Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix

Sun & Shade Mix is Scotts most versatile mix, staying green even in extreme conditions of dense shade or scorching sun. It aggressively spreads to fill in bare spots and has all the benefits of Water Smart&#153 PLUS coating technology.
Overall rating:
3.272 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
29
50 out of 87(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not survive in warm weather

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromParsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have tried this product twice now, a bag last fall, and a bag this spring, with both times having the same result. As soon as the weather gets warm, it all starts to die.
The bag I planted last fall, I had dug up a previous area that wasn't doing too well, and put down a couple inches of Scotts Lawn Soil. I proceeded to put down the seed per the instructions, along with Scotts Starter Fertilizer, and started watering for 6-8 minutes 2 times a day, increasing that time as the grass began to grow. The germination rate was great, and in about a month the grass was as thick as could be and I couldn't have been happier.
Once the winter was over and all the snow had melted, I once again could not have been happier with how thick and green the grass came in. But that only lasted about a month and a half. Once the temperatures started getting into the 80's here in northern NJ, I could see that the grass was no longer growing, and it began to thin out and turn brown. I made sure the grass was watered at least an inch a week when we didn't get rain by watering it for 2 hours every 5-7 days. But the newly planted areas continued to get worse and to this day they have only gotten worse.
I did the same exact thing with an area of the yard this spring, and have had the same exact results. I've attached pictures and you can see what is left of what started as a seemingly promising new area of grass, not much.
I've been a loyal customer of the Scotts brand since I purchased my first home 2 years ago (soil, seed, fertilizer), but the disappointment level is approaching my loyalty level. I've ordered a bag of the heat tolerant blue mix after doing a lot of research on the contents of the different seed varieties, and will be trying it in the fall; which is going to be the last straw before trying other brands if I get the same poor results. And I will make sure to leave a review, positive or negative, for the heat tolerant blue mix once time, or heat, has run its course.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, can't handle heat
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceAugust 18, 2014
We're sorry that to hear that you had disappointing results with the Scotts Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix. We're glad to hear you're going to try the Turf Builder Heat Tolerant Blue Mix, this fall. We also suggest having the soil tested. When the existing grass starts to thin and new grass is hard to maintain it could indicate that there is an environmental problem. Testing the soil, measuring the sunlight, looking for tree roots near the surface and checking foot traffic are all things that may help to improve the growing area.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromManorville, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using Scott's fertilizer the last couple of years to take care of my lawn . I've always been happy with the fertilizer so I just imagined all of the products would be equal in quality. I bought mulch for my beds and was disappointed that it was chock full of large wood chips. I ended up purchasing mulch this year from a local dealer. I used the topsoil that Scott's produced and was also disappointed in that contained some sticks and debris in it. I ended up purchasing local top soil that was sold in my local Home Depot for half the price and the quality was much better. Never the less I didn't invest a lot of money in these products so I wasn't too sour. In addition I figured that Scott's was most known for its fertilizer and seed so i didn't think the poor quality of the other products would carry over. The last couple of years i had bought bags of seed that my landscaper used when they were intalling some hardscapes at my house. When I patched and overseeded my lawn this year I purchased a 40lb bag of sun and shade mix from Home Depot. I did I what I always have done in prepping the area and raking in the seed and keeping them moist. I have to say that I've been very unhappy with the results. There is a low percentage of seeds germinating than I have seen in the past and I'm upset that I've paid or wasted $100 on this product. I think next time I will find another brand and try it because as of now, Scott's wasn't the $100 that I paid.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesOctober 2, 2012
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment with several of our Scotts products. The Turf Builder Sun & Shade Mix does contain a variety of seeds that develop at different rates and may explain why grass blades are growing sparsely. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Regardless, your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Grass Seed

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSyracuse, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I built my home in 2005 and seeded my lawn with Scott's Contractor mix. My lawn was picture perfect. Rolling lush green acre of grass. So I decided to try my luck with Scott's Sun & Shade to even small area's of my lawn with the driveway and the road's edge. May 1, I brought in 3 yards of topsoil. I purchased a bag of Scott's Sun & Shade. I graded and seeded per Scott's instruction. I applied the Sun & Shade mix with Water Saver Plus . I over seeded the area triple the per Scott's " Simple Instructions" . I watered like instructions said. I didn't cover the bare soil with straw. No such luck. After 2 1/2 weeks only a few new grass seedlings appeared where it should have been lush green seedlings. So dumb me I went back and purchased a 20lb bag of Sun & Shade. I raked and reseeded again. This time I applied straw as a cover. After 2 weeks grass seedlings are coming up with bare spots again. I've attached pictures that show what the lawn looks like after a second round of Scott's seeds. I will purchase a different brand of seed to fill in the bare spots. This will be my third round of seeding as Scott's isn't doing the job. Scott's rating of this grass seed is Over Rated. Not Quick growing and over priced. Junk seed do not buy.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, didn't germinate too many bare spots, inconvient to have to reseed several times
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 24, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Generally, we recommend seeding in late spring when temperatures are warm not only during the day, but at night also.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures for northern (cool season) type turfgrass seed (Kentucky bluegrass, ryegrass, and fescue) must be at least 55 degrees F for seed to germinate. For best results, daytime temperatures must typically be in the 60-80 degree F. range and not going below 50 degrees F at night. Seeds will not germinate if the temperatures are cold at night, or are fluctuating from high day temperature to very low night time temperatures. The best time to seed cool season grasses is early to mid-fall.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I must have gotten 3 bad bags...

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWest Milford, NJ, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased 3, 40lb bags to overseed my 16,000sq ft. lawn and to seed some bare spots that were created from work that was done when installing my new driveway. After the driveway was installed, the borders of the driveway were re-soiled with a good top soil and the area was seeded as directed. Ive had to overseed that area 3 times already and other places in the yard the seed was not germinating as well. A 40lb bag of this seed isn't cheap...each bag was approximately $107 at Lowes and I bought 3 bags. I went with the Scott's because of the name but now Im not sure if I should have went with Pinnacle. All the proper steps were taken to prepare the soil for the seeding and it's disappointing to have to re-seed several times. I also have a sprinkler system that was watering as directed. I guess its possible I just got a few bags from the same lot that had inert seed. Since I have a new lawn(installed last year), in the fall I will be overseeding again. This time I won't be using Scott's Sun and Shade in the fall and it's disappointing because I have been a Scott's product fan for years.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 28, 2014
We are sorry that you have had problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures must be at least 55 degrees and no warmer than 75 degrees for your seed to germinate. If you sow your seed when the soil temperature is too hot or too cold, the seed will wait until ideal conditions are present. As long as you do not experience a sudden change in temperature after germination begins, you could still experience the great results you expected from our seed.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n



-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Beautiful Yard of the Month!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Dakota
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not really, but i had several neighbors tell me they were going to nominate our yard, if we had such a contest.
Seriously, we moved to a brand new neighborhood without a yard at all, save the weeds that sprung up voluntarily. Only got a temporary certificate of occupancy because we had no grass or trees. And only 30 days till the TCO expired.
We used only Scotts products on our lawn and it is impressive! Lush green, still coming in. Was interviewed by a reporter about the yard the first part of July and she couldn't believe we had only planted seed on Father's Day.
My landscaper recommended sod, but we weren't willing to shell out that kind of money after having put in underground sprinklers and curbing. After the landscaper saw how well the seed came in, he wanted to know what product we had used. i showed him and he was impressed. Had another landscaper from out of state stop in front of the house and wanted to know what we had used.
It has taken a LOT of water but the yard is beautiful and i am definitely now a Scotts customer!
And, we got our certificate of occupancy!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, germinates quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away this seed is not reliable

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer avatar
frommichigan
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have tried to reseed 3 times with scotts seed.
1) Spring 2013 the first time i used the sun and shade I thought i did something wrong as nothing grew.
2) Late spring I tried again I reseeded with the sun and shade and i had great results. that part of the lawn still looks great.
3) Fall 2013 another flop. I aerated, I spent $130 on soil to put down thin layer of top soil on all the lawn, I water at least 2 times per day $100 water bill, Nothing, nothing grew. My lawn looks terrible. I will never use another scotts seed again. At the high pricefor the seed I should have at least gotten 50% germination on a useless product. What exactly is water smart? Why pay more for less seed with water smart if the results are the same zero germination. I thing the quality assurance is zero. clearly some people are having good results and others like myself have lost money and time using the sun and shade mix.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesOctober 28, 2013
We are sorry that you have had problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Generally, we recommend seeding in early autumn when soil temperatures are still warm and there is no danger of frost for at least a month.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures must be at least 55 degrees and no warmer than 75 degrees for your seed to germinate. If you sow your seed when the soil temperature is too hot or too cold, the seed will wait until ideal conditions are present. As long as you do not experience a sudden change in temperature after germination begins, you could still experience the great results you expected from our seed.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, expensive but worth it.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBucks, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used Scott's grass seed exclusively for years, and this improves upon an already great product. Whatever the "Water Smart Plus" seed coating is, it works. If you thoroughly prepare an area, keep it covered with straw, and water it regularly, you may be able to get away with a cheaper product. For the rest of us who don't have the time or inclination to babysit their lawn all day, this is perfect. A minimal amount of daily watering and your grass will grow enthusiastically. You'll have thick and durable area in a few weeks. From what I could determine there were no weed seeds in the bag, only nice thick grass sprouted.
I use an oscillating sprinkler and a garden hose timer set to run for 30 minutes every morning. Three or four weeks of that should be sufficient for the newly seeded area to be self-sustaining.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't let the negative reviews from people who cant read directions keep you from using a fantastic product

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMeridian, ID, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the second yard I have put in with Scotts sun and shade mix. I was hesitant to use this product after reading the reviews but trusted the results that I had in the past and planted about 7500 sf. Of lawn on our new home. I began by tilling and raking the entire area and installed automatic sprinklers. After the entire area was free of rock and debris I spread the seed at the recommended rate with a broadcast spreader. I have kept the area damp as directed and am happy to say that after only six days I am seeing small seedlings everywhere. I am more than pleased with the results and hope this will help some one who is as concerned as I was after reading reviews from people that cannot seem to follow directions.......still a fan of Scotts products after 12 years. Thanks for the soon to be great back yard.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, love the color... easy to apply evenly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK, but disappointing

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLeatherstocking, NY
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I laid down Scott's Topsoil over the carefully raked, patchy bare spots left by this year's draught in mid-September. I raked in the topsoil to let it fill in these spots, evening it out nicely at ground level, then liberally applied grass seed by hand. After raking that gently into the soil I carefully covered it with straw, thwarting our juncos, and was careful to water it twice daily unless it rained, which it did plenty these last two weeks. In spite of all this care I might have a 50% return on my investment. I have a lot of brown soil, and certainly there is some grass sprouting, but the soil still looks patchy. I guess I'm hoping it somehow fills in, but it doesn't look like the nice, thick lawn like it was before the draught. I was hoping for a better result.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCustomer9
 
Please wait while more information about Customer9 is loaded.
Additional information about Customer9 could not be loaded.
onOctober 8, 2012
Is there a quality consistency in this product? Three of us - Sberk
VA, yo u and me all top seeded bare spots. Sberk appears to have good results, yours was okay/disappointing and my was failure. I'm not seeing ANY growth after 15 days. Note the uncoated Walmart seed is growing gang busters...
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Grass seed

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used it for the first time on my lawn and the results are impressive.
I did follow the instructions on the package with good preparation of my lawn prior to seeding. I used the scotts turf builder lawn soil with my grass seed in areas that had no grass (bare spots), together they worked like a charm. I did water my lawn just to keep the soil moist for the most part. never let your seeds dry. KEY IS GOOD WATERING. I even seeded my lawn after applying scotts halt and crabgrass preventer 3 weeks earlier and still got away with it and had some good results (scotts experts will tell you not to seed until after 4 months of using the halt). I also had good temps for the grass to grow (45 F-80 F).
Bottom line .. this is an excellent grass seed. strongly recommended.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Conscost
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not pleased at all!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRiverside, California
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wanted to fill in some large gaps, So I prepped the soil with Scott's lawnsoil in I pulled all weeds and rocks and leveled the area. I spread the seed evenly and watered 2 x a day. I also fenced off the area from people and dogs. After about 1 1/2 weeks it sort of sprouted but the blades were very thin and sparse. I continued to water and about 2 weeks later what little had sprouted just withered away and died. I was thinking maybe it would take a little longer for the other types of grass in the mix to sprout but so far nothing. Not one seeds from the entire bag survived. Anyways I would be happy to try another bag if you send me one for free as maybe I got a bad batch. Other than that I'm really disappointed.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, small thin sparse sprouts that died
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesSeptember 25, 2012
We are so sorry you had a tough time. It is normal for grass seed to be very thin when it first emerges, but it should fill in as the plant develops a root structure and begins to benefit from the good soil. However, it is very sensitive at that point. Fungal infections and herbicides that do not bother more mature grass can be overwhelming to a seedling.

We do offer a guarantee on the product, please contact us at your earliest convenience to make arrangements.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for major lawn replacement

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTroy, NY
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used scotts sun and shade with water smart mix two years ago to completely redo my front lawn which was destroyed by an unusually hot spell during the summer of that year. This part of the lawn must endure complete sun exposure from 11AM to 5PM. I did this work in late September.
The following year saw a fairly well established lawn with a few bare spots. I applied more seed (which I had leftover) to the more visable bare spots in the early fall. I followed that in early December with an application of Scotts wintergaurd.
This year I applied Scotts with Halts in mid March. The lawn has flourished (it is very thick, more so than ever before during the past fifty years) with no visible bare spots to date.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I really wanted this to work

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOrange County, CA
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm very disappointed with this product. I've had good luck with Scott fertilizer products but this seed product didn't live up to any of it's promises.
We bought two bags to deal with bare spots in our lawn. We worked the soil, spread the seed, and added the thin covering they said to add. We watered daily - and paid a lot of attention to the lawn for the first few weeks.
We're lucky if 10% of the seed sprouted. Even with that, most of that grass died over the next few weeks.
Not sure what the issue was, but we are very unhappy.
When I check the reviews, others said similar things. We should have listened to what they said.
Sorry Scotts. I think you finally came up with a bum product.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, didn't grow., cost too much, waste of my time & water
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesAugust 20, 2014
We are sorry that you have had problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. Generally, we recommend seeding in early autumn when soil temperatures are still warm and there is no danger of frost for at least a month.

Temperature plays a critical role in seedling germination. Soil temperatures must be at least 55 degrees for your seed to germinate. If you sow your seed when the soil temperature is too hot or too cold, the seed will wait until ideal conditions are present. As long as you do not experience a sudden change in temperature after germination begins, you could still experience the great results you expected from our seed.

One major "enemy" of a newly seeded lawn is herbicide. Make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with this product!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My yard was hit really bad this year with all of the heat and lack of rain. I would estimate that 20% of my front lawn had died off. I thatched my yard and used a slit seeder to replant the damaged part of my lawn. I put down a healthy portion of sun & shade mix and watered twice a day. The one week mark was yesterday and I started to see sprouts in some of the most difficult portions of my lawn. This morning I saw sprouts everywhere in my lawn. All of my worries have been alleviated about my lawn not coming back. thank you Scotts for the great product that you have. Your started fertilizer also helped wake up the remaining parts of my lawn that did not die off during the summer.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product did not work as expected

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromValparaiso, IN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have always used scotts lawn care products and have always been pleased with the results. After moving into a new house the back yard needed some help. I went out and spread 10 yards of good topsoil and bought 2 40lbs bags of this grass seed and scotts starter fertilizer. After 6 weeks the results are nothing that I expected at all. There seems to be very little growth and it seems like the seed just didn't germinate at all. I followed the directions exactly and ,besides a couple cool nights which were in the 40s, the weather conditions were perfect for growing grass. This is not the first lawn I have put in but it is the first time trying this product and it will be the last.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServicesJune 20, 2013
I am sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix. It is certainly frustrating to go to the work of reseeding an area, only to have the results less than satisfactory.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Believe It's The Same Lawn

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMonroeville, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My lawn took a beating with the high heat and lack of rain this past summer. I decided to dethatch and aerate this fall and overseed with
Scott'[s Turf Builder Sun and Shade seed and Scott's Starter Fertilizer. Five weeks later, my lawn is a thick, deep green and looks as good as any I have ever seen. I used to have a professional lawn service treating my lawn and when I called to terminate their services and told them I was going to try to do it myself, they told me since I couldn't get the commercial grade materials, I would not have success. Boy, were they ever wrong. My lawn never looked so good. I would match it against anyone's.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great if you like weeds

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSterling, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just repared a strip of lawn that had new underground utilities installed. So new top soil was laid and I seeded with the Scotts sun and shade mix, covered with salt marsh hay, watered 3X/day. Had grass in 4-5 days....then the weeds. I also used Scotts Sun Mix in another area of this project and it had even more weeds. The fact that both areas used the same batch of top soil and had varying degree's of weed content tells me it's not the soil but the amount of weed seed in the bags. After this and my issues with the Scotts Potting Soil mix with bugs....I've about had it with Scotts products. This ain't your daddy's Scotts.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 28, 2014
We are sorry that you have been disappointed by the appearance of weeds in your newly seeded areas. Our seeds are guaranteed to be 99.9% weed free. Weed seeds are exposed when the soil is turned and will germinate right along with the new seed. Weed seeds may also be introduced to the area through the addition of topsoil or straw.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRayfromMass
 
Please wait while more information about RayfromMass is loaded.
Additional information about RayfromMass could not be loaded.
onJuly 31, 2014
What doesn't fit your explanation is the fact that the same batch of new soil, not turned, was used along the entire 150 foot section. Crab grass weeds were "isolated" to the full sun seed while the sun and shade seed had very few weeds. It's night and day, side by side comparison. Weed seed came from somewhere and only landed, or was contained, in the full sun weed section?....I doubt it. Thanks for the generic reply.
-3points
0of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a happy camper either.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMerrill, WI 54452, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I am an avid user of Scott's products and have made many recommendations. Three weeks ago today I put down new top soil in an area that was neglected by not getting enough water. I planted the sun & shade mix, added Scott's starter fertilizer and have been watering it twice a day (with my newly installed in-ground sprinkler system). So far I am very unsatisfied with the results as I need to look very closely for any new blades and they are very limited. I planted some EZ seed I had leftover at the same time and that came in fine. So today I purchased an alternative seed and will re-seed.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy LEe AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 14, 2012
We're sorry to hear you haven't gotten the results you were expecting. High temperatures and the use of weed controls play a role in germination during this time of year. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n for additional assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turf Builder Magic

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I had taken photos to show how well this worked. Long story short - elderly mother, overgrown lawn including trees, pine/spruce lower branches removed, add Turf Builder with little to no ground preparation (ie it was still smothered in pine needle) and within a couple weeks and minor watering there was a lush lawn. End result - extremely happy mother and neighbors who constantly point out her beautiful yard. In appearance it seems so simple as it's seed mix with shredded newspaper, but it took incredibly well many times over to the worst patches and continued to grow.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Sun & Shade Mix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for me!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromStockton, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product to fill in some bare spots in sunny areas in our Stockton, CA, yard. I don't think it's meant for that, but it did a great job. We have adobe clay here, so it's very difficulty to work up the ground, especially since the original lawn was sod. But a little effort, some good starter fertilizer, and a bit of good topsoil did wonders! You have to keep it moist, especially in 90+ºF weather (I planted too late), but the spots are filling in nicely. I recommend this product. It's more expensive than some, but the results are worth it.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>