Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.844 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 179 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
37
122 out of 175(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will cause bad rust stains on concrete that are difficult if not impossible to remove

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied this product and didn't get all of it removed off the concrete before it rained and now have bad rust stains on concrete that previously was unstained. It's not worth having green grass if your concrete is ruined. Do not use this product. Warning on bag is too small.
ConsMessy, rust stains on concrete
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rust on concrete even after blowing it off AND sweeping

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlacklick, OH 43004, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Not worth it. I was so determined that I wasn't going to have rust stains on my concrete that I used a blower to blow everything off and then went over it all with a push broom. Then I used a high pressure hose to spray off the sidewalk while hoping that any fertilizer that I might have missed would be washed away before causing stains. Nope! Wrong!!! My beautiful concrete is ruined. It's like the fertilizer immediately bonded to the concrete. Again, it didn't do much good to blow off the dry concrete and then sweep it. I tried Goof Off Rust and Stain Remover that didn't do anything to the rust but left nice white spots are to highlight the rust. I will NEVER use this fertilizer again. If you want green grass without all the problems of rust stains then look into using epsom salt. Cheaper and no rust. I will use other Scotts fertilizers, just not this one.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, rust!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product when used with Precautions

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEast Orange, NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This lawn food is excellent, and will darken up a pale lawn and speed grass growth in a very few days, but should be applied carefully with a drop spreader only. If a broadcast feeder is used. one risks getting this on a non-lawn area, and rust spots will result. Beyond that, this can be used to pep up exhausted soil and a lackluster lawn, and is great for those of us who neglect that critical late fall/early winter feeding, only to witness a weak growth of grass emerge the following spring. Overall, however, a fantastic product.
ProsQuality, Effective, hyperfast working
Conslack of stain warning, lacks resealable bag
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Watch out for the rust on sidewalks

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKilleen, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This products works nice on the grass, but as the bag says it will also turn your walkways rusty if you don't clean up. Well, I cleaned up! It rained... and I have spent over $100 on products to remove the rust stains from my walkways... and I still don't have all the stains up.. The biggest problem is finding something that actually removes the stains, and so far, Outdoor super Iron out which is only sold on the internet is the only thing that I have found that works to remove the rust, problem is it still requires a lot of scrubbing and two or three applications... In my opinion, use of this product to make my grass greener just wasn't worth the extra work and cost to clean up my walks...
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy, rust stains on walks, cost time and money to clean up rust stains
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNewtown, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the product last year and my lawn exploded with green very quickly. Just bought 2 more bags and will apply next week.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It stained my driveway

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAurora, CO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Whatever benefit this product does for the grass is more than offset by the damage it does to your driveway and sidewalk.
Yes, read the directions and it will tell you that this product is terrible.
Don't use it. It's not worth it. I can't believe Scott's makes a product that is so destructive to personal property.
ProsEasy to Use, none
ConsMessy, destroys property
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byyardman52
 
Please wait while more information about yardman52 is loaded.
Additional information about yardman52 could not be loaded.
onMay 1, 2015
This product is great, Read the instructions it says to sweep off driveways and concrete, because it has IRON!!!
+5points
7of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greener in 3 days!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, this product works as advertised. My lawn was noticeably greener after just first day and a beautiful deep green after 5 days!
ProsEasy to Use
Consany residue will stain sidewalk!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product is mint!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHollis, NH, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very fast for a nice deep greening color to your lawn.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scotts Super Pro

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorth Platte, NE 69101, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I usually try to find Scotts Super Pro fertilizer because it has a lot of nitrogen that greens the lawn up fast in the spring I think it stated on the bag 39-3-3. I could not fine any so I tried Scotts max. It worked ok but was not near as effective as the super pro in the spring to green up the lawn quickly.
ProsEasy to Use
Consnot enough nitrogen.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out Do Your Neighbors!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDelaware, OH, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using Green Max 3 years ago. LOVE IT. Even though my neighbors feed their lawns - some with TurfBuilder - my lawn outshines them with the deep green color. I don't tell them what I use. Keeping it a "secret".
The only negative is a mild staining of sidewalk. I make sure I don't get any on the walk, but since I try to apply a day before rain, I think the rain washes some onto the walk where the lawn has a slight slope. Not a big deal.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green is a very good color

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this last year at the beginning of the season and it was a great find. Within a few days I saw i big change in color and in my opinion thickness of my grass. Easy to use, no worries of spreading to thin or thick and it's going to continue this year. Don't hesitate to try it, it's good for you and your lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets You Green

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually gave my TruGreen sales person and my landscapers the boot this year. I decided to maintain my lawn this year to see how it would go...plus I needed to save money my wedding. I became interested in this product because, like all of us, I wanted a nice deep green lawn. The price was heavier than the rest of the products but I was willing to give it a shot. It has been a week and I am not disappointed. In my opinion it works just as good for my lawn vs the TruGreen product...and obviously there was no comparison on the pricing between the two. Im saving an average of $120 per month by getting rid of landscaping services and TruGreen services. Glad I made the choice to switch. The neighbor actually told me a minute ago that he loved my lawn and will consider going the TrueGreen route...boy was he surprised when I gave him the rundown! Excellent product - sweep/blow off your patios, driveways, walkways and you will be fine.
ProsQuality, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made My Lawn the Best on the Block

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCaledonia, MI 49316, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a bit skeptical about using this product, but I figured I'd give it a shot since I love a nice vibrant green lawn. Within 5 days of putting GreenMax down my lawn's color began to pop and was a fantastic shade of green that was easily the best on the block. Now I put it on my lawn every 6-8 weeks to maintain color and lawn health.
It will stain concrete, but the bag is clearly labelled and tells you to be sure and sweep it up afterwards. I swept up the product right away and never had a staining issue.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stains concrete big time!

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCanton, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I've never had any Scotts product stain my concrete like this one has. The stains are extremely noticeable and can't be removed with just water and a scrub brush.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceApril 22, 2015
We are sorry to hear about the stains to your concrete. This product does contain iron and should be immediately brushed off hard surfaces after the application. Please contact us for information about stain removal and for assistance with our product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
fromStockton, MO
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works as it said. Grass turned out really green, easy to use. When i applied Scotts Green Max it has rained the next day to it ramped up the greening process.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

5 days later, absolutely no difference

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDallas, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Today is the 5th day after installing this product, and I've seen zero results. For the difference in price, I should have just used Turfbuilder.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceApril 1, 2015
We're sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. Soil pH should be between 5.5 - 7.5 for lawns. If it is outside this range, add lime (to raise pH) or soil sulfur (to lower pH) at least once a year in spring or fall. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily.

Also, keep in mind the physical condition of the soil in your yard. Compacted soil, or soil that is very sandy or is mostly clay will not provide an ideal growing condition for turf. Consider core aeration in combination with topdressing. Aeration is the process of poking small holes into the soil using rental power equipment. Topdressing involves applying a thin layer (no more than 1/4 inch thick) of compost or topsoil to the entire surface of the lawn. Scotts Lawn Soil applied in this fashion may greatly improve the turf's response to fertilizer.

We hope that you find this information helpful and we want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Green Up

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I applied Green Max 2 days ago. I followed the instructions on the bag and after I fertilized, I blew off my sidewalk and driveway. I watered the grass that night. Two days later, I can already see a difference in the color of my St. Augustine grass and I had NO staining problems on my sidewalk and driveway as some have stated in their reviews.
This is a great product having just nitrogen and iron for quick green up. You have a real winner in Green Max.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Results Green Lawn

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried this product and loved how well it greened up my lawn. One downfall is it will leave iron marks on sidewalks, so make sure to sweep up any that gets on concrete areas. This product was a complete success and worth a little extra money. I will be using Green Max in future applications.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consiron colorization on concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Took longer than the 3 days

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Though my grass is much greener it took about 10 days to take hold. I will use the product again but with a different expectation
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Green Max Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Green lawn

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlowood, MS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
if you want the greenest lawn in the neighborhood, this is the product you want. Seems to last about 6 weeks so you'll need another dose or two during the summer
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>