Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader

Provides superior accuracy for consistent greening and complete coverage.
Overall rating:
3.321 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
34 out of 54(63%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This spreader fails on every level

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSo. Cal
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this spreader after my previous Scott's spreader rusted through. Since this was all plastic figured would never have to worry about rust, however, this spreader spreads at a rate that is over twice the amount suggested by the Scott's settings on the bag. This is very helpful for Scott's bottom line by dumping twice as much product on the ground but it isn't good for the lawn or my wallet.
ConsDidn't work as expected, poor quality, cheaply built, expensive to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceNovember 10, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please check the calibration of your spreader following the steps listed below. Also, make sure to contact us. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

How to Calibrate Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader.
1. Set micrometer to 6
2. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper.
3. Squeeze the trigger with your foot.
4. Locate the calibration line (small, embossed line on the bottom of the hopper the 2nd tooth from the spring in the center).
5. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, either the raised ridge (if present) or the front edge of the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line.
Note: If the hopper is missing a calibration line - using the setting of a 6 they should be able to pass a 9/64" drill bit through the opening just to the right of the center. (First opening to the right of the spring.)
6. To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer.
7. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and either the raised ridge (if present) or the front edge of the shut-off bar meet.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big disappointment regarding this product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChelmsford, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This spreader constantly needs me to bounce it or move it around so that the stuff inside leave to container and get on to the ground. It is a pain to use and whatever is inside does not spread evenly and the grade of descent is not steep enough to have all the product get to the ground evenly. Takes me much longer than it should to use the product as I have to make sure the stuff comes out and does not get caught. Bad design, hard to use and overall very poor.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, took too long to use, bad design, cumbersome
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesOctober 3, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts spreader. I appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Something's definitely wrong

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromcoastal Maine
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Like many of the reviews, I had to replace an old drop spreader (Scotts) that I had for many years and finally gave up the ghost. Bought a classic drop spreader. Again ... like many of the reviews, the spreader was "dumping" about 10 times the rate that it should have. However, when checking the calibration as has been suggested ... when set at "6", it lines up with the calibration line just fine, but it's easy to tell that it's way too "open" for that setting. To even come close to getting the spreader to work at a decent rate I had to take it to the lowest setting; 2. This when I was putting down turf builder with weed control and it was supposed to be set at 5.75. There is definitely something wrong with these spreaders BEFORE they are shipped. This needs to be corrected and you need to identify a "correct" calibration setting ... maybe a "10" when aligning with the calibration line, but i'm not sure that will necessarily fix the problem with these spreaders.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 5, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts spreader. We appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Accuspreader 3000 drop spreader

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhillipsburg, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This spreader like the other drop spreader reviews is terrible. I just spread a 16,000 sq ft bag of turf builder with grab grass killer and the spreader dumped all in 1,600 sq ft area. I had this spreader a long time and now I remember why I did not use it. Their products for weed killer and fertilizer is great but the tools they have to spread this is less than fair.
Prosi
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceApril 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Scotts Turf Builder AccuGreen 3000 Drop Spreader. From your description It sounds like your spreader may be out of calibration. Your Turf Builder AccuGreen 3000 Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and will forward your comments to our quality control and marketing teams. If we can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us by using the following link.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk; DON'T BUY

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArcadia, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was excited for my new spreader but like so many others have noted, the product pours from this spreader at every setting, i used fertilizer and insecticide...spreadings from 9 to 3 and the rate of distribution was 4 to 8 times the recommended rate. When you walk with the spreader supposedly shut, the product is still released. Very very disapponting. I have been using Scott's products since 1971 and will look for another product now
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. Your comments have been forwarded to our quality control teams for review. We would like to talk with your regarding this problem. Please use the following link to contact us directly and discuss our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Drop Spreader

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this spreader last fall when my 12 year old one broke. Didn't use until today. Wish I had read the reviews before I used it. Who would have thought that Scott's would make such a bad product? How hard is it to make a drop spreader! I didn't realize there was a problem until I ran out of a 5000sq ft bag at under 3000 sq ft!! I look it up to see if the setting is wrong and find out the they are all bad! Too bad I can't return this piece of junk! Now I'm also stuck with a way over fertilized yard too. No more trust in Scott fertilizer products or their drop spreaders. With all these problems they should have been recalled. Can't even guess how many other lawns are ruined!!
Proslemon
Consdrops 2x-3x expected fertilizer
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMarch 17, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts spreader. I appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you, Ron, that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

It sounds like your spreader may be out of calibration. Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible product

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I can not emphasize how bad this spreader is. I've read the reviews that mention calibration issues, and being overly confident, I thought I could beat the problem. Brand new unit purchased from a big box store, freshly assembled. I checked the calibration (6 on the scale) and the protruding bar was just past the calibration line.
Set the spreader to 4-1/2 per the Halts Crabgrass Preventer bag. The 5000 square foot bag was gone before I got half the front yard done. I measured the area as 40 ft x 20 ft = 800 sq ft.
I don't know what's been done to my yard, but suspect it won't be good. Back it goes tomorrow, and it will be the last Scott's product I buy. Have someone who gives a care about your lack of quality contact me.
Photos are mine.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, calibration issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer Service October 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your expereience with Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate that you took the time to explain your experience and post photos. There are four common issues that can cause this problem. They are calibration, walking pace, overlap and product flow. When applying material to the lawn the pace should be approximately 5 feet every 20 seconds, the paths should have a slight overlap of the wheel tracks, and the product should flow freely with no clumps or moisture. Also, make sure to alway push and not pull the spreader and to turn the spreader off when stopping or when turning around. We hope that these suggetions identify what caused the problem. We have forwarded your comments to our Quality Assurance Teams for review. as well. If we can provide any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byShademan
 
Please wait while more information about Shademan is loaded.
Additional information about Shademan could not be loaded.
onOctober 5, 2014
We should walk 5 feet in 20 seconds? That's 1 foot in 4 seconds. Each step I take is about 2 feet, so I need to take one step every 8 seconds? A 10,000 sq foot yard, assuming a 2 foot wide spreader, would take 5.5 hours to fertilize at that rate. Seriously?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no calibration details

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLevittown, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
very disappointed never had to calibrate my last 2 scott spreaders i had for years.good spreader but needs to be calibrated .it put out double the amount of fertilizer. scotts does not include instrution on how to calibrate it.
there online instructions are not very good they should include pictures .
ConsProblem with label, needs calibration
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinPrattJune 27, 2013
Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just purchased this spreader, along with Scott's fertilizer. I set the spreader to the recommended setting (5.5). The spreader was grossly mis-calibrated to the extent that I had to buy double the fertilizer recommended. Through trial-and-error, I ended up with a setting of 2.5, which seemed about right. Besides the extra fertilizer cost, who knows what adverse affect the more than double fertilizer application will have on the portion of my lawn that I started with. Supposedly this spreader is calibrated at the factory, but this is either NOT the case or the product engineering is so bad that the calibration is hard to reliably set or drifts, even without use. To compound the problem, there is no documentation that comes with the spreader that instructs how to check or correct the calibration. I would not buy this spreader again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, grossly mis-calibrated
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 23, 2013
We are sorry that the Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not include the calibration directions. Scotts makes every effort to provide clear and accurate information on every product. I appreciate you letting me know and I have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDSN888
 
Please wait while more information about DSN888 is loaded.
Additional information about DSN888 could not be loaded.
onJune 30, 2013
I also have the exact complaints - the Classic Spreader is new, drops twice the product, the instructions provide no calibration settings. Often the spreader will stay open when you let go of the handle and dump product while parked. Had it with this spreader - I am leaving it on the curb today and going to the store to find a better spreader. It won't be Scott's
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Haven't even been able to use the spreader as I have no idea of what setting to use. This is because Scotts is quite presumptuous in thinking everyone is going to use their products when using this spreader. To make matters worse, I can find nothing online that translates the settings.
Conssettings only good for scott products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 19, 2013
Unfortunately, there is no cross-reference or formula for spreader settings. We provide settings for our consumer spreaders on the bags of all of our consumer products. However, there is no way that we can test all of the spreaders with all of our products or all competitive products with our Scotts spreaders.

To help determine an appropriate spreader setting, we recommend that you apply a test area to determine the best setting for your spreader with this product. Empty the number of pounds the manufacturer recommends for a 1000 square feet into the spreader. Adjust the spreader to a very low setting (approximately 1/4 to 1/3 open) and spread the material over a 1000 square foot area (50 x 20, 33 x 30, etc.) If you run out of material before you cover the test area, adjust the setting a notch lower; if you still have material in your hopper when you reach the end of the test area, adjust the setting a notch higher. This will give you the best setting for that particular product. Remember: it is safer to under apply with the test and increase setting later as needed.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY FRUSTRATED

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNORTHEAST KANSAS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WISH I WOULD HAVE READ REVIEWS BEFORE PURCHASING. THE APPLICATION RATE ON THIS NEW SPREADER DID NOT WORK AS SUGGESTED. I HAVE USED SCOTTS PRODUCTS IN THE PAST (NOT THIS PRODUCT) AND HAVE BEEN SATISFIED. THIS PRODUCT HOWEVER FAILED. I SET THE APPLICATION RATE EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED ON THE BAG. I NEEDED 4600 SQ. FT. OF APPLICATION, RAN OUT OF PRODUCT AT 24OO SQ. FT. AND THIS WAS USING A BAG THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO COVER 5000 SQ. FT. THE SPREADER DID NOT INCLUDE ANY CALIBRATION INSTRUCTIONS OR ADJUSTMENT INFORMATION. COLLEGE EDUCATION IN AGRICULTURE AND REALIZE THAT CALIBRATION IS OFTEN NEEDED FOR SPREADER AND/OR SPRAY APPLICATIONS. VERY DISAPPOINTING CONSIDERING THE PRODUCT COST $55.OO. BE WARNED!
Prosmade out of plastic which limits corrosion.
ConsDidn't work as expected, application rate does not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMarch 19, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. The Turf Builder Classic Drop spreader is calibrated at the factory, but it does sometimes slip. If you suspect it is out of calibration, such as in this case, you can set the spreader to a 6 to verify the calibration marks line up. Please contact us for details on calibration and to discuss our No Quibble Guarantee.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLeander, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
What cheap junky spreaders and they are expensive. The tines don't adjust or wear out so spread of product inconsistant.Made of all cheap plastic tht cracks (the hopper) and falls apart. Really dissapointed...had mine only ae couple years. Wish the products could be applied in liquid form using hose end application. I find this easier. Really think quality is awful.
ProsEasy to Use
Consfalls apart/cracks, tines wear out
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 4, 2012
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our spreader. Your comments are very important to us. Please contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally inadequate aplication rate

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSan Dimas, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brand new out of the box controls pre assembled, useing Scotts products, spreader delivered 5000 sqft of material in a 2000 sqft area. Walking rate was rapid, and wheel over lap less than reccommended. Directions said nothing about calibrating spread rate. Online chat sent me calibration directions. The only thing you buy a spreader for is to apply the material evenly and at the right rate. Good luck with this! This trulely a piece of junk!!!!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJune 12, 2012
We are sorry that the Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not include the calibration directions. Scotts makes every effort to provide clear and accurate information on every product. We will forward this information to our Marketing Department so that they can review the directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed...again (see my EdgeGuard DLX spreader review).

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAurora, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1) It won't hold a calibration through even one spreading session.
2) A wheel fell off the first time I used it -- it turned out that a cotter pin was improperly installed.
3) The open backsides of the wheels catch the fertilizer and then tend to dump it when you make a turn, burning the grass.
4) The handle length is too short for a tall person. You have to bend over the whole time -- uncomfortable, sometimes painful!
5) The handle width is too narrow, if you have long arms you'll have a hard time walking a straight line on most lawns.
Proshopper won't rust
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, won't stay calibrated, wheel fell off, wheels catch fertilzer, hurts my back, hard to push in straight line, poor design, poor value
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 22, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of your problems with the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate your feedback about the design of our spreaders and have forwarded your comments to our Quality Control Department. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No setting for EZSeed

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPittsfield, MA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A chat session with Scotts revealed that this spreader does not have a setting for EZ seed. You have to use a trial-and-error method that could result in significantly over- or under-applying the seed. Make sure that if you buy the spreader, you buy seed that has a recommended setting for the spreader.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 18, 2014
We are sorry that you are inconvenienced because we don't have an exact spreader setting for applying our EZ Seed products with the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. This product is typically used as a patching type of product. The thick nature makes it a little more difficult to apply by a spreader, but it can be done.

To apply Turf Builder EZ seed in this spreader, we suggest measuring and marking the appropriate coverage area for you bag weight and using the highest setting (18 on this spreader) while walking back and forth over the pre-measured cover area. It will take multiple passes before all of the product is used, while it is not exact you should have fairly even coverage upon completion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

New Drop Spreader

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLakewood, CO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My old AccuGreen spreader finally gave up the ghost after 15 or more years. The handle that controls the drop bar broke so that it would no longer pull the drop bar to dispense product.
Consequently I just bought a new Scotts drop spreader. I was surprised to see the number of negative reviews and in particular the issue with calibration. So I decided to check the calibration on my new spreader. Obviously quality control is lacking at Scotts. My drop bar was at least a quarter inch from the calibration mark in the direction that would have dropped significantly more product than set for. I had to screw out the adjustment screw significantly to get the mark to line up with the drop bar. I would highly recommend that anyone purchasing a new spreader to be sure and check that it is properly calibrated. I also recommend that Scotts add this info to the sticker on the front of the spreader so that new purchasers know how to check and adjust the calibration.
I'll update my review after using the new spreader this summer.
Consquality control lacking
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and will forward your comments to our quality control and marketing teams. If we can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us by using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Common Experience

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wouldn't write here, but when I searched on "drop spreader calibration" I found so many similar comments here, I wanted to reiterate the issue. THIS SPREADER HAS CALIBRATION ISSUES.
I cannot believe a company like Scotts doesn't own up to this issue and just admit the problem.
I purchased the spreader and Scotts fertilizer, came home and got to work. This is a replacement spreader (see below) so I was familiar with calibration. First, I looked for calibration instructions and found none. I turned the spreader over and saw the markings, so I figured it was still an option to calibrate the new model. I actually had the instructions to my old spreader near by, so I reviewed them and looked at the spreader. It looked fine.
I loaded her up and started walking. I immediately noticed a rapid distribution of fertilizer, but due to prior problems of insufficient dropping of my old spreader, I kept going. What a mistake that turned out to be. When I was done, I had consumed almost TWICE the amount of fertilizer than what should have been used. I can only hope at this point my lawn will not be severely damaged.
That evening, I searched on calibration -- thinking perhaps this new model is calibrated at a different setting than 6. I found these comments and became quite angry. At first I planned to just return this to the big box store (knowing their "no quibble" guarantee would not require me to mail in pieces of the spreader). I would hire a weed and feed company from now on. In the morning, calmer heads prevailed and I decided to make due with this equipment -- not sure what else I can do, as I like to use a moss control twice a year and the service companies don't seem to offer that.
I am an engineer, so I will figure out how to make it work and just move on. If you aren't so handy, and like to follow instructions, DO NOT BUY THIS SPREADER!
Back Story: I had a Accudrop Spreader 3000 for several years and found, time and time again, it just wouldn't drop enough product. Finally, I reached my limit and wrote to Scotts. I was suspect the orange agitator bar simply wears out, but of course, the company wouldn't admit this, but instead offered multiple suggestions to correct what I might be doing wrong (wet grass, clumpy product, calibration, etc.). I ruled out all issues and asked for a replacement (note, had they said "these things just wear out," I likely would have agreed and just moved on). Instead they offered the "no quibble" guarantee. I cut off the adjusting drum and mailed it in. Several weeks later I received a check (note, not enough to buy the new "Classic" drop spreader).
The new spreader is essentially free, so I will keep it, use it cautiously and recognize it will likely wear out in a few years (unless they have some how fixed the issue I experienced with my 3000 model, but I doubt it).
Scotts -- you are a company I grew up knowing. Figure this out and get a quality spreader on the market so my son will have the opportunity to care for his own lawn like I do.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 11, 2013
I apologize for the problem that you experienced with your spreader. I appreciate you letting me know and have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you, Mr. Fee, that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use. You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center. To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

Unfortunately an overapplication of Scotts Turf Builder may cause damage to your lawn. Two things will determine the extent of the damage - the amount of excess product that was applied, and the temperatures you are experiencing locally.

The best way to help minimize the damage to the treated areas is to water the lawn 2 to 3 times each week for the next 3 to 4 weeks, for 30 to 45 minutes each time. Continuing to water will help the lawn get through the stress of an over-application and encourage recovery. If the areas begin to brown, check to see if the grass is still pliable. If it is, there is a good chance that the roots are still alive and that the damaged areas will recover. If the browned grass is brittle and breaks off easily, it may be lost. In that case, you will need to rake the dead grass out of the area and reseed.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What happened?

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Spreader was fine for two years, then it dumped almost 5000 sq ft of Scott's fertilizer in about 1000 ft. at the recommended setting. Stored in the garage, kept clean, not loaned to anyone, made no adjustments myself. The only variable was that I tried the Scott's Max once which completely gummed it up--all under ideal weather and recommended conditions. My previous Scott's spreader lasted over 15 years. What happened?
Prosi would think plastic would last longer than metal
ConsProblem with label, worked fine-- then didn't
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJuly 15, 2013
It is difficult to say what happened after the fact, but if the spreader has always performed until now the first thing to check is the calibration. Set the spreader to six and verify that the calibration lines match when you depress the handle. If they do not, there is a calibration screw that can be adjusted. If you need assistance with the process of calibration, contact us and we can provide you with detailed help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Having 10,000 sf of turf to cover I purchased two 5,000 sf bags of turf builder. One bag was loaded into the hoper, and the spreader set as instructed on the package. What should have consumed both bags used only half of one. I will be returning the spreader to the big box store.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not spread your fertilizer at the expected rate. One advantage of this spreader is that the calibration can be adjusted if it does not seem to be spreading correctly. If you contact us, we can help!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Settings don't respond to bag guidelines

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromO'Falon, MO
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used Scotts products and spreaders over 40 years. When the fertilizer formulations changed several years ago, the spreader settings never work for the desired fertilizer distribution. Normally the product goes about half of what it should cover if the spreader is set at the recommended opening as specified on the Scott's product. So, I purchased a broadcast spreader and had the same problems. I have never used any other spreader as it is hard to correlate the Scotts fertilizer bag settings to other spreaders. The only solution I have been able to do is to adjust the spreader settings on the run measuring the spread rate by how fast the product disappears out of the spreader box. I have recalibrated it several times using the instructions on the literature that came with the unit.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>