Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.828 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
31
96 out of 141(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Green Max not greening.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromStockbridge, GA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I switch from Lesco over to Scotts on recommendation from Home Depot person.he said that most of his customers prefer the Scotts brand because the results were much better. My concern was that it cost a little more than the brand I was using. He assured me that it would be worth it in the end. Well I bought a Scotts spreader and the Green Max and applied according to directions. To my surprise it did not get greener, even my neighbor commented on it, so I was not to happy then, I even waited two weeks with watering and still no deep green. I'm not giving up yet though I just purchased 2 bags of the winter formula at Home Depot because you get 20 percent of when you buy 2 or more bags. Wish I didn't have to waste my money on that Green Max, I should've ask for a refund but I lost the receipt, lol. So I'll stick with the program you guys have outlined for me on the Scotts iPhone app and see what results will come.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, maybe i got a bad batch?
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did a Great Job

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBenton Harbor, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I started the season with the Turf Builder + Halts, then Grub-Ex when the temps were 55-60. Then I decided to try Green Max after about 6-8 weeks after the Turf builder. The Max did green up the lawn after 3-4 days with little watering, and now after another 7 weeks, Green Max again, with the only problem being some clover in the lawn. You will be cutting every 3-5 days, but a deep green. Remember to sweep or blow off walk and driveway. I carry Weed B Gone on my tractor for the clover/weeds, and spray as I cut. Next season I'll incorporate a bug killer, because I've seen some moths as I cut.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely try this!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Royalton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After alternating back and forth between generic and Scott's fertilizers over the years, looking for a quality fertilizer at a reasonable price, I happened upon Scott's Green Max. I bought a few bags and put them in the garage for use at a later date. Recently used them for the first time, and what a noticeable difference it made.
My lawn is the best it's been in years. As the package states, make sure you sweep the concrete surfaces to avoid the stains from the iron particles. I don't think you 'll be disappointed. Great product!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consrequires clean up off concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked GREAT!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSalina, Kansas
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The GreenMax worked great. It greened my lawn up in just a few days and lasted approx. 7 weeks. I had to mow 2 times a week. I will use it again..Just be careful to sweep it off the concrete before it gets wet or it will leave an iron stain.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consleaves iron spots on concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LAWN MAGIC

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFresno, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ever since I Started using this Max Green my yard has transformed into the talk of the neighborhood. I recommended Max Green to all my neighbors and I know soon it will be the greenest part of town. Thanks Scotts!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consnone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy Green Max!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
A picture is worth a thousand words!
You are looking across my yard to my neighbors. Yes, I water and feed my yard. My immediate neighbor does not water nor feed his yard. The next neighbor down runs a yard service and does water and feed his yard, but I don't think he uses Scotts products.
You make the assessment... I think you'll agree with me that Scotts Green Max is worth the price!
Note: This year I used Green Max in late June and late August.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GreenMax does a great job!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPooler, GA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
We have been trying to get our grass just right for a long time. We spent a few minutes with a Scotts manager at our local Home Depot and learned the sequence to follow with Halts, Bonus-S and GreenMax. Our lawn has never looked better.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked as said

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried this and within 3 days I had green grass again . Does what it says and would recommend to anyone
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GreenMax

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHoliday, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I love using the GreenMax every other month on my Floratam grass. It usually takes about 4 days before I start to see the new green growth of my lawn. Other months I use Bonus S and in the summer I use Turf Builder with Summer control. I suggest you give it a try.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick green-up

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGranville, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Greens and thickens grass. Good product!! Be sure to read label to avoid staining.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greener grass with less watering.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLititz, PA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I water my lawn regularly, my Midnight Kentucky Bluegrass started to show signs of stress (browning) during July and August. Within 7 days of applying Scotts GreenMax Lawn Food, nearly all signs of stress disappeared, and my lawn was restored to its normal, dark green appearance. Since applying this product, I have been able to maintain a lush green lawn, with less watering.
Some reviewers have complained about rust stains appearing on concrete after using this product. The product label clearly warns of this possibility, and users should heed the warning. Any product that finds its way onto concrete must be carefully swept or blown into the grass before watering; otherwise, rust streaks will appear and remain on concrete for an extended period of time.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Conswill stain concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArlington, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't know how anybody could give this product any less than the 5 star in which it deserves!
It absolutely works as advertised. The only reason I would see anybody giving it any lower a rating would be because of it staining their concrete...and if a person read everything thoroughly, they'd only have themself to blame because the bag specifically says to blow or sweep off any excess on sidewalks, driveways, etc. that are made of concrete because the iron in it will stain.
I've used this stuff several times a year for years and it is HANDS DOWN the best there is for greening up my St Augustine and making it grow at a fast pace! (PERIOD/DOT) :)
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Conswill stain if you do not follow directions!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work for my lawn

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCooper City, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
waste of money.didn't work on my lawn.I even checked all make up of my soil everything checked out as should be.I always and only use scotts products with success.however scotts max green was a failure.
ConsDidn't work as expected, even the ph and everything checked out.still fail
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesAugust 28, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product. If you want to have your concrete turn orange, then use this product.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMichigan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never have I been so disappointed in a product made by Scott's as I am with Scott's Green Max. We live in a lovely golf course community where we all keep our yards in exceptional condition. Our new concrete now has orange streaks down the entire length of the driveway and sidewalk. This sure does set us apart from the other homeowners. I feel there should have been a warning on both the front and back of the package in larger print. As a loyal customer, what can you do for us now?
ConsMessy, Problem with label, turns concrete orange.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesAugust 28, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining to your sidewalk and driveway that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greening master

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Collins, CO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in an area with a high alkaline PH, with Green Max applied every 8 weeks my lawn is the greenest in the neighborhood.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consnot in snap pac
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGraham, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
the grass seemed to be a little greener on the 2nd day then the color went back to the way it was and didn't improve
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Consstains any hard surface
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesAugust 27, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the results you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for summer feeding and green up

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSalt Lake City, UT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to use this product in early summer to help with the stress of the summer heat with out add a lot of growth. It greens up my lawn quickly and last for several weeks
ProsEffective
Consmake sure to get it off the concrete or it will
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome fertilizer

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEl Paso, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept my lawn looking like an MLB field for years. I decided to try Vigoro last year to save a measly $5. Worst mistake in my lawn's history. I went back to Green Max this year and my lawn almost looks like a top notch baseball field again. There are still some parts that are recovering from that junk Vigoro makes but that's on me. I recommend this product to friends and customers and all are extremely happy with it. Keeping a great looking lawn in this El Paso, TX, summer heat is easy with Green Max.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consstains concrete if you dont sweep it up. no big.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great greening properties

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromModesto, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product did as advertized. Greened my lawn within 3-5 days.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Conswill spot concrete if not careful
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really greens up grass fast

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLakeland, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
expensive, but works really good and really fast. I put it on my lawn on a Saturday and I think it was greener by Monday.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>