Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader

Scotts Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader

Provides superior accuracy for consistent greening and complete coverage.
Overall rating:
2.97 / 5
3
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
16 out of 32(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Review 1 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Accuspreader 3000 drop spreader

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPhillipsburg, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This spreader like the other drop spreader reviews is terrible. I just spread a 16,000 sq ft bag of turf builder with grab grass killer and the spreader dumped all in 1,600 sq ft area. I had this spreader a long time and now I remember why I did not use it. Their products for weed killer and fertilizer is great but the tools they have to spread this is less than fair.
Prosi
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceApril 4, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Scotts Turf Builder AccuGreen 3000 Drop Spreader. From your description It sounds like your spreader may be out of calibration. Your Turf Builder AccuGreen 3000 Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and will forward your comments to our quality control and marketing teams. If we can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us by using the following link.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk; DON'T BUY

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArcadia, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was excited for my new spreader but like so many others have noted, the product pours from this spreader at every setting, i used fertilizer and insecticide...spreadings from 9 to 3 and the rate of distribution was 4 to 8 times the recommended rate. When you walk with the spreader supposedly shut, the product is still released. Very very disapponting. I have been using Scott's products since 1971 and will look for another product now
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. Your comments have been forwarded to our quality control teams for review. We would like to talk with your regarding this problem. Please use the following link to contact us directly and discuss our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Drop Spreader

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this spreader last fall when my 12 year old one broke. Didn't use until today. Wish I had read the reviews before I used it. Who would have thought that Scott's would make such a bad product? How hard is it to make a drop spreader! I didn't realize there was a problem until I ran out of a 5000sq ft bag at under 3000 sq ft!! I look it up to see if the setting is wrong and find out the they are all bad! Too bad I can't return this piece of junk! Now I'm also stuck with a way over fertilized yard too. No more trust in Scott fertilizer products or their drop spreaders. With all these problems they should have been recalled. Can't even guess how many other lawns are ruined!!
Proslemon
Consdrops 2x-3x expected fertilizer
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMarch 17, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts spreader. I appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you, Ron, that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

It sounds like your spreader may be out of calibration. Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible product

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I can not emphasize how bad this spreader is. I've read the reviews that mention calibration issues, and being overly confident, I thought I could beat the problem. Brand new unit purchased from a big box store, freshly assembled. I checked the calibration (6 on the scale) and the protruding bar was just past the calibration line.
Set the spreader to 4-1/2 per the Halts Crabgrass Preventer bag. The 5000 square foot bag was gone before I got half the front yard done. I measured the area as 40 ft x 20 ft = 800 sq ft.
I don't know what's been done to my yard, but suspect it won't be good. Back it goes tomorrow, and it will be the last Scott's product I buy. Have someone who gives a care about your lack of quality contact me.
Photos are mine.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, calibration issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer Service October 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your expereience with Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate that you took the time to explain your experience and post photos. There are four common issues that can cause this problem. They are calibration, walking pace, overlap and product flow. When applying material to the lawn the pace should be approximately 5 feet every 20 seconds, the paths should have a slight overlap of the wheel tracks, and the product should flow freely with no clumps or moisture. Also, make sure to alway push and not pull the spreader and to turn the spreader off when stopping or when turning around. We hope that these suggetions identify what caused the problem. We have forwarded your comments to our Quality Assurance Teams for review. as well. If we can provide any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no calibration details

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLevittown, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
very disappointed never had to calibrate my last 2 scott spreaders i had for years.good spreader but needs to be calibrated .it put out double the amount of fertilizer. scotts does not include instrution on how to calibrate it.
there online instructions are not very good they should include pictures .
ConsProblem with label, needs calibration
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinPrattJune 27, 2013
Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use.

You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center.

To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just purchased this spreader, along with Scott's fertilizer. I set the spreader to the recommended setting (5.5). The spreader was grossly mis-calibrated to the extent that I had to buy double the fertilizer recommended. Through trial-and-error, I ended up with a setting of 2.5, which seemed about right. Besides the extra fertilizer cost, who knows what adverse affect the more than double fertilizer application will have on the portion of my lawn that I started with. Supposedly this spreader is calibrated at the factory, but this is either NOT the case or the product engineering is so bad that the calibration is hard to reliably set or drifts, even without use. To compound the problem, there is no documentation that comes with the spreader that instructs how to check or correct the calibration. I would not buy this spreader again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, grossly mis-calibrated
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 23, 2013
We are sorry that the Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not include the calibration directions. Scotts makes every effort to provide clear and accurate information on every product. I appreciate you letting me know and I have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDSN888
 
Please wait while more information about DSN888 is loaded.
Additional information about DSN888 could not be loaded.
onJune 30, 2013
I also have the exact complaints - the Classic Spreader is new, drops twice the product, the instructions provide no calibration settings. Often the spreader will stay open when you let go of the handle and dump product while parked. Had it with this spreader - I am leaving it on the curb today and going to the store to find a better spreader. It won't be Scott's
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Haven't even been able to use the spreader as I have no idea of what setting to use. This is because Scotts is quite presumptuous in thinking everyone is going to use their products when using this spreader. To make matters worse, I can find nothing online that translates the settings.
Conssettings only good for scott products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 19, 2013
Unfortunately, there is no cross-reference or formula for spreader settings. We provide settings for our consumer spreaders on the bags of all of our consumer products. However, there is no way that we can test all of the spreaders with all of our products or all competitive products with our Scotts spreaders.

To help determine an appropriate spreader setting, we recommend that you apply a test area to determine the best setting for your spreader with this product. Empty the number of pounds the manufacturer recommends for a 1000 square feet into the spreader. Adjust the spreader to a very low setting (approximately 1/4 to 1/3 open) and spread the material over a 1000 square foot area (50 x 20, 33 x 30, etc.) If you run out of material before you cover the test area, adjust the setting a notch lower; if you still have material in your hopper when you reach the end of the test area, adjust the setting a notch higher. This will give you the best setting for that particular product. Remember: it is safer to under apply with the test and increase setting later as needed.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY FRUSTRATED

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNORTHEAST KANSAS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WISH I WOULD HAVE READ REVIEWS BEFORE PURCHASING. THE APPLICATION RATE ON THIS NEW SPREADER DID NOT WORK AS SUGGESTED. I HAVE USED SCOTTS PRODUCTS IN THE PAST (NOT THIS PRODUCT) AND HAVE BEEN SATISFIED. THIS PRODUCT HOWEVER FAILED. I SET THE APPLICATION RATE EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED ON THE BAG. I NEEDED 4600 SQ. FT. OF APPLICATION, RAN OUT OF PRODUCT AT 24OO SQ. FT. AND THIS WAS USING A BAG THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO COVER 5000 SQ. FT. THE SPREADER DID NOT INCLUDE ANY CALIBRATION INSTRUCTIONS OR ADJUSTMENT INFORMATION. COLLEGE EDUCATION IN AGRICULTURE AND REALIZE THAT CALIBRATION IS OFTEN NEEDED FOR SPREADER AND/OR SPRAY APPLICATIONS. VERY DISAPPOINTING CONSIDERING THE PRODUCT COST $55.OO. BE WARNED!
Prosmade out of plastic which limits corrosion.
ConsDidn't work as expected, application rate does not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMarch 19, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. The Turf Builder Classic Drop spreader is calibrated at the factory, but it does sometimes slip. If you suspect it is out of calibration, such as in this case, you can set the spreader to a 6 to verify the calibration marks line up. Please contact us for details on calibration and to discuss our No Quibble Guarantee.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLeander, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
What cheap junky spreaders and they are expensive. The tines don't adjust or wear out so spread of product inconsistant.Made of all cheap plastic tht cracks (the hopper) and falls apart. Really dissapointed...had mine only ae couple years. Wish the products could be applied in liquid form using hose end application. I find this easier. Really think quality is awful.
ProsEasy to Use
Consfalls apart/cracks, tines wear out
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 4, 2012
We're sorry to hear about your experience with our spreader. Your comments are very important to us. Please contact us at the following link for information about our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally inadequate aplication rate

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSan Dimas, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Brand new out of the box controls pre assembled, useing Scotts products, spreader delivered 5000 sqft of material in a 2000 sqft area. Walking rate was rapid, and wheel over lap less than reccommended. Directions said nothing about calibrating spread rate. Online chat sent me calibration directions. The only thing you buy a spreader for is to apply the material evenly and at the right rate. Good luck with this! This trulely a piece of junk!!!!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJune 12, 2012
We are sorry that the Scotts Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not include the calibration directions. Scotts makes every effort to provide clear and accurate information on every product. We will forward this information to our Marketing Department so that they can review the directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed...again (see my EdgeGuard DLX spreader review).

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAurora, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1) It won't hold a calibration through even one spreading session.
2) A wheel fell off the first time I used it -- it turned out that a cotter pin was improperly installed.
3) The open backsides of the wheels catch the fertilizer and then tend to dump it when you make a turn, burning the grass.
4) The handle length is too short for a tall person. You have to bend over the whole time -- uncomfortable, sometimes painful!
5) The handle width is too narrow, if you have long arms you'll have a hard time walking a straight line on most lawns.
Proshopper won't rust
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, won't stay calibrated, wheel fell off, wheels catch fertilzer, hurts my back, hard to push in straight line, poor design, poor value
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 22, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of your problems with the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate your feedback about the design of our spreaders and have forwarded your comments to our Quality Control Department. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

New Drop Spreader

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLakewood, CO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My old AccuGreen spreader finally gave up the ghost after 15 or more years. The handle that controls the drop bar broke so that it would no longer pull the drop bar to dispense product.
Consequently I just bought a new Scotts drop spreader. I was surprised to see the number of negative reviews and in particular the issue with calibration. So I decided to check the calibration on my new spreader. Obviously quality control is lacking at Scotts. My drop bar was at least a quarter inch from the calibration mark in the direction that would have dropped significantly more product than set for. I had to screw out the adjustment screw significantly to get the mark to line up with the drop bar. I would highly recommend that anyone purchasing a new spreader to be sure and check that it is properly calibrated. I also recommend that Scotts add this info to the sticker on the front of the spreader so that new purchasers know how to check and adjust the calibration.
I'll update my review after using the new spreader this summer.
Consquality control lacking
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and will forward your comments to our quality control and marketing teams. If we can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us by using the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Common Experience

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wouldn't write here, but when I searched on "drop spreader calibration" I found so many similar comments here, I wanted to reiterate the issue. THIS SPREADER HAS CALIBRATION ISSUES.
I cannot believe a company like Scotts doesn't own up to this issue and just admit the problem.
I purchased the spreader and Scotts fertilizer, came home and got to work. This is a replacement spreader (see below) so I was familiar with calibration. First, I looked for calibration instructions and found none. I turned the spreader over and saw the markings, so I figured it was still an option to calibrate the new model. I actually had the instructions to my old spreader near by, so I reviewed them and looked at the spreader. It looked fine.
I loaded her up and started walking. I immediately noticed a rapid distribution of fertilizer, but due to prior problems of insufficient dropping of my old spreader, I kept going. What a mistake that turned out to be. When I was done, I had consumed almost TWICE the amount of fertilizer than what should have been used. I can only hope at this point my lawn will not be severely damaged.
That evening, I searched on calibration -- thinking perhaps this new model is calibrated at a different setting than 6. I found these comments and became quite angry. At first I planned to just return this to the big box store (knowing their "no quibble" guarantee would not require me to mail in pieces of the spreader). I would hire a weed and feed company from now on. In the morning, calmer heads prevailed and I decided to make due with this equipment -- not sure what else I can do, as I like to use a moss control twice a year and the service companies don't seem to offer that.
I am an engineer, so I will figure out how to make it work and just move on. If you aren't so handy, and like to follow instructions, DO NOT BUY THIS SPREADER!
Back Story: I had a Accudrop Spreader 3000 for several years and found, time and time again, it just wouldn't drop enough product. Finally, I reached my limit and wrote to Scotts. I was suspect the orange agitator bar simply wears out, but of course, the company wouldn't admit this, but instead offered multiple suggestions to correct what I might be doing wrong (wet grass, clumpy product, calibration, etc.). I ruled out all issues and asked for a replacement (note, had they said "these things just wear out," I likely would have agreed and just moved on). Instead they offered the "no quibble" guarantee. I cut off the adjusting drum and mailed it in. Several weeks later I received a check (note, not enough to buy the new "Classic" drop spreader).
The new spreader is essentially free, so I will keep it, use it cautiously and recognize it will likely wear out in a few years (unless they have some how fixed the issue I experienced with my 3000 model, but I doubt it).
Scotts -- you are a company I grew up knowing. Figure this out and get a quality spreader on the market so my son will have the opportunity to care for his own lawn like I do.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 11, 2013
I apologize for the problem that you experienced with your spreader. I appreciate you letting me know and have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as you, Mr. Fee, that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect.

Your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader was calibrated at the factory. However, a spreader's calibration may change or slip over time or during periods of heavy use. You may check the calibration by first adjust your micrometer setting to 6. Turn the spreader over so that you are looking at the outside of the bottom of the hopper. Use your foot to hold down the trigger. With the micrometer set at 6 and the trigger squeezed against the handle, the front edge of the projecting ridge on the shut-off bar should be aligned with the calibration line located on the 2nd or 3rd tooth from the center. To adjust the alignment, use a small wrench to turn the black calibration screw at the lower end of the control wire leading from the micrometer rate setting barrel. Adjust the screw until the calibration line and raised ridge or front edge of the shut-off bar meet. If you have any difficulty checking or adjusting the calibration, contact us and we will be happy to help walk you through the adjustment.

Unfortunately an overapplication of Scotts Turf Builder may cause damage to your lawn. Two things will determine the extent of the damage - the amount of excess product that was applied, and the temperatures you are experiencing locally.

The best way to help minimize the damage to the treated areas is to water the lawn 2 to 3 times each week for the next 3 to 4 weeks, for 30 to 45 minutes each time. Continuing to water will help the lawn get through the stress of an over-application and encourage recovery. If the areas begin to brown, check to see if the grass is still pliable. If it is, there is a good chance that the roots are still alive and that the damaged areas will recover. If the browned grass is brittle and breaks off easily, it may be lost. In that case, you will need to rake the dead grass out of the area and reseed.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What happened?

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Spreader was fine for two years, then it dumped almost 5000 sq ft of Scott's fertilizer in about 1000 ft. at the recommended setting. Stored in the garage, kept clean, not loaned to anyone, made no adjustments myself. The only variable was that I tried the Scott's Max once which completely gummed it up--all under ideal weather and recommended conditions. My previous Scott's spreader lasted over 15 years. What happened?
Prosi would think plastic would last longer than metal
ConsProblem with label, worked fine-- then didn't
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJuly 15, 2013
It is difficult to say what happened after the fact, but if the spreader has always performed until now the first thing to check is the calibration. Set the spreader to six and verify that the calibration lines match when you depress the handle. If they do not, there is a calibration screw that can be adjusted. If you need assistance with the process of calibration, contact us and we can provide you with detailed help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Having 10,000 sf of turf to cover I purchased two 5,000 sf bags of turf builder. One bag was loaded into the hoper, and the spreader set as instructed on the package. What should have consumed both bags used only half of one. I will be returning the spreader to the big box store.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your Turf Builder Classic Drop Spreader did not spread your fertilizer at the expected rate. One advantage of this spreader is that the calibration can be adjusted if it does not seem to be spreading correctly. If you contact us, we can help!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spreader needs to be calibrated.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids, MI, USA
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Always used and Scott drop spreader and always had to calibrate them. Just purchased one recently and looked for the orange tage the said I had to calibrate the spreader and directions on how to perform this task. There was any info on the product suggesting that I need to calibrate. I set the proper setting and it took 20,000 sq. ft of step 2 when normally 10,000 square ft. will cover my lawn. When I was going through the first 5,000 ft I stopped and grabbed the sticker that came on the spreader and checked for any calibration info and found none. Judging by the other reviews I have read the spreader aren't being calibrated at the factory. Normally I read the reviews but I didn't this time because I have had sussess with product in the past. I wished I had taken time to read the reviews. Quite disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost all plastic

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDayton, OH, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased one a few years back. I have used it for applying fertilizer to the perimeter of the yard. I have hosed the unit down after every time that it was used. Last week when I applied the PLUS 2- the wheel fell off. The axle had rusted in half and that's all she wrote. I purchased a new one this week. I took it apart and have applied grease to the entire axle. I hope this will take care of the rust problem. This will be a yearly PM job. A different finish might be another option for the axle.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consthe drive axle is metal and will rust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Spreader bar get wet and clogs

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLitchfield, IL 62056, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Spreading super turf builder with weed control on wet grass (as instructed) causes the spreader bar to get wet and then the drop holes clog with the product. I walked 16,000 sq. ft. Of lawn with the spreader set to 5 1/2 as on the product label and my Scott's spreader was still over 1/2 full should have been empty. Wheels need to be larger to raise spreader higher off ground to prevent this problem.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, clogged easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byRonSab
 
Please wait while more information about RonSab is loaded.
Additional information about RonSab could not be loaded.
onMay 22, 2013
Why would you cut the lawn shorter for the weed killer? the purpose for applying the Weed 2 wet is so that it sticks to the leaves of the weeds. if you cut it shorter you will effect less of the weeds leafs and the weed killer will not be as effective. Scotts just needs to put a warning about the process.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byJustTryingToHelp
 
Please wait while more information about JustTryingToHelp is loaded.
Additional information about JustTryingToHelp could not be loaded.
onJune 6, 2012
There is a simple solution to your problem and I think it is listed on the directions of the spreader. Mow your lawn short enough so the grass doe NOT touch the spreader bar. You should only need to mow shorter before the application. After that, go back to your normal mowing height. (3 1/2" is where I mow.)
+3points
5of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 19 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product...Except

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWaxhaw, NC
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been purchasing Scotts products for many, many years and have always been completely satisfied. I prefer the drop spreader over the rotary and purchased this one to replace a much older version. This product works well..except..the tab on the pull handle which opens the hopper, keeps coming out from the catch designed to keep it in place. As long as I push the tab back in place, it works as designed. Otherwise, I would have walked around thinking I'm spreading a product when in reality only a small portion is coming out.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Turf Builder® Classic Drop Spreader
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and durable

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromOhio, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this spreader for several years now. Each spring it is ready to go with no problems. Beats the old metal ones hands down. And with the handles folding for storage it takes up little room in the garage.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>