Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.648 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
9
1 Star
63
151 out of 232(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works well

PostedJanuary 30, 2016
Customer avatar
fromcolorado springs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i use it about 3 times a year on the lawns i mow and have your blade sharp you will need it , the lawn be comes deep green and grows well ,keep in mind if you get this stuff on your side walks clean it off or you will leave orange dots on the walk ways.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality
Consstaining of walk ways
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Greening

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLake Zurich, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used several times and it does provide a quick and deep green to your lawn.
ProsEasy to Use
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fast

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromWeatherford Texas
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time I used I was so pleased with the results. Quick green up. So good I recommended to my neighbor and now that's all he uses.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Consdid not have one
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greenest lawn in your neighborhood

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPuyallup, WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this Scotts Green Max for several years. Apply from June 1 to September 30 once every 5-6 weeks. Apply at a rate slightly lower than that recommended on the bag. At this rate it does not burn the lawn. Within a few days after application, your lawn will be visibly more green and within 1 week you'll have a deep green, lush lawn that will be the envy of your neighborhood.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has never failed to produce splendid results.

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromNorth Berwick, ME, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been using Scotts quality products for 40 years. The Scotts Super Green Max Lawn Food is a high quality lawn fertilizer that will produce a deeper green lawn which will make it the lawn that we always wanted to have. I have received numerous positive comments from both neighbors and strangers as well.
I started working on a golf course when I was age 10 in 1957. It was there that I was introduced to the fine products that Scott produces.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Greens lawn fast

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPalm Beach Garden, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use to use milorganite and thought it worked well. Then I tried scotts green max and seen a greener and faster difference. Have been using scotts ever since to keep lawn green.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
Customer avatar
fromNew Lenox, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works great! Turns the grass nice and green without making it grow like crazy!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does what it advertises

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSeattle, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rarely does an advertised product of any kind do what it is bragging about.
However, in the case of Green Max it does exactly what it says in the amount of time.
An example for me was this past year the grass wasn't too long so it was hard to see the spreader's tire track. Within a week it was noticeable that I didn't do a good job of overlapping.
So in the not so green strips I again spread Max and within three days those areas were as green as the others.
Thanks for this product
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only the best!

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
fromCommerce Charter Township, MI 48382, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This might be the best fertilizer I have ever used from a greening & feeding standpoint. While you have to be careful to keep the fertilizer on the lawn this product has produced the best results in my 45+ years of using fertilizers on my grass. Never had so many positive comments!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

makes all you yard dark green

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
fromlouisiana
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I know it works and added with Bonus S it improves your yard
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product has great deep greening ability

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromsalisbury, maryland usa
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
product does every thing it says, have many comments on lawn one person stopped and asked if I spray painted it still very green on 1/9/2016
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best for deep green lawn in Central Ohio

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fertilizer for deep green lawn in Central Ohio. Some cheaper products fro green lawn available but none hold the deerp green color as long as Scotts Green Max.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
frompa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
put this down as per directions and did nothing at all.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesJanuary 14, 2016
We would like to apologize for the lack of fertilizer response you experienced with our Green Max Lawn Food. This is certainly not the result we want you to expect from our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beyond Green

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromKatonah, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best fertilizer we ever used. Due to the iron in the mix, the lawn is a dark green. I also use it on my Pachysandra beds, and the yellowish Pachysandra turns green and stays green until winter.
We grow over 150 large leaved Hosta's, this turns them green and the leaves are huge.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Conshigh price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works as advertised.

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMadera, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Applied the product as directed. There's always going to be overspreading so I used a blower to put the excess back on the lawn, not sitting on the concrete. After a few days the grass was getting nice and green. No staining of the concrete, just a green lawn. Works great!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value
Conswill stain concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the results

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Used this product with noticable results in just a few days. But, my sidewalk, like many others, did get some stains. Totally my fault for not taking the time to read the label completely.
Unlike many other reviews, I take full responsiblity for the results of the sidewalk, not the manufacturer.
The good will always outweigh the bad.
Thanks for another good product Scotts
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAINS YOUR DRIVEWAY AND SIDEWALK

PostedOctober 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromCORAL SPRINGS,FL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY LAWNS COLOR DID CHANGE TO A DARKER GREEN, BUT THE FERTILIZER STAINED MY DRIVEWAY AND SIDEWALK. WAS VERY UNHAPPY WITH THAT OUTCOME
ProsEffective
Consstained
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesNovember 2, 2015
We are sorry to hear about the damage to concrete or pavers that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food will stain concrete, pavers and other hard surfaces as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. You can use Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors, or Super Iron Out to remove the stains. Please note, neither of those products are endorsed by Scotts. We always recommend testing the product in an inconspicuous area before use.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use this product. Stains concrete.

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBenton, AR, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Who has to read a bag of fertilizer? You spread it and water it and grass grows. I had no idea it would stain the brand new sidewalk in my front yard. Now I have a bigger mess than I started with. I will not use Scott's again. Please put a big warning on the bag.
ConsMessy, stains concrete, never had this happen before
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy HoneyConsumer ServicesOctober 22, 2015
We are sorry to hear about the stains on your concrete. We do include necessary warnings on the labels of our products that can be found on the back of the bag near the instructions. We appreciate your feedback regarding the labeling of the product, and I will forward your comments to our Quality Assurance team.

We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you further
http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCoolBrezee
 
Please wait while more information about CoolBrezee is loaded.
Additional information about CoolBrezee could not be loaded.
onDecember 27, 2015
With wisdom you learn to read all instructions.
Your lucky you didn't burn your grass up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAINS!

PostedOctober 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not use, stained my concrete and flagstone! Extremely dissapointed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesOctober 2, 2015
William5, we are sorry to hear about the staining to concrete and pavers that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food will stain concrete, pavers and other hard surfaces as indicated on the product label.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. We may have some helpful tips to help you with the stains. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Green MAX™ Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Deep Green Lawn - but Severly Rust Stained Concrete

PostedSeptember 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDayton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an outstanding product. After applying it, my lawn developed a lush deep green appearance and is the envy of the neighborhood. Unfortunately, my rust stained brand new sidewalk is now the eyesore of the neighborhood.
The stains are horrible, but are my fault as I did not closely read the fine print of the instructions which clearly stated that over-spray onto concrete must be swept off as soon as possible to avoid rust stains.
I highly recommend the product as it works as advertised, but I Strongly recommend that Scotts print the warning about concrete staining MORE PROMINENTLY.
My neighbors have started to use this product with good results, and have had no concrete staining because they learned from my example and brushed off the over-spray immediately after application.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Value, Quality
ConsProblem with label, did not highlight concrete staining issue
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAce2015
 
Please wait while more information about Ace2015 is loaded.
Additional information about Ace2015 could not be loaded.
onOctober 28, 2015
Concur with your statement. Leaves terrible stains and the warning label should be placed on the front of product in bold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>