Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.866 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
32
107 out of 153(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Took longer than the 3 days

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLouisville, KY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Though my grass is much greener it took about 10 days to take hold. I will use the product again but with a different expectation
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Green lawn

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlowood, MS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
if you want the greenest lawn in the neighborhood, this is the product you want. Seems to last about 6 weeks so you'll need another dose or two during the summer
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greenest lawn ever!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Palm Beach, Florida
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an excellent product! I've used Scott's products for 40 yrs! I live in South Florida and this product does great on my southern grasses! Keeps my lawn very green and thick! I never need a weed control because my lawn is always thick and never allows weeds to creep in! My lawn is always greener than my neighbors! I feed every 6 to 8 weeks with the proper watering,mowing and insect control! I fully recommend this product for people who really care about their lawn and the compliments from their neighbors!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, excellent results!
Conssweeping off sidewalks after
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE AND GREEN

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLoxahatchee, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice product with lots of iron. Be sure to quickly sweep/blow product off surfaces you don't want rust forming before water touches it. My yard is noticeably much greener even with way too much flooding rains after application.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use in spring to get max green with boust from the iron.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Johns, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Use in spring to get maximum greening from the iron. Use on zoysia and get good greening.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Conslumps from vendor storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product can be used anytime

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just recently I had some plumbing work done on my front lawn which left a vacant area during late summer. I wanted to restore my lawn to its original beauty so I purchased Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. With fall just around the corner I knew that Scotts Green Max could be used anytime during the summer or fall to help my lawn grow greener and thicker. Scotts Green Max helped to protect my lawn during summer and make it greener for the fall. Its so easy to use, just lightly water in.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green Max

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCharleston WV
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for the last 2 years now and I have a very green lawn compared to other lawns in the neighborhood.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best for Tall Fescue

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLynwood, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is the best stuff for tall fescue grass. Excellent results.
Scotts needs to provide more coverage for the price you pay per bag. Very disappointed with them in their amounts. Price increases and amounts continue to decrease.
ProsEffective
Conssee review
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts please remove from the store shelves before all concrete sidewalks around town are stains. The worse product of all times.

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBellmore NY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never have I been so very disappointed in a product made by Scott's as I am with Scott's Green Max. We just had new concrete sidewalks installed 3 weeks ago. I apply this product just before it rained and i did not get a chance to sweep in time before the rain started. Our new concrete now has orange streaks down the entire length of the sidewalk. This is unbelievable!!! I will never never use a Scotts product again. The warning label on the back should have been much larger or maybe placed on the front it large letters. I had to purchase 2 gallons of Mercuric acid to remove the stains (a full day of work) its looks much better but not the way it looked 3 weeks ago. This product should be removed from the shelves!!!!! Scotts i'm done with you.
Prosno pro here.
Consstains concrete big time!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesSeptember 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green Green

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSterling Heights, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This product brought the grass to a deep rich green in a matter of a few days. Then again, timing is everything. We go a nice rain shower the day after I applied it. The grass looks the best it has since it waas brand new.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consstains unless it is completely removed
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTega Cay, SC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It simply works as advertised! I applied it to my fescue lawn during the summer and it turned a lot greener after a couple of days. Big change right away!
Just be careful with making sure you blow your driveway carefully to make sure nothing is left on it before watering. Just like the instructions state it will stain your driveway.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works like it says!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIdaho, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product did just what it said. It made the grass that was previously dull and dry a very nice green. Note: This product will not bring dead grass areas back. At least that is my experience. But it did transform the grass we had into a nice solid green color. Follow instructions and it should work like a charm. KEY: FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Green Max not greening.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromStockbridge, GA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I switch from Lesco over to Scotts on recommendation from Home Depot person.he said that most of his customers prefer the Scotts brand because the results were much better. My concern was that it cost a little more than the brand I was using. He assured me that it would be worth it in the end. Well I bought a Scotts spreader and the Green Max and applied according to directions. To my surprise it did not get greener, even my neighbor commented on it, so I was not to happy then, I even waited two weeks with watering and still no deep green. I'm not giving up yet though I just purchased 2 bags of the winter formula at Home Depot because you get 20 percent of when you buy 2 or more bags. Wish I didn't have to waste my money on that Green Max, I should've ask for a refund but I lost the receipt, lol. So I'll stick with the program you guys have outlined for me on the Scotts iPhone app and see what results will come.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, maybe i got a bad batch?
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did a Great Job

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBenton Harbor, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I started the season with the Turf Builder + Halts, then Grub-Ex when the temps were 55-60. Then I decided to try Green Max after about 6-8 weeks after the Turf builder. The Max did green up the lawn after 3-4 days with little watering, and now after another 7 weeks, Green Max again, with the only problem being some clover in the lawn. You will be cutting every 3-5 days, but a deep green. Remember to sweep or blow off walk and driveway. I carry Weed B Gone on my tractor for the clover/weeds, and spray as I cut. Next season I'll incorporate a bug killer, because I've seen some moths as I cut.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely try this!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Royalton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After alternating back and forth between generic and Scott's fertilizers over the years, looking for a quality fertilizer at a reasonable price, I happened upon Scott's Green Max. I bought a few bags and put them in the garage for use at a later date. Recently used them for the first time, and what a noticeable difference it made.
My lawn is the best it's been in years. As the package states, make sure you sweep the concrete surfaces to avoid the stains from the iron particles. I don't think you 'll be disappointed. Great product!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consrequires clean up off concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked GREAT!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSalina, Kansas
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The GreenMax worked great. It greened my lawn up in just a few days and lasted approx. 7 weeks. I had to mow 2 times a week. I will use it again..Just be careful to sweep it off the concrete before it gets wet or it will leave an iron stain.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consleaves iron spots on concrete
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LAWN MAGIC

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFresno, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ever since I Started using this Max Green my yard has transformed into the talk of the neighborhood. I recommended Max Green to all my neighbors and I know soon it will be the greenest part of town. Thanks Scotts!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consnone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy Green Max!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
A picture is worth a thousand words!
You are looking across my yard to my neighbors. Yes, I water and feed my yard. My immediate neighbor does not water nor feed his yard. The next neighbor down runs a yard service and does water and feed his yard, but I don't think he uses Scotts products.
You make the assessment... I think you'll agree with me that Scotts Green Max is worth the price!
Note: This year I used Green Max in late June and late August.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GreenMax does a great job!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPooler, GA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
We have been trying to get our grass just right for a long time. We spent a few minutes with a Scotts manager at our local Home Depot and learned the sequence to follow with Halts, Bonus-S and GreenMax. Our lawn has never looked better.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked as said

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried this and within 3 days I had green grass again . Does what it says and would recommend to anyone
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>