing grew. Would never purchase again.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 23, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. Also, be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. If Turf Builder EZ Seed has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSaginaw, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I used this as directed, new soil, cleaning of area, watering and barely a blade of grass. Complete waste of time and money
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServicesJune 19, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did Not work

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this product to cover the bare spot on my sons grave. I followed the instructions and it did not work. I was hoping to to have it look nice and this is the reason I purchased Scotts product from Walmart. I am disappointed in the product and would like some feedback or refund. Unfortunately with everything ,I do not have the receipt or the used Jug. Thank you for your time
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 21, 2013
We are sorry for your loss. Even in an easy-to-use product like EZ Seed, seeds will need specific conditions to germinate. The soil needs to be warm. The seeds need to stay as moist as a wrung-out sponge during the week or two it takes to grow. In sites like a grave, it can be very difficult to maintain that much control over the environment. Unless it rains every day, the seed may dry out. We suggest you contact us to discuss the possibility of an alternate form of proof of purchase.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not growing

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I planted about 4 weeks ago, followed all instructions and the only thing that has grown are weeds and maybe six blades of grass. I may need more help than I thought with growing grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear you had trouble. We would love to help troubleshoot. Contact us about arranging a refund and to get tips on how to grow grass.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't grow

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAberdeen, nj
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased ez seed combination 20lb bag for $49.99 four weeks ago. I prepped the ground and watered everyday and kept everyone off the area seeded. I have been patiently awaiting grass. There are a few blades here and there. I am more than disappointed. lots of work for not results.
ProsQuality
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumerMay 19, 2013
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. Turf Builder EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If Turf Builder EZ Seed has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. We hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n



+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless product

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
frompotsdam
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
myself and neighbors used the same product and got the same results - nothing - a waste of time and money - bought 2 containers to try - lucky i didn't buy more for the rest of patching projects
Prosnone
Consno grass
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceMay 19, 2013
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result.

Be sure to spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed evenly over the prepared area. Turf Builder EZ Seed should be sparsely applied to the depth of about 1/16" to 1/8" thick. If Turf Builder EZ Seed has been applied too thickly, germination will be poor. Also, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used where you are seeding, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination of the seed. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips are helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did absoolutly nothing

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWarden, WA 98857, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have seeded our lawn 4 times successfully in the last few years, repaired damage, patched bare spots and even fully re-seeded our entire lawn after rototilling it. I would say we are on an expert level by now. We decided to try this seed for damage spots due to kids. We paid almost 50 dollars for a large bag at our local Lowes, did everything right, according to instructions and scotts.com advice. After 4 wks of patiently waiting, keeping our kids out of the back yard, watching moisture level and just babying it we have nothing to show for. We spent hours raking, pulling weeds to prepare for this seed and still nothing. We have had better results using very cheap generic grass seed than this stuff. i really am disappointed i threw away the bag and receipt or i would be demanding a refund
Prosnothing
ConsDidn't work as expected, expensive, didnt work at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesApril 29, 2013
This time of year can be tricky for seeding in the north. Although the temperatures during the day seem warm, at night it is often still quite chilly. This slows -- and sometimes stops -- the growth of grass. You may still get good results as the temperatures warm.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two large female dogs - can't tell

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCastle Pines, CO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using EZ Seed for the past three years after the winter "dog spots". It fills in well and you use less than with the less pricey brand (which uses newspaper as "mulch"). I love it. Simply follow directions and apply during growing season.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Raggedy

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromElk Grove, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I followed the directions and made sure to keep the seed moist and turned out looking real raggedy and patchy. Very disappointed in the quality.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMarch 24, 2013
We are sorry to disappoint. Of course, the product is covered by our No Quibble guarantee. However, many times grass will thicken and develop into a nice stand once it has a chance to get established. Brand new grass is normally quite thin at first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product...Just Follow Directions

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWichita, KS, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried this a couple years ago and didn't follow the directions very carefully. As you might expect it didn't work out so well. I got some on sale and put it down last fall and followed the directions exactly. It's now the best, fullest, greenest, hardiest grass on my lawn. It spreads to fill in around it...I wish it would spread over my entire lawn. It's expensive...but look for sales, buy it, and use it right...you won't regret it.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied 2 weeks ago and nothing has grown. How long should I wait before giving up.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceDecember 14, 2012
We're sorry you haven't received the results you expected. In ideal conditions, the mix of Kentucky Blue, Rye and Fescue will germinate in about 14 days. Temperature fluctuation, the use of herbicides and inconsistent watering may delay the germination or produce little to no results. Please use the following link to contact us for additional assistance. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>