Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®

Sun & Shade Mix is Scotts most versatile mix, staying green even in extreme conditions of dense shade or scorching sun. It aggressively spreads to fill in bare spots and has all the benefits of Water Smart® PLUS coating technology.
Overall rating:
4.098 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(783 reviews) 783
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 783 reviews
5 Stars
474
4 Stars
155
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
19
1 Star
112
616 out of 756(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not survive in warm weather

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromParsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have tried this product twice now, a bag last fall, and a bag this spring, with both times having the same result. As soon as the weather gets warm, it all starts to die.
The bag I planted last fall, I had dug up a previous area that wasn't doing too well, and put down a couple inches of Scotts Lawn Soil. I proceeded to put down the seed per the instructions, along with Scotts Starter Fertilizer, and started watering for 6-8 minutes 2 times a day, increasing that time as the grass began to grow. The germination rate was great, and in about a month the grass was as thick as could be and I couldn't have been happier.
Once the winter was over and all the snow had melted, I once again could not have been happier with how thick and green the grass came in. But that only lasted about a month and a half. Once the temperatures started getting into the 80's here in northern NJ, I could see that the grass was no longer growing, and it began to thin out and turn brown. I made sure the grass was watered at least an inch a week when we didn't get rain by watering it for 2 hours every 5-7 days. But the newly planted areas continued to get worse and to this day they have only gotten worse.
I did the same exact thing with an area of the yard this spring, and have had the same exact results. I've attached pictures and you can see what is left of what started as a seemingly promising new area of grass, not much.
I've been a loyal customer of the Scotts brand since I purchased my first home 2 years ago (soil, seed, fertilizer), but the disappointment level is approaching my loyalty level. I've ordered a bag of the heat tolerant blue mix after doing a lot of research on the contents of the different seed varieties, and will be trying it in the fall; which is going to be the last straw before trying other brands if I get the same poor results. And I will make sure to leave a review, positive or negative, for the heat tolerant blue mix once time, or heat, has run its course.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, can't handle heat
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceAugust 18, 2014
We're sorry that to hear that you had disappointing results with the Scotts Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix. We're glad to hear you're going to try the Turf Builder Heat Tolerant Blue Mix, this fall. We also suggest having the soil tested. When the existing grass starts to thin and new grass is hard to maintain it could indicate that there is an environmental problem. Testing the soil, measuring the sunlight, looking for tree roots near the surface and checking foot traffic are all things that may help to improve the growing area.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromManorville, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using Scott's fertilizer the last couple of years to take care of my lawn . I've always been happy with the fertilizer so I just imagined all of the products would be equal in quality. I bought mulch for my beds and was disappointed that it was chock full of large wood chips. I ended up purchasing mulch this year from a local dealer. I used the topsoil that Scott's produced and was also disappointed in that contained some sticks and debris in it. I ended up purchasing local top soil that was sold in my local Home Depot for half the price and the quality was much better. Never the less I didn't invest a lot of money in these products so I wasn't too sour. In addition I figured that Scott's was most known for its fertilizer and seed so i didn't think the poor quality of the other products would carry over. The last couple of years i had bought bags of seed that my landscaper used when they were intalling some hardscapes at my house. When I patched and overseeded my lawn this year I purchased a 40lb bag of sun and shade mix from Home Depot. I did I what I always have done in prepping the area and raking in the seed and keeping them moist. I have to say that I've been very unhappy with the results. There is a low percentage of seeds germinating than I have seen in the past and I'm upset that I've paid or wasted $100 on this product. I think next time I will find another brand and try it because as of now, Scott's wasn't the $100 that I paid.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesOctober 2, 2012
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment with several of our Scotts products. The Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix does contain a variety of seeds that develop at different rates and may explain why grass blades are growing sparsely. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Regardless, your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for over seeding and bare spots

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSuffern, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I always use this product. It works. Every year certain areas of my lawn tend to die either from insects or heat. In early fall, I aerate my entire lawn and over seed. I apply a starter fertilizer. You must keep the seeds moist in order for them to germinate. I find that a lot of people complain that their seeds didn't take. I have seen people throw the seed down and never water or don't water as frequently as recommended. Because they didn't follow through with a proper watering schedule, the seeds dried out and/or the seedlings died.
I recommend watering twice a day at first, morning and early evening for 10 minutes with sprinklers or hand hose water until you feel that the top inch of soil is moist. Maintaining that moisture on a daily basis will keep the seeds moist. Do not over water. Over watering can generate poor results and also you can risk washing away the seeds. Also, pay attention to the weather. Obviously, if it rains there is no reason to water that day. Sometimes in the early fall, we can experience above normal temperatures. You may have to moisten the soil three times a day instead of twice. Once the seed grows about an inch or so, you can cut back on the watering to once a day, preferably early morning because the sun can easily damage or kill the new seedlings. Grass seed may take a couple weeks to sprout. If the temps are too hot or too cold, this can delay sprouting. Seeding may be tedious, but the results are rewarding!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL product

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After removing our old lawn with a sod cutter, and an entire weekend of back-breaking work spreading nine yards of new top soil by hand that cost $400.00, we were anxious to try the Turf Builder Sun & Shade mix with Watersmart Plus. I can't begin to describe the disappointment we felt after planting this product and precisely following the instructions on the label. We did begin to see sprouting after about 4 days. However, what followed was a disaster. I have NEVER had so many weeds in my lawn in the ten years I have lived here. Several of my neighbors have asked what product I used and I told the EXACTLY what I used. All of them replied with "Well, I know what NOT to buy".
Since you claim your product to be 99.9% weed free, I have to assume that I got the .1% that was NOT. If I were to estimate, I would guess that about 2% of my new "lawn" is actually grass which leaves 98% weeds.
The overall rating for this product is a 3.5 out of 5.There should be no pride here. I think that's a bit high and I hope that my rating drops it closer to where it should be. In my opinion that would be a 1.5 at BEST.
Maybe some of the advertising dollars you use to label yourselves "the best" would be better spent actually producing a good product.
Also, please show a little respect for your customers that take the time to write a review, good OR bad, by not using a canned reply. It's unprofessional and insulting.
Prosno pros at all
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesAugust 29, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the appearance of weeds germinating after applying the Scotts Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix. Weed seeds can be exposed when the soil is turned and will germinate right along with the new seed. Weed seeds may also be introduced to the area through the addition of topsoil or straw.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane Sandy destroyed our lawn and only Scotts worked!

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromOrtley Beach, Toms River, NJ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
When Hurricane Sandy destroyed our family home in October 2012, the devastation was beyond our nightmares. After insurance issues and a lengthy construction project, our home was successfully re-built in 2014. Once the home construction was completed, then we addressed our front lawn damage caused by the flood waters -- which were extremely high in salt.
We initially thought to remove the lawn and re-place with sod, but we didn't want to proceed with that option since sod can often look fake. So I investigated several lawn seed options, and selected a competing company's seed product, and was hopeful that the lawn would return to its gorgeous luster. That seed was deemed a horrible failure and all that grew was spotty, poor quality grass. So I looked at another company and tried another product. But this attempt can only be viewed as a dismal failure.
So I spoke to an old friend of mine who had experience with lawn care in the past. He told me that I wasted my time with the other two companies and that I should buy Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Well, you can imagine how happy we were to see the results. The lawn has returned to its beautiful pre-Sandy appearance. My only regret is that I went through two other companies unnecessarily. I should have gone with Scotts from the beginning.
Please let other Hurricane Sandy victims know about your product. We are VERY HAPPY.
ProsEffective, Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sun Shade Mix Replaced Tall Fescue Patches

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Customer avatar
fromDenver, CO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this this product in May 2015 after I removed many patches of tall fescue in my yard. These patches behaved like crab grass. I also did not like the grass installed by the builder as it was mainly a cheap seeding and the lawn took forever to come out of dormancy each year and never really looked green. So goal one was tall fescue mitigation, goal two was moving to a more hearty lawn.
I first de-thatched the lawn by hand with a rake, then removed the tall fescue by hand, I next top-dressed the bare spots with Scott's Turf Builder Lawn Soil and used the lawn soil as a broad soil rejuvenate for the rest of lawn. I next over-seeded the entire lawn with Sun an Shade mix and seeded the bare patches accordingly, as I wanted a good mix of blue grass, rye, and regular fescue. I took weekly photos from the same spot every Sunday and the progress was fantastic. Because the seeds are blue, I did not have any issues with birds eating the seeds at all. The first three weeks were unexpectedly overcast/rainy with almost no sun, which was not typical for Denver in May. Thus the initial progress was limited. However, once the sun came back, the seeds began to sprout immediately. I did over seed again once the sun came out and followed the watering instructions to a "T". I am doing my back yard this summer and will definitely follow the same process with all of the same Scott's products!
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked for me.

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPortland, OR, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was in the process of getting my house ready to sell this past summer and Oregon had gone though a major long dry spell. The grass looked awful, dandelions had popped up aggressively and some other weird wild weeds from the green space behind our home and the neighbors house was filling in quickly. Even Moss was taking over the grass in areas of shade.
I took the weekend; hand weeded what I could see, used Scotts Moss control for the Moss and Scotts weed & feed for the weeds still developing that I couldn't see. Then I raked the heck out of it to get all the dry grass, moss and bare patches exposed. I watered it completely and then used the Scotts Turf Builder Grass seed for Sun and shade. It worked and it worked quickly - I followed the package and watered every morning until it was established. I kept the birds away from the seed with a plastic owl but I didn't have to do anything else except mow when it was time. I was very pleased with the result and the people who viewed our home really liked the lawn. I was happy I didn't have to baby the lawn and I could focus on other things to get the house ready. It was picture perfect and we Sold quickly. My Realtor said that the family commented that they wouldn't even have to work on the yard and would just get to set up their outdoor furniture and BBQ right away to begin enjoying it. Perfect!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Grass Seed

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSyracuse, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I built my home in 2005 and seeded my lawn with Scott's Contractor mix. My lawn was picture perfect. Rolling lush green acre of grass. So I decided to try my luck with Scott's Sun & Shade to even small area's of my lawn with the driveway and the road's edge. May 1, I brought in 3 yards of topsoil. I purchased a bag of Scott's Sun & Shade. I graded and seeded per Scott's instruction. I applied the Sun & Shade mix with Water Saver Plus . I over seeded the area triple the per Scott's " Simple Instructions" . I watered like instructions said. I didn't cover the bare soil with straw. No such luck. After 2 1/2 weeks only a few new grass seedlings appeared where it should have been lush green seedlings. So dumb me I went back and purchased a 20lb bag of Sun & Shade. I raked and reseeded again. This time I applied straw as a cover. After 2 weeks grass seedlings are coming up with bare spots again. I've attached pictures that show what the lawn looks like after a second round of Scott's seeds. I will purchase a different brand of seed to fill in the bare spots. This will be my third round of seeding as Scott's isn't doing the job. Scott's rating of this grass seed is Over Rated. Not Quick growing and over priced. Junk seed do not buy.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, didn't germinate too many bare spots, inconvient to have to reseed several times
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 24, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Generally, we recommend seeding in late spring when temperatures are warm not only during the day, but at night also.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55 degrees F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree F. range and not going below 50 degrees F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low night time temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I got very disappointed,

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNewtown, CT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got very disappointed, On April 2014, I prepared the ground, then put Scott seed on it. I saw that new grass was growing, I was happy, but at some point on Summer I noticed that the growing grass did not look like the one it said (Kentucky Blue Grass) on the Scott bag. For me that grass look like Crab-grass, or some king of Florida grass. O.K. I said, maybe it is just like Kentucky blue grass. beginning 2014 Autumn, I just noticed that my "grass" was taking the yellow, now brown color. and it is everywhere I just planted my Scott Grass. Since two passed I continue noticing that the grass is turning to brown color, and today that I made my Autumn cleaning, I realized that what I bought was not Scott Kentucky Blue Grass, but it is some kind of Crab-grass or Florida grass, but the label in the bag says "Kentucky Blue grass". I still have a little bit of let over grass. I am really disappointing with all of this. I spent lot of money to keep my grass good looking and look what I just got. can not believe it. Jose.
I am thinking on what I am going to do next year with my grass.
\I took pictures, but this site dont let me to post it.
ProsValue, Quality, not results, bad product
ConsDidn't work as expected, Problem with label, not good
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Jose, we are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in the Scotts Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix that you used. It sounds as if the grass seed you planted did not establish and crabgrass developed and took over the lawn.

We would like to see your pictures and apologize that you were not able to attach them to this review. Please attach them to the email that we sent you. The email also included information on how we can best assist you with our product guarantee. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us using the following link.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product that grows well!

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromTraverse City, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Not sure what everyone else on here is complaining about. I bought a small 7lb bag to seed my front entryway area this early spring and the grass has come in wonderfully.
I did remove the top 2 inches of the existing soil first, loosened the soil a lot, removed as many weeds by hand as i could, applied fertilizer to the soil, spread the grass seed, covered the whole area in a light layer of hay, and watered only in the evening hours (5pm-8pm).
A few weeks later the grass started germinating! I started this in early spring in Michigan which caused some delays getting this to grow but once temps were consistently over 60, the grass grew amazingly!
I kept watering the grass for another week and then when the grass was about 2-3 inches tall i lightly raked it to remove the loose hay. I then cut it to around 2 inches and was amazed. the grass came in very thick and made my front entryway look completely different.
I was so impressed with this product I bought a larger bag (25lb I think) to do a large area in my back yard and to reseed the rest of the yard. The attached pictures don't lie! This product works great!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMissyLee
 
Please wait while more information about MissyLee is loaded.
Additional information about MissyLee could not be loaded.
onAugust 24, 2015
I'm very surprised this grass seed worked for you. I am also in Traverse City, Mi and put the seed down in the spring with terrible results. I have just spent two days pulling crabgrass from that area and am now reseeding with other grass seed. My money was refunded by Scotts, but that doesn't make up for the time wasted having to prepare the area twice, nor the cost of more starter fertilizer and more seed. The area is about 1000 sq. ft., so it was hard on the back and hands doing all the extra work.
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I must have gotten 3 bad bags...

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWest Milford, NJ, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased 3, 40lb bags to overseed my 16,000sq ft. lawn and to seed some bare spots that were created from work that was done when installing my new driveway. After the driveway was installed, the borders of the driveway were re-soiled with a good top soil and the area was seeded as directed. Ive had to overseed that area 3 times already and other places in the yard the seed was not germinating as well. A 40lb bag of this seed isn't cheap...each bag was approximately $107 at Lowes and I bought 3 bags. I went with the Scott's because of the name but now Im not sure if I should have went with Pinnacle. All the proper steps were taken to prepare the soil for the seeding and it's disappointing to have to re-seed several times. I also have a sprinkler system that was watering as directed. I guess its possible I just got a few bags from the same lot that had inert seed. Since I have a new lawn(installed last year), in the fall I will be overseeding again. This time I won't be using Scott's Sun and Shade in the fall and it's disappointing because I have been a Scott's product fan for years.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 28, 2014
We are sorry that you have had problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures must be at least 55 degrees and no warmer than 75 degrees for your seed to germinate. If you sow your seed when the soil temperature is too hot or too cold, the seed will wait until ideal conditions are present. As long as you do not experience a sudden change in temperature after germination begins, you could still experience the great results you expected from our seed.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n



-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Beautiful Yard of the Month!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Dakota
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not really, but i had several neighbors tell me they were going to nominate our yard, if we had such a contest.
Seriously, we moved to a brand new neighborhood without a yard at all, save the weeds that sprung up voluntarily. Only got a temporary certificate of occupancy because we had no grass or trees. And only 30 days till the TCO expired.
We used only Scotts products on our lawn and it is impressive! Lush green, still coming in. Was interviewed by a reporter about the yard the first part of July and she couldn't believe we had only planted seed on Father's Day.
My landscaper recommended sod, but we weren't willing to shell out that kind of money after having put in underground sprinklers and curbing. After the landscaper saw how well the seed came in, he wanted to know what product we had used. i showed him and he was impressed. Had another landscaper from out of state stop in front of the house and wanted to know what we had used.
It has taken a LOT of water but the yard is beautiful and i am definitely now a Scotts customer!
And, we got our certificate of occupancy!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, germinates quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product never grew.

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromBaldwinsville, NY 13027, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was so disappointed with this product. I had a terrible problem with crab grass after a very hot, dry spell in the summer. I went to my local hardware store in our small town and they recommended your Scotts Turf builder grass seed with the coated feature for better water retention. It was fall and the crab grass had begun to die. I raked the grown to loosen the soil. I spread good compost/soil over the 150sq ft area and then spread the new grass seed with a hand spreader. I overseeded the area because it was so small an area and I had the seed. It did not germinate before snow fell in December, even though it was supposed to have according to the directions. The next spring only a very few seeds germinated. I waited a few more weeks, but all that did was give the weeds a chance to grow, and no more grass. A new crop of crab grass that took over the area and I had start over again this past fall with different seed from a different company. It germinated within a few weeks and looked great before the snow fell. I know you wont publish this, but I was so disappointed.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesJanuary 13, 2016
We would like to apologize for the lack of seed germination you experienced with our Turf Builder Sun and Shade Mix. This is certainly not the result we want you to expect from our seed. We appreciate that you've taken the time to write a review, and we have forwarded your comments to our Quality Assurance Department for additional research.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

if I could give it 0 I would for 0 grass grown

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestford, MA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had several spots of dead grass from our brutal Boston winter that had been plowed by the snow plow. I carefully, painstakingly, and lovingly prepared the areas that needed seeding - I removed much of the old grass, using a hand tool (claw). I then covered the areas with new loam. I sprinkled on the seed, then in many areas added even more loam. I watered by hand with a hose on "shower" three times the first day, and then twice a day thereafter.
5 days - no new grass
10 days - no new grass
I gave up hand watering at that point (the bag says 5 to 10 days).
Its been a month, and we never got ANY new grass. NOT ONE SINGLE BLADE OF GRASS.
I used 3 bags of this stuff, all bought from different stores for convenience, because I didn't know until I was doing it how much I would need.
NONE of the areas grew ANY new grass.
I should add that the weather was great during this period - sunny days between 65 to 75, and nights down to about 50.
Total and complete waste of money, time, and effort on my part.
Consdidn't work at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 27, 2015
I am sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. It is certainly frustrating to go to the work of reseeding an area, only to have the results less than satisfactory.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New home; new lawn

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSolsberry, IN
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We built a new home on farm land. So when our water line was dug, it was quite a distance from the road to the house. The area of dirt was about 6' x 30' area. I used Scotts Grass Seed Turf Builder for Sun & Shade. We didn't have a water faucet on the front of the house so I had to carry buckets of water around from the back. Needless to say, I was concerned that the seed wouldn't take because I couldn't water as much as I would have liked. After covering the area with straw to help keep the moisture on the seeded area, I waited to see how well the seed would work. It wasn't but about seven days that I noticed small green sprouts starting to rise. After watering and checking on the seeded area throughout the next several weeks, we had a beautiful patch of new grass. It has since grown in and you can't tell that it hadn't been there all along. I was very pleased with the Scotts product; it has lived up to its promise--"staying green even in extreme conditions of dense shade or scorching sun.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bought in Tracy CA. Seed did not sprout.

PostedOctober 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromTracy CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a 7 lb bag of this seed at Ace Hardware in Tracy CA on October 14th, 2015 along with a 1 lb bag of their store brand Shady Grass Seed. I planted this seed carefully the same day and covered it with Scotts Lawn Dirt, watering it twice a day and nothing has sprouted. Not a single sprig of grass. I believe this product is defective. There are similar reviews on the Home Depot website where customers say that nothing germinated. The area that I planted with the 1 lb bag of Ace Shady Grass Seed on the same day is 3-4 inches high. For the Scotts seed, nothing has happened in 14 days. It was hours of work to prepare the soil for planting, plus watering twice a day and I feel I have wasted my time and effort. I believe I planted and watered the seed correctly because the Ace brand seed for shady areas germinated and grew well that I planted the same day and watered on the same schedule. I am very disappointed in the results.
Prosnothing
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceOctober 30, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your results. If you have not already done so, please contact us by using the following link for help with our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away this seed is not reliable

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer avatar
frommichigan
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have tried to reseed 3 times with scotts seed.
1) Spring 2013 the first time i used the sun and shade I thought i did something wrong as nothing grew.
2) Late spring I tried again I reseeded with the sun and shade and i had great results. that part of the lawn still looks great.
3) Fall 2013 another flop. I aerated, I spent $130 on soil to put down thin layer of top soil on all the lawn, I water at least 2 times per day $100 water bill, Nothing, nothing grew. My lawn looks terrible. I will never use another scotts seed again. At the high pricefor the seed I should have at least gotten 50% germination on a useless product. What exactly is water smart? Why pay more for less seed with water smart if the results are the same zero germination. I thing the quality assurance is zero. clearly some people are having good results and others like myself have lost money and time using the sun and shade mix.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesOctober 28, 2013
We are sorry that you have had problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Generally, we recommend seeding in early autumn when soil temperatures are still warm and there is no danger of frost for at least a month.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures must be at least 55 degrees and no warmer than 75 degrees for your seed to germinate. If you sow your seed when the soil temperature is too hot or too cold, the seed will wait until ideal conditions are present. As long as you do not experience a sudden change in temperature after germination begins, you could still experience the great results you expected from our seed.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked as advertised and had seedlings on 6th day

PostedSeptember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHolly Springs, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met a Scotts rep at local home improvement center. Was planning to get a Rebels strain but he convinced me that Sun and Shade variety would work well in our back yard that gets less sunlight. We brought in topsoil, waited for a cool night to spread seed. We then lightly raked it in and spread seed over that. Watered thoroughly that first night, then followed up several times per day - 4-5. On day five I saw just one seedling. On day six, too many to count. It's been about 8 and we have a see of bright green. Even spread, no weeds, and interestingly, little variation in blade height... all nurtured in same way, I suppose. We lightly spread Scotts Starter fertilizer just this morning so as to have a great affect and not be washed away. Not sure what else we could want. BTW, the blue coating made raking and spread management much easier because seeds were easy to spot.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sun & Shade Mix is Not Heat Tolerant

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRandolph, NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Used Scott's Sun & Shade Mix to seed patches of lawn that were thin and needed to be fixed. Applied top-soil, seed & straw in early May and watered the area for about 3 - 4 weeks until seed had fully germinated. We had the most beautiful and healthy dark green grass all summer long until it got hot in early/mid August (85-90+#. New grass started to thin out, slowly turning brown and is now all dead. Very disappointed as it took a lot of work and the lawn and new grass looked great. It appears that the Sun & Shade mix is not heat tolerant #the rest of my lawn still looks fine as it goes dormant when hot#. Did a soil test with the local extension service which confirmed soil is ok.
Will try to reseed areas again. However, this time I will use another mix of grass seed. Maybe the heat tolerant blue mix will work better #hopefully that mix is available in my area).
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 14, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Once grass seedlings start growing, they may succumb to environmental factors such as disease, insects, or extremes of temperature and moisture. This is not necessarily evidence of inferior grass seed, as even superior grass types are subject to natural stresses.

Maintaining constant soil moisture is the most critical factor in the success of a new seeding, both before and after germination. Even though the seed germinated, the soil may have dried out for a short time after it was up and growing.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for new grass

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromInwood wv
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought a new house and the lawn was horible half grass half weeds ect. So i rototilled and found the soil was pretty rocky amd mostly clay so i put 50 bags of scotts topsoil down (which ive heard alot of bad about but havent seen any weeds or glass or whatever ppl say thats in there) retilled it and layed the seed down and followed it with scotts food for new grass. This was the first time ive ever messed with yard work and 4 days in i had srpouts atleast 50 in 1 sq ft amazing its day 5 and ive seen more germination. I read alot of bad reviews but it has to be how u take care of the seeds after there layed i waters 5am 9am 3pm 7 pm and . I will say the bags do not cover what they say i used 5 on my yard which was at most 1300 sq ft the 3lb bags should do 1100sq ft i believe but over all very satisfied cant wait til im a month in.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 40 next>>