Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.785 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
108
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Star
41
124 out of 182(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Use with caution

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAvon, IN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I read all the reviews and decided to use the product. I carefully applied the product with a rotary spreader then immediately blew off walks and drive with a gas powered blower twice. I was absolutely sure I got it all off the concrete.
Problem: you cannot see the particles remaining on the concrete and when they get wet they will stain.
Solution: I used Iron Out (1 cup to 1 gal. of water). Just douse the area with the solution and the stain will go disappear. I did this procedure the following day after a rain.
My grass did turn dark green but not worth all the trouble.
Scotts needs to improve this product so the staining will not occur.
ProsEffective
ConsMessy, Problem with label, Difficult to use, no remedy for the staining on the label
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use this product near pavers cement or bluestone

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product contains iron and will cause serious rust stains to your brick pavers, cement walkways and bluestone. The disclaimer on the bag is so small. I would never use it again. It has cost me hundreds of dollars to try to get the rust stains off and I still have them. NEVER use this product!!!
ConsMessy, Problem with label, stains brick cement and bluestone
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts Green Max Stains Pool Serface!

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHouston, Texas
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am so disappointed with this product. Yes, my grass looks green however, fertilizer that had made its way onto a concrete pool surface has stained the surface and nothing seems to be removing it. Scott's - very poor warnings/notification about issues with this product. So now I have a beautiful pool and green grass with rust stains spotting the pool concrete surface...bad news!
ProsEffective
ConsDidn't work as expected, staining!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to Scott's Quality

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromTampa, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stains concrete with orange spots that do not wash off. Suspect the iron in the mixture is causing the staining. I even used a blower to move the fertilizer off the concrete but it still stained badly and looks terrible.
ConsMessy
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMichigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
This is a excellent product....sidewalk and driveway, just too simple to sweep, leaving no trace after 3 more mins of work....neighbors asked 'what I had used to get the deep green...told two of them of the product and stated to sweep away from sidewalk etc.....They 'both are going to try the product!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Lawn

PostedJune 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lawns get hungry and want food - this makes them
happy and full.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality, happy lawn
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Threw bag out : impossible to use

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product in the past and loved the results. This time though the product would not go through my Scott's spreader. The best I can guess perhaps the humidity or water got to it? I tried last weekend to spread it and finally gave up. I poured the product into another bag and left open thinking maybe that would help. Today same result. Maybe it was water damaged? If so the packaging should prevent.
Even when I continually stuck my hand in the spreader to get it unstuck, maybe 5 feet it would stick again and nothing coming out. Decided not to lose any more hair and threw it in the garage.
Frustrated.
ConsDifficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted byMrGreenjeans
 
Please wait while more information about MrGreenjeans is loaded.
Additional information about MrGreenjeans could not be loaded.
onJuly 2, 2015
Hello. I have found that you need to use all of the product once you open the package. Humidity will indeed make it clump. If you must store it, put it in an airtight container completely filled to displace air and moisture. I have never bought a bag that was clumpy but its possible that it was torn during shipping?
Great product. Thanks again Scotts and keep up your hard work.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bygreenie586
 
Please wait while more information about greenie586 is loaded.
Additional information about greenie586 could not be loaded.
onJune 15, 2015
You need to clean your spreader not the products fault
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGreasedog
 
Please wait while more information about Greasedog is loaded.
Additional information about Greasedog could not be loaded.
onJune 1, 2015
Completely wash your spreader
-1point
1of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 8 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will cause bad rust stains on concrete that are difficult if not impossible to remove

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied this product and didn't get all of it removed off the concrete before it rained and now have bad rust stains on concrete that previously was unstained. It's not worth having green grass if your concrete is ruined. Do not use this product. Warning on bag is too small.
ConsMessy, rust stains on concrete
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted byJerry123
 
Please wait while more information about Jerry123 is loaded.
Additional information about Jerry123 could not be loaded.
onJuly 2, 2015
Use Concrete Rust Remover from the Rust Store. It works.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byamt112
 
Please wait while more information about amt112 is loaded.
Additional information about amt112 could not be loaded.
onJuly 1, 2015
A little muratic acid will wash the stains off the concrete.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGreasedog
 
Please wait while more information about Greasedog is loaded.
Additional information about Greasedog could not be loaded.
onJune 1, 2015
Bad planning on your part. You shouldn't use it with impending rain or with concrete that's already wet. It says on the bag to blow excess off concrete to avoid staining.
+3points
6of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 9 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rust on concrete even after blowing it off AND sweeping

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlacklick, OH 43004, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Not worth it. I was so determined that I wasn't going to have rust stains on my concrete that I used a blower to blow everything off and then went over it all with a push broom. Then I used a high pressure hose to spray off the sidewalk while hoping that any fertilizer that I might have missed would be washed away before causing stains. Nope! Wrong!!! My beautiful concrete is ruined. It's like the fertilizer immediately bonded to the concrete. Again, it didn't do much good to blow off the dry concrete and then sweep it. I tried Goof Off Rust and Stain Remover that didn't do anything to the rust but left nice white spots are to highlight the rust. I will NEVER use this fertilizer again. If you want green grass without all the problems of rust stains then look into using epsom salt. Cheaper and no rust. I will use other Scotts fertilizers, just not this one.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, rust!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product when used with Precautions

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEast Orange, NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This lawn food is excellent, and will darken up a pale lawn and speed grass growth in a very few days, but should be applied carefully with a drop spreader only. If a broadcast feeder is used. one risks getting this on a non-lawn area, and rust spots will result. Beyond that, this can be used to pep up exhausted soil and a lackluster lawn, and is great for those of us who neglect that critical late fall/early winter feeding, only to witness a weak growth of grass emerge the following spring. Overall, however, a fantastic product.
ProsQuality, Effective, hyperfast working
Conslack of stain warning, lacks resealable bag
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Watch out for the rust on sidewalks

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKilleen, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This products works nice on the grass, but as the bag says it will also turn your walkways rusty if you don't clean up. Well, I cleaned up! It rained... and I have spent over $100 on products to remove the rust stains from my walkways... and I still don't have all the stains up.. The biggest problem is finding something that actually removes the stains, and so far, Outdoor super Iron out which is only sold on the internet is the only thing that I have found that works to remove the rust, problem is it still requires a lot of scrubbing and two or three applications... In my opinion, use of this product to make my grass greener just wasn't worth the extra work and cost to clean up my walks...
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy, rust stains on walks, cost time and money to clean up rust stains
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNewtown, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the product last year and my lawn exploded with green very quickly. Just bought 2 more bags and will apply next week.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It stained my driveway

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAurora, CO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Whatever benefit this product does for the grass is more than offset by the damage it does to your driveway and sidewalk.
Yes, read the directions and it will tell you that this product is terrible.
Don't use it. It's not worth it. I can't believe Scott's makes a product that is so destructive to personal property.
ProsEasy to Use, none
ConsMessy, destroys property
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byHouston1967
 
Please wait while more information about Houston1967 is loaded.
Additional information about Houston1967 could not be loaded.
onJune 28, 2015
Don't recall the instructions stating the product was terrible. This product worked great for me! Read the instructions, and swept all material off the sidewalks. No stains if you follow simple instructions!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byyardman52
 
Please wait while more information about yardman52 is loaded.
Additional information about yardman52 could not be loaded.
onMay 1, 2015
This product is great, Read the instructions it says to sweep off driveways and concrete, because it has IRON!!!
+3points
10of 17voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greener in 3 days!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, this product works as advertised. My lawn was noticeably greener after just first day and a beautiful deep green after 5 days!
ProsEasy to Use
Consany residue will stain sidewalk!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product is mint!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHollis, NH, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very fast for a nice deep greening color to your lawn.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scotts Super Pro

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorth Platte, NE 69101, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I usually try to find Scotts Super Pro fertilizer because it has a lot of nitrogen that greens the lawn up fast in the spring I think it stated on the bag 39-3-3. I could not fine any so I tried Scotts max. It worked ok but was not near as effective as the super pro in the spring to green up the lawn quickly.
ProsEasy to Use
Consnot enough nitrogen.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out Do Your Neighbors!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDelaware, OH, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using Green Max 3 years ago. LOVE IT. Even though my neighbors feed their lawns - some with TurfBuilder - my lawn outshines them with the deep green color. I don't tell them what I use. Keeping it a "secret".
The only negative is a mild staining of sidewalk. I make sure I don't get any on the walk, but since I try to apply a day before rain, I think the rain washes some onto the walk where the lawn has a slight slope. Not a big deal.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green is a very good color

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this last year at the beginning of the season and it was a great find. Within a few days I saw i big change in color and in my opinion thickness of my grass. Easy to use, no worries of spreading to thin or thick and it's going to continue this year. Don't hesitate to try it, it's good for you and your lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets You Green

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually gave my TruGreen sales person and my landscapers the boot this year. I decided to maintain my lawn this year to see how it would go...plus I needed to save money my wedding. I became interested in this product because, like all of us, I wanted a nice deep green lawn. The price was heavier than the rest of the products but I was willing to give it a shot. It has been a week and I am not disappointed. In my opinion it works just as good for my lawn vs the TruGreen product...and obviously there was no comparison on the pricing between the two. Im saving an average of $120 per month by getting rid of landscaping services and TruGreen services. Glad I made the choice to switch. The neighbor actually told me a minute ago that he loved my lawn and will consider going the TrueGreen route...boy was he surprised when I gave him the rundown! Excellent product - sweep/blow off your patios, driveways, walkways and you will be fine.
ProsQuality, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made My Lawn the Best on the Block

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCaledonia, MI 49316, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a bit skeptical about using this product, but I figured I'd give it a shot since I love a nice vibrant green lawn. Within 5 days of putting GreenMax down my lawn's color began to pop and was a fantastic shade of green that was easily the best on the block. Now I put it on my lawn every 6-8 weeks to maintain color and lawn health.
It will stain concrete, but the bag is clearly labelled and tells you to be sure and sweep it up afterwards. I swept up the product right away and never had a staining issue.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>