Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 128 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
28
86 out of 127(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome fertilizer

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEl Paso, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept my lawn looking like an MLB field for years. I decided to try Vigoro last year to save a measly $5. Worst mistake in my lawn's history. I went back to Green Max this year and my lawn almost looks like a top notch baseball field again. There are still some parts that are recovering from that junk Vigoro makes but that's on me. I recommend this product to friends and customers and all are extremely happy with it. Keeping a great looking lawn in this El Paso, TX, summer heat is easy with Green Max.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consstains concrete if you dont sweep it up. no big.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great greening properties

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromModesto, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product did as advertized. Greened my lawn within 3-5 days.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Conswill spot concrete if not careful
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really greens up grass fast

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLakeland, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
expensive, but works really good and really fast. I put it on my lawn on a Saturday and I think it was greener by Monday.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful dark green grass!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Peters, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product delivers exactly what it advertises. It is super easy to use and when watered as directed produces a beautiful green lawn!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Particles are very fine and spreads easily. Greens up quickly.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMadison, AL
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use a broadcast spreader and one bag is enough to cover my front and back lawn.. I used Turf Builder early in the spring and then applications of Green Max in June and August. In October I will use the Scott's fall and winter fertilizer. Always
blow the granules off any surfaces like cement walkways. If left on cement it will leave stains from the iron.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Green Lawn after Drought

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCypress, TX
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use Scotts fertilizer year round, but usually don't in the late summer. This year, my lawn started to look just a little brown and appears stressed from the heat and drought conditions. I upped my watering a little and spread a light amount of Green Max. In about 3 days my lawn started to look significantly better and by 6 days, it was greener that ever and lush. Scotts is the best. I won't use anything else in my lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME PRODUCT

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product because my grass was looking dull. I applied and within 24 hours I saw a huge difference. My grass was green and lush and so beautiful. My neighbors ask me what I use all the time because it stays so green and healthy. LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!
ProsQuality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Make the neighbors jealous

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great stuff...just be sure and keep it off concrete.. it will cause rust stains..
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely helpful

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromUnion, KY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely helped green up my lawn, just be really careful to avoid getting this product on your sidewalk or driveway. It will stain.
ProsEffective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Envy of the neighborhood!!!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChattanooga, TN, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fertilizer is AWESOME! I have been using in place of buying iTunes separately. ... major cost savings. ... Long lasting dark green with time release.
Used to use cheap fertilizer. .. Had to apply twice as much. .. yard would gen up and then fade. .. repeat!
Now apply and stays dark luscious green for a long time!!!
Little science 101: All iron "RUSTS"!!!! So avoid concrete. .. blow, sweep, wash off!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, best yard in neighborhood!!!!
Consread instructions: clean up and avoid concrete. .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAshburn, VA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works great and it works fast. Just days after applying my lawn is the greenest in the neighborhood. All my neighbors are knocking at my door asking how I got such a great color to my lawn. It really makes the green pop!
Just be careful not to get it on the sidewalk.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Conscan mark concrete sidewalk if not careful
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product successfully works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOrmond Beach, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for a couple of years and have the greenest lawn in the neighborhood. During weed growing season, I mix half Scotts S and Green Max and spread it over the lawn at least 2x a year. I recommend this product to all. It may be a couple of $ more, but your lawn will love you for it.
ProsEffective
Consnon
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome results!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have followed the Scotts treatment program for about 4 years now. Right before I went on vacation, i noticied that my lawn was really stressed and dry looking, due to a recent heat wave. I typically have one of the better looking lawns in our neighborhood, and it just didn't meet my liking. It was time to feed the yard anyway, so I decided to try the Green Max. I have to say, within 2-3 days after application and normal watering, my grass was completely transformed and had that deep, blueish green coloring just like KY Bluegrass should look! I will continue to use this product for my between treatment feedings.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Green grass thanks to Green Max

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNW Michigan
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this house last fall with a yard that looked more like a hay field than anything else. We started applying Scott's turf builder last fall. This Spring we applied Turf builder again, as well as 6 weeks later. Then for summer, I was reading that the Max Green is what should be applied. It has been relatively dry here the last few weeks in NW Michigan. My neighbors lawns are all brown. We applied the MAx Green to our front yard only...we wanted to see if we could tell a difference. Needless to say, our back yard looks just like our neighbors...brown! However, our front yard is a nice green color and seems to be growing just fine. We do not water, we let mother nature do it job. Even with the dry conditions, our lawn has remained green. Although it is a little pricey, it does work!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

green max

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLeland, NC
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whaddaya do with Bermuda grass? A year after moving to NC from MA where I had one of the nicer, greener and weed free lawns in my neighborhood, my new yard is starting to get green after a single application of GreenMax. The lawn care company hasn't been able to accomplish in a year of liquid weed and feed what Scott was able to do in one application. Now I'll start with Weed-B-Gone to solve the other issues. I've always found Scott products to be more expensive than most other brands but with their products you really do get what you pay for.
ProsEffective, accomplished what i wanted it to do
Consgetting too old to do it myself
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRomulus, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this product last year for the first time and it was beyond great. I was complimented several times on how my lawn looked and asked several times as to what I was using. It turns the lawn a very desirable deep green and helps the lawn to have that full look. One neighbor complimented me on the yard and said that it looked like a carpet.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lawn looks great

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Applying this product as directed resulted in a nice lush green grass. I had a lawn service that spread fertilizer, but my lawn has never looked better. I highly recommend.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTampa, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was having a party at my
Home over the weekend and I wanted my lawn to be looking extra sharp. The weekend before the party I used Green Max for that extra push. Wow my lawn really looked sharp!!
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Greenest Grass You Will Ever Have!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This product is fantastic. The extra iron gives you an extremely dark green color that will leave your neighbors wondering what they are doing wrong. This product will not disappoint.
The attached picture is worth 1,000 words!!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very easy to use!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDenham Springs, LA.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I followed the instructions on the bag. It says you should see results in about 3 days. In reality, you should start to see results in about a week. I have used this product in the past and received great results. I highly recommend this product, as it will not burn your lawn, if you don't water right away. Be sure to sweep off of the concrete. If you fail to remove all the product from your concrete, it will leave rust stains on your driveway and sidewalk.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, goof proof
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>