Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
2.967 / 5
3
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 151 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
62
80 out of 148(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for quick repair of bare spots.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product worked like magic. Just follow the instructions and water the treated areas twice daily if needed. keep the treated spots moist and you will grow grass quick. It took about 7 days to germinate in my lawn. I love the results. Again, thanks Scott's for making such great products.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Consslightly expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a tree removed from yard. Year after year had a spot there that would never grow grass. It would be very brown in that spot too. Once I used Scotts EZ seed the spot is green and thick. That spot has been perfect for a long time and I have not had to reapply the product. It is great and use it in other areas too.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure why all the bad reviews

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL (suburbs)
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used EZ Seed all around my new patio when it was put in three years ago. It took a week or two to see any growth. I used it in the summer and then after the winter and into the next summer it had grown in very full. To this day it is still very full and I have had no issues with any of it dying. I can't believe there are so many bad reviews because this product worked great for me! I would definitely recommend it
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two large female dogs - can't tell

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCastle Pines, CO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using EZ Seed for the past three years after the winter "dog spots". It fills in well and you use less than with the less pricey brand (which uses newspaper as "mulch"). I love it. Simply follow directions and apply during growing season.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product...Just Follow Directions

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWichita, KS, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried this a couple years ago and didn't follow the directions very carefully. As you might expect it didn't work out so well. I got some on sale and put it down last fall and followed the directions exactly. It's now the best, fullest, greenest, hardiest grass on my lawn. It spreads to fill in around it...I wish it would spread over my entire lawn. It's expensive...but look for sales, buy it, and use it right...you won't regret it.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use & even my 3 dogs can't destroy it

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLong Beach, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I primarily use this to repair yellow spots caused by my dogs. Just remove the dead grass. Lightly loosen the the top layer of soil. Sprinkle the EZseed. Add water and your done. Even on the hottest summer days if the EZseed has been thouroughly watered I didn't have the need to water it for another 24 hours. I saw grass seedlings coming up within 3 days and they held up to dogs that were still playing and running through the yard. It's not cheap but it works great. In the end it is much cheaper than any other remedies that you can try. My time is worth money & this product is quick to use & quick to see results. I am a thoroughly satisfied customer.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding product

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSomerset, Franklin Township, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had my patio extended and had to build up a bank of soil to blend in with the existing lawn. I came upon the EZ Seed almost by accident and was sure glad I had. I was able to seed the new area easily with out a hassle. The product is easy to use, clean to handle and stays put when sewn. It requires so much less attention and since it is mulched, it stays where it's put. Since it's already fertilized there's no need to fertilize and no question of how much fertilizer to use. In short, it's an ideal product and not only was I pleased with it, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, complete product
Consdoesn't come in a large quantity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product Works!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGreenfield, WI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As previous reviews have stated this is somewhat pricey but boy, oh boy does it do what is supposed to. Fills lawn in with beautiful grass within no time. I wonder what a full lawn would look like with this. Would be the envy of the entire neighborhood!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conshigher price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the extra $$

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPalatine, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I lost a good portion of my lawn to grubs this fall. I had some EZ seed left from some spot repairs in the spring. I didn't have enough for the entire area so I also bought seed and soil for the large areas. The areas that I used the EZ Seed were fuller and hearty. The seeded areas will need to be reseeded. The EZ Seed is very easy to use and works great.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Conspricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byZunz
 
Please wait while more information about Zunz is loaded.
Additional information about Zunz could not be loaded.
onOctober 17, 2012
About how long did it take to see results? I followed the directions well, and it's been about a week and a half, and I don't see any results and it looks as if the seed is still lying on top of the soil. I live in the Chicago area, too, and the weather has been conducive to growing grass. Any suggestions?
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EZ SEED

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Kingstown, RI
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is easy to apply, no spreader needed. Quality of seed is very good.
It is a hearty grass.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its easy to use and the lawn seems to grow real quickly. Wish it would go further tho.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"ez seed" is a product you CAN count on!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromEgg Harbor Township, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There is no room for questioning whether this product will have the results you want..........IT WORKS EACH AND EVERY TIME!! Another bonus "ez seed" provided, for us, is the grass appears stronger, thicker and more resilent than other grass seed. Love, love this product!!! I only wish it was alittle less in price.....especially in these bad economic times.....would help to give people something lushous to look at while living super frugally. Great product, Scotts Company!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consa little pricy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, easy product

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRockford, MI
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I seeded a fairly large, new section of my yard in spring and this was by far the easiest seeding I've ever done. And within just a few weeeks the grass had come in lush and green and looked like it had been there for years.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Produces lush green grass.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGreat Wass Island, Beals, ME 04611, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
When you follow the directions and don't skimp, this product will exceed you expectation. I did that. The result was lush green grass that looks better than the rest of the lawn. I wish I could do my entire yard with this product.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as 1-2-3

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDenver, co
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This seed has been the easiest to grow in all conditions throughout our yard. I use it every spring and fall to fill in dead spots. The grass has been great!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consa little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one step seeding

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromlong island new york usa
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no mulch ,no fertilizer and din`t try to figure out what type of seed I need . This product is a one step program . I put this down and water lightly everyday and in ten days i had to mowe it, it growes so fast. best of all birds can`t eat them
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, it does not get easyer
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goodbye Bald Spots...

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromColumbia, SC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I live in a very sandy area, where the soil tends to compact often and sometimes that leaves me with patches in my bermuda. I purchased the easy seed and within a month, goodbye bald spots. It does require a significant amount of water, and you can tell exactly when it needs water because it turns a lighter color. If you need to fill in a few spots this is the product. Keep in mind that it has an expiration date on it so you cannot store it for a significant amount of time.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consexpires
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turf Builder EZ Seed

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBeckley WV
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently moved and my new place had an overgrown weedbed for a front lawn. I dug up all the weeds, raked a little top soil over the area then spread the Turf Builder EZ Seed. In one week I had grass popping up over the entire surface. My neighbors were all impressed and made comments about how great my yard looked. I think EZ Seed is a "miracle in a hurry" and I will always use and recommend this product.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the speed of germination

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After the city completed work on my block, an area on my lawn was dug up and without grass. I put Scotts Turf Builder Ez seed on the area and watered it approximately 2 1/2 hours daily and on the 4th day, grass was sprouting. I am very pleased with the growth that has occurred on my lawn.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use and excellent results!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromJensen Beach, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had to have the drain pipe from house to septic tank replaced. I went to Target and bought your Scott's EZ seed in a 3.75 lb plastic bottle. By the way it is available in Florida. Within 2 weeks after planting and watering every couple of days, I had filled in the whole area with a rich thick healthy new lawn. I would reccomend this product to anyone who is repairing an existing lawn.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>