Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.112 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 178 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
7
1 Star
65
102 out of 175(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Seeding

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRio Rancho, NM
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We used the Turf Builder EZ Seed in the spring and had wonderful results--just about all the seeded areas produced wonderful thick grass. Going to try it after the weather cools down a bit in Sept.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consa little expensive but worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works every time

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used EZ Seed twice and both times the grass grew thick and strong in about a month. I simply followed the directions, including watering it often as the grass was coming up. Couldn't get easier.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consa little expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, easy to use

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromO'Fallon, MO
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just sprinkle and water. So easy, a 2nd grader can have a green thumb in no time.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows grass easy and fast

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because I had a few bare spots on my lawn. It shows you when to water to ensure the grass grows as quickly as possible. It covered up my bare spots and my lawn looks much better!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Don't know why all the negative reviews, but I thin the key to success is really taking care of it especially in the early stages. I live in NY and our summer has not been to hot mostly in the 80'sF daytime, and cool 60'sF to 50'sF at night, so I think this helps. Also my lawn receives both sun and shade. Area in picture remains mostly in shade and gets some sun later in the day. Here is what I did. I had a fairly large bare spot, and 2 smaller ones. I raked out and pulled up dead grass/weeds. Native soil isn't the greatest quality so I purchased some of Scotts lawn soil and mixed it in. Next, I spread the product thoroughly over area and lightly raked it shallowly to the soil. then I spread out some more to top it off. I then watered very very well for the first time, and have been watering around twice daily ever since because I think that is key, keeping it consistently moist and never allowing it to dry out. 7 days later they started to sprout!!! A couple of days later even more!. Later on I decided to spread a light top layer of Scotts lawn soil as a dressing and it seemed to have given it a boost!! Really sprouting and spreading well. Seems well over 80% germination!! I truly believe once established an filled in, a couple of mows, and regular feedings it will flourish and thrive! Also, NO FOOT TRAFFIC ON NEWLY SEEDED areas until established. See my picture I put signs up and roped off the area. Area behind rope was bare to the bone.:) Next I plan on working on the entire lawn which has been plagued by clover, dandelions and crabgrass!! I plan to aerate, use Scotts weed n feed, and then do an over seeding, finally a good feeding in fall before winter. Good luck to all of you out there. This is working out well for me! :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNepean, Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I have never had much success in growing grass seed. I decided to try ez seed for many ugly patches we had on our large lawn. A miracle - within days we had seed growing! It was so encouraging to see and raised my spirits immensely. I had about given up on our lawn but will now proceed to dig up more patches and use ez seed. Thank you Scotts.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made A Huge Difference

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMarion, IA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had some bare spots from having a trampoline in our yard. We raked and applies this EZ Seed. Our spots looked like normal grass in less than a month and have held up well since.
Highly recommended.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

always works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKeene, NH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second year I have used it. As long as it is kept wet until the grass starts growing, it is fine. I like the way the color turns a different brown. Seemed to work better this year with all the extra rain we got. Just brought more to do fall seeding. Also works better if spread thinly.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth OH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed to seed areas where a tree was removed and another where I built terrain up. Seed was easy to apply and germenated quickly. Grass came rich and lush, and blended beautifully with existing grass.
ProsQuality
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDuluth, GA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have the best lawn in my cul-de-sac. My neighbors asked me why! I told them it was because I used this product. As long as you water it regularly along with lots of sun, you will have green thick pretty grass in no time. I used it near my deck when I had a ramp pulled up and it was just dirt. I put the easy seed down and it filled in with pretty grass. I had tried Pennington and it did NOTHING for my lawn.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conscostly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worst Lawn on the block

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi, my lawn was balding an thin with brown spots. I brought ez seed. I mowed the lawn an wet the lawn rake it, then shook ez seed down an water for only 5 days. An I begun to see the bald spots get grass now my lawn is greener thick with no brown spots. It was so easy with beautiful results. Thank you Scotts
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be Patient ...

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChelmsford, Greater Sudbury, ON P0M, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sometimes it takes longer than advertised, but the grass will grow. It's great for sun-dried areas and patches where your pets have made the lawn brown.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works in Most Difficult Conditions

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEdison, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the product to repair an area which is in direct sunlight and gets alot of traffic. Not only did the product work quickly - but the area where the repair to the grass was done still out performs the rest of the lawn. It is thick and deep,rich green. It has been flourishing for almost 2 years now. Great Product!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little to no sun in backyard

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. John, WA 99171, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very little sun in my backyard due to a very large walnut tree. There is a spot in my backyard without any grass at all. Neighbors told me there was no way I would ever get grass to grow. I saw the EZ seed and figured it would work. Within about 2-3 weeks I started to see grass start to sprout. It took a little longer than the bag says, but I also didn't follow the watering the way I was advised. Other than that the product worked amazing and I am very happy with the results. Can't wait til next summer :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows grass in shade and quickly

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHemet, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I bought this product because rabbits were eating up sections of my lawn and it looked awful. I followed the directions on the package and low and behold within seven days I had new grass. It filled in the space and looks great! All I had to do was make sure it was watered. It was so easy. A landscaper wanted $500 - $700 dollars to re-sod the area. I did it for the cost of the EZ seed.
I would recommend this product to everyone!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for quick repair of bare spots.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product worked like magic. Just follow the instructions and water the treated areas twice daily if needed. keep the treated spots moist and you will grow grass quick. It took about 7 days to germinate in my lawn. I love the results. Again, thanks Scott's for making such great products.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Consslightly expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a tree removed from yard. Year after year had a spot there that would never grow grass. It would be very brown in that spot too. Once I used Scotts EZ seed the spot is green and thick. That spot has been perfect for a long time and I have not had to reapply the product. It is great and use it in other areas too.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure why all the bad reviews

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL (suburbs)
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used EZ Seed all around my new patio when it was put in three years ago. It took a week or two to see any growth. I used it in the summer and then after the winter and into the next summer it had grown in very full. To this day it is still very full and I have had no issues with any of it dying. I can't believe there are so many bad reviews because this product worked great for me! I would definitely recommend it
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two large female dogs - can't tell

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCastle Pines, CO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using EZ Seed for the past three years after the winter "dog spots". It fills in well and you use less than with the less pricey brand (which uses newspaper as "mulch"). I love it. Simply follow directions and apply during growing season.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product...Just Follow Directions

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWichita, KS, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried this a couple years ago and didn't follow the directions very carefully. As you might expect it didn't work out so well. I got some on sale and put it down last fall and followed the directions exactly. It's now the best, fullest, greenest, hardiest grass on my lawn. It spreads to fill in around it...I wish it would spread over my entire lawn. It's expensive...but look for sales, buy it, and use it right...you won't regret it.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>