Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®

Great for repairing bare spots in your lawn! EZ Seed® is a unique combination of Scotts® high performance seed, premium continuous release fertilizer, and Scotts® super-absorbent growing material. Grows anywhere*, guaranteed!
Overall rating:
3.21 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(205 reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 205 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
10
1 Star
69
121 out of 201(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality seed that really grows anywhere!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Applied the seed on September 28 to the side of a sloped hill with sandy poor soil. The seed stayed on the hill and didn't wash away. By October 4 seedlings were popping up! Great product would highly recommend!!
Prosshake on loose ground and water
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps to keep the seed moist until it sprouts.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Helps to keep the seed moist until it sprouts. The resulting grass that grows is strong, healthy, and high quality.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for reseeding small patches!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNazareth, PA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I have used this product for over 2 years now and the EZ seed is very good. The new grass comes up quickly and thick!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should be called Scott's Miracle EZ Seed

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBrigantine, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed on a bare spot in my front yard and it worked like a miracle. It was so easy to use. Just rake, pour and water. And in a few weeks I had a lush green lawn where there was nothing. Thanks Scotts for helping make my lawn look great.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use - quick growing

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used for spots where grass had died. Pulled up dead grass, raked in grass seed, watered. New grass appeared within a week and looks great. Would highly recommend.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The name says it all!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWestchester County, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had used other grass seed in the past but this one always worked best for me with any holes I needed to fill!
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thick grass

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromVirginia
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I didn't even have to put the seed down as thick as suggested and it grew very dense. Great product. I used it for bare spots in yard.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Experience:Beginner
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick and easy way to grow grass! Grows pretty much anywhere. Put it down in some bare spots last week and it's already growing. Just put it down in the back yesterday.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality seed

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOld Orchard Beach, ME, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this product to fill in any area about 10 ft. by 8 ft. and it worked great. When I purchased the product, I even weighed the seed to see how close it came to what was listed on the container and found that Scott's put in almost an extra full pound of seed "above" what was listed on the plastic container. Thanks Scotts! I will use this product again in the future.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grass Grew In NO Time, At All!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBartlett, TN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have two dogs that trample the grass down in a running pattern. We sprinkled the EZ Seed in the bare spots and our backyard has been transformed in just a few months! There is still a small trail, but this grass is a lot more resilient to the pets than what we had!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for bare spots in my lawn

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKentucky, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use Scotts Turf Builder EZ Seed to repair the bare spots in my lawn. It's easy to apply and highly effective. I saved a lot of money by doing this myself. I highly recommend it
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to grow, just keep wet

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChurch Hill, TN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have a lot of trees and just a little direct sun. Dug out the moss
in my back yard and decided to use EZ Seed as a last resort for
new grass. After raking in the EZ Seed, just kept it wet and I got a
beautiful backyard of green grass.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very quick way to fix spots on your lawn

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had some dead spots on my lawn from last years drought, put down a good layer of EZ Seed and within a few weeks you could not find the spots. Blended if perfectly with my existing grass and with almost no work.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromConnecticut, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use, Grass grew in beautiful! Used on several spots in my yard, I sprinkled it on and watered it twice, then I forgot about it..but it grew, no weeds either.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromny
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this a number of times with very good results.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Seeding

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRio Rancho, NM
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We used the Turf Builder EZ Seed in the spring and had wonderful results--just about all the seeded areas produced wonderful thick grass. Going to try it after the weather cools down a bit in Sept.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consa little expensive but worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works every time

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used EZ Seed twice and both times the grass grew thick and strong in about a month. I simply followed the directions, including watering it often as the grass was coming up. Couldn't get easier.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consa little expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, easy to use

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromO'Fallon, MO
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just sprinkle and water. So easy, a 2nd grader can have a green thumb in no time.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows grass easy and fast

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this because I had a few bare spots on my lawn. It shows you when to water to ensure the grass grows as quickly as possible. It covered up my bare spots and my lawn looks much better!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® EZ Seed®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for me!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Don't know why all the negative reviews, but I thin the key to success is really taking care of it especially in the early stages. I live in NY and our summer has not been to hot mostly in the 80'sF daytime, and cool 60'sF to 50'sF at night, so I think this helps. Also my lawn receives both sun and shade. Area in picture remains mostly in shade and gets some sun later in the day. Here is what I did. I had a fairly large bare spot, and 2 smaller ones. I raked out and pulled up dead grass/weeds. Native soil isn't the greatest quality so I purchased some of Scotts lawn soil and mixed it in. Next, I spread the product thoroughly over area and lightly raked it shallowly to the soil. then I spread out some more to top it off. I then watered very very well for the first time, and have been watering around twice daily ever since because I think that is key, keeping it consistently moist and never allowing it to dry out. 7 days later they started to sprout!!! A couple of days later even more!. Later on I decided to spread a light top layer of Scotts lawn soil as a dressing and it seemed to have given it a boost!! Really sprouting and spreading well. Seems well over 80% germination!! I truly believe once established an filled in, a couple of mows, and regular feedings it will flourish and thrive! Also, NO FOOT TRAFFIC ON NEWLY SEEDED areas until established. See my picture I put signs up and roped off the area. Area behind rope was bare to the bone.:) Next I plan on working on the entire lawn which has been plagued by clover, dandelions and crabgrass!! I plan to aerate, use Scotts weed n feed, and then do an over seeding, finally a good feeding in fall before winter. Good luck to all of you out there. This is working out well for me! :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>