Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.531 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
26
56 out of 95(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing gets my yard greener, but be sure to remove excess from cement

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorence, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product works well, but be sure to use a blower after use to remove excess fertilizer pellets from your walkways and/or driveways. Pellets, once wet, will stain cement due to the iron in the fertilizer.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts Green Max Lawn Food

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEAST MEADOW, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Grass was green, but my NEW driveway and walkway are now stained. It looks like a bucket of rust was tossed about. I'm very upset.
Consstains all driveways walkways.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Singerman Laboratories Concrete Rust Remover (only available on-line at The Rust Store)
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a mess! Do not purchase!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used Scott's products religiously for the past 3 years. I love the way my lawn looks. This product is horrible. I followed the recommend instructions for the application of this product. I did my normal routine of both using my leaf blower and sweeping all of my concrete where this product landed by accident. I kicked back and relaxed for the evening. We received a pretty good rainstorm and when I walked out on my back patio (that is brand new) there was rust stains everywhere (see picture below) all of my sidewalks looked the same way. I am not sure if the wind might have blown some over or what, but this should not happen. Scott's, most people that utilize this product have concrete driveways and sidewalks. This is rediculous. I spent the next day (over 8 hours) pressure washing and applying rust remover product (unrust) that cost me over $350 in materials and I still can't get it off of my brand new patio.
Prosnone
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, the iron content ruins your concrete!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the damage to concrete or pavers that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Singerman Laboratories Concrete Rust Remover (only available on-line at The Rust Store)
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymhill493
 
Please wait while more information about mhill493 is loaded.
Additional information about mhill493 could not be loaded.
onJuly 16, 2014
I even uploaded a picture with my review to show the damage, but I guess Scott's didn't want to share it with the review.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never buy again

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGreenville, SC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was really hopeful when I purchased this product. I read the reviews and was ready for careful application. However, the product clumped in the drop spreader, unable to be lied down. We then had to use a handheld spreader by Scotts, which didn’t work much better. GreenMax ended up burning parts of my yard, and never made anything look greener. I would not buy again and I still have some fertilizer stuck in my drop spreader!
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, uable to spread, burned my yard
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 16, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. While Scotts makes every effort to package products in such a way that they will not absorb water, occasionally, some water will get in. We recommend that you do not attempt to apply a wet product. Instead, dispose of it according to package directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THE WORSE...I DIDN'T HEED THE WARNING AND PAID THE PRICE!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product as a deal along with the weed control/crabgrass preventer (which is an excellent product and worked wonders by the way). About 2months after putting down the weed control/crabgrass preventer, I put down the GreenMax Lawn Food to get my grass from that light green to full green color. My neighbor warned me that this product might not be that good, but I put it down anyway. My grass turned colors in 3days, but not green. I don't know if it killed my grass (fescue/rye mix) but it did turn portions of my grass a brownish orange color, with a little green here and there. Me and my neighbors yard used to be the same rich green color, not compared to his it looks like my yard has been scorched. My advice would be to stay away from this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf.

Please be aware that issues such as lawn disease or insects feeding are often mistaken for product damage .The symptoms you have described could also be related to lawn rust. If the color comes off the grass and onto you shoes while you walk in the lawn your grass could be affected by this disease. You may want to take a sample of the damaged area to a reputable nursery to rule these out.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very doubtful!

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNantucket
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied Green Max per instructions & made sure it was watered in. So far, I see no improvement in the color of my lawn. My lawn is 8000 sq ft & I put down 2 of the 4 bags I purchased hoping to use the other 2 bags in about 6 weeks.
Now I'm not sure if I will!!
ConsDidn't work as expected, no change in color of grass
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 18, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time.

If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. Soil pH should be between 5.5 - 7.5 for lawns. If it is outside this range, add lime (to raise pH) or soil sulfur (to lower pH) at least once a year in spring or fall. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily.

Also, keep in mind the physical condition of the soil in your yard. Compacted soil, or soil that is very sandy or is mostly clay will not provide an ideal growing condition for turf. Consider core aeration in combination with topdressing. Aeration is the process of poking small holes into the soil using rental power equipment. Topdressing involves applying a thin layer (no more than 1/4 inch thick) of compost or topsoil to the entire surface of the lawn. Scotts Lawn Soil applied in this fashion may greatly improve the turf's response to fertilizer.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greens up my lawn the best!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrove City, OH, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had great results from this product spring 2014 in central Ohio. I'm going to treat again today, approx 7 weeks after initial treatment. A recommendation if using this product is to ensure an even spread or else you will end up with "camo lawn." It definitely greened and thickened my grass, despite the terrible soil conditions left by the builder of our home. Make sure to sweep up any that spills onto the sidewalks and driveways, as per the instructions. I did not get any staining like some of the reviewers. Thanks for the great product. Also a helpful tip. My local Home Depot had the Scott's snap pack spreader on sale for $10 and any two snap packs for 20% off. I used the weed and feed in early spring and wished they had green max in the snap packs, but did not. I simply cut the top of the snap pack off with a box cutter and refilled with a bag of green max. This worked very well and anyone with the snap pack can simply save an empty package and fill it up with the green max.
ProsQuality, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined my cement

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used fertilizers for years w/o a problem. Picked this one up on a whim. I couldn't figure out why my cement was orange. It never occurred to me it was the fertilizer. Then I used it again and it turned slightly orange to completely orange. That's when I figured out this product damaged my cement. I've used goof off to get some of it off, but can't get it completely out. Also used something that damaged my cement. Would love to get a refund, can't believe this product is on retail shelves. Stay away!!
Prosrust, horrible
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining to your concrete that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Signature Concrete Rust Remover
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it worked and I avoided staining, mostly

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTexas
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a first time homeowner and have lived in my new home for a year. My lawn has had yellow patches of grass slowly spreading since end of last summer. I applied a fertilizer in early April this year, but it only made the green spots greener and the yellow spots appeared more yellow.
I applied this product a week ago, and after some rain the yellow spots have improved significantly, and the lawn as a whole appears thicker and healthier.
I read several articles online on how to apply fertilizer correctly and evenly. In the applying the product I set my $20 scott drop spreader's right guard to ON, and the spread rate to half the recommended setting. I went over the perimeter in counter clockwise direction twice, which prevented the granules from falling onto the side-walks. Then I made my laps once vertically and then once more horizontally, stopping as soon as I reach the perimeter.
My only staining problem was the corner of the narrow strip of lawn between the sidewalk and street, where it meets my driveway, as the area was too small to make counter clockwise laps with the spreader. Of course, I could have spread that area by hand now that I think about it.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Staining Can Be Avoided

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrantville, PA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I also encountered staining the first time I used this product last year. A container of Super Iron Out cleaned up the rust stains (mix solution; spray to saturate; agitate with brush; power wash off residue). The product label suggests sweeping away the granules which will not work. I used my leaf blower on low setting to move the granules into the lawn AND followed up with a spray from my garden hose to catch any loose granules, again spraying in a sweeping motion to move the granules into the lawn. I then hand-watered the entire lawn with a light spray. Perfect! No staining this time and the lawn looks fabulously green. Don't be dissuaded by the negative reviews about using this product. The label clearly and distinctly (red letters on a yellow background) states the staining issue. Pay attention, put a little effort into the process, and make yourself proud (and your neighbors jealous) of your lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consdon't sweep - use a leaf blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stained my driveway badly.

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTrinity, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not recommend this product. The potion of the product that landed on my driveway, stained it permanently. I had to pay a professional cleaner to come out to my house because no matter what I tried I couldn't get it out. Unfortunately, the professional cleaner was also unsuccessful, so now I have a stained driveway and brick pavers. I will never buy this product again. Stick with the turf builder in the summer and the bonus S when temperatures are cooler.
Prosnone
Consstains driveway permanently
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

Signature Concrete Rust Remover
Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
Super Iron Out Outdoor
We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChicago area
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I applied Max for the first time about a month and a half ago. My lawn has never looked so good. Aside from good growth and thicker grass it is greener than ever. My neighbors are asking me what happened to my lawn (because it looks so good). I live in Chicago area & have a mix of blue, rye & fescue grass. Am so happy I found this product! Keep making it Scotts!!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green MAX is best for Alkaline Soils

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tucson, Arizona is famous for alkaline soils that inhibit iron absorption resulting in yellowy, chlorotic looking grass & plants. I've tried enormous amounts of supplemental iron and nitrogen products, but my lawn continued to decline.
The 1st application of Green Max resulted in immediate improvement. Subsequent applications produced results beyond expectations. Great formulation that promotes iron absorption!!
ProsValue, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMcKinney, TX, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very disappointed in this produce. I did not see any results. I have always used Scott's products in the past so I was excited to try this product. 3 days came and went and didn't see anything. Its now been 10 days and still nothing. I would recommend saving your money and just using the Scott's turf builder.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 6, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time.

If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. Soil pH should be between 5.5 - 7.5 for lawns. If it is outside this range, add lime (to raise pH) or soil sulfur (to lower pH) at least once a year in spring or fall. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily.

Also, keep in mind the physical condition of the soil in your yard. Compacted soil, or soil that is very sandy or is mostly clay will not provide an ideal growing condition for turf. Consider core aeration in combination with topdressing. Aeration is the process of poking small holes into the soil using rental power equipment. Topdressing involves applying a thin layer (no more than 1/4 inch thick) of compost or topsoil to the entire surface of the lawn. Scotts Lawn Soil applied in this fashion may greatly improve the turf's response to fertilizer.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byarch222
 
Please wait while more information about arch222 is loaded.
Additional information about arch222 could not be loaded.
onMay 25, 2014
i agree with the soil sample incorrect soil ph can render fertilizers ineffective. your local extension cooperative will usually provide soil tests
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Golden Orange Stains on Surrounding Concrete from Green Max

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromViera, FL 32955
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I purchased this Green Max Fertilizer in the hopes of helping my lawn; however, it ruined my concrete. I applied it before it rained so that it would soak in. The bag instructions only states "sweeping product from hard surfaces onto the lawn keeps product on the grass and prevents staining." When I went outside today, I was totally surprised (and not in a good way) as my sidewalk and driveway turned a horrible golden orange. How does sweeping this fertilizer onto the lawn help taking into consideration that rain runs from a lawn onto the sidewalk. Scotts really needs to put a bigger statement of CAUTION on its bag. When people fertilize their lawns, they definitely do not expect the fertilizer to ruin everything else surrounding the lawn. I will never again use Scotts.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Problem with label, horrible concrete staining after use
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRamesh
 
Please wait while more information about Ramesh is loaded.
Additional information about Ramesh could not be loaded.
onMay 13, 2014
Hello - I would second your note. It is lousy and it stained my entire pavement. Its such a shame that this product is even being sold in the market without the warning sign. Please don't use this product. I will also update my reviews on Amazon to let the customers know to stay away from it.
-5points
0of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I was skeptical but I am glad I tried!!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From reading the previous reviews I thought the product wouldn't work. I was afraid my yard would burn and not turn green. I was soooo wrong! My yard is thick and has a beautiful dark green color. I am happy with the results. I will say you need to water your yard....
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beware of Orange Concrete Stains

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEdmond, OK, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased two other types of Scott's fertilizer within a week of this purchase and hadn't had any problems. In fact the lawn had become greener within 3 to 4 days. As a result I was definitely looking forward to an even greener lawn with the Green Max Lawn food. It didn't disappoint. I got great results from the Green Max after a couple of days. However, after four days that included one day of rain on the third day, I was shocked to see bad orange stains on the concrete. I immediately searched on the Internet for orange stains resulting from Green Max. It appeared to be quite a common issue among Green Max customers. Thankfully after some searching, I was able to find a product that could remove the stains. I tested a small portion of unsightly concrete and was happy to see that it reduced the harsh orange of the stain. Unfortunately the product is not cheap and it takes a good deal of time and work to remove the stain. I estimate that it will take me around 6 to 7 hours this weekend to remove the majority of the orange stain from the concrete. I am not happy about this but what makes me more upset is that there seems to be no warning on the Green Max product page and no clear indication on the Green Max bag of potential stain problems. I'm sure this potential problem is common knowledge among those that have experience with fertilizer, but this was an unwelcome surprise to someone that doesn't. I would avoid this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected, orange stains on concrete
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesApril 28, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining to your concrete that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. Scotts makes every effort to test products thoroughly and include correct application information and precautions on every label. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesApril 28, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining to your concrete that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. Scotts makes every effort to test products thoroughly and include correct application information and precautions on every label. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Humidity will cause rust stains

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought the product even after reading all of the reviews (pro and con). I understood that I would have to be extremely careful with this product or else it could stain my product. So I was! I used my Scotts spreader with edge guard to keep any excess product off the concrete and blew it off with my blower within five minutes. Even after such a short amount of time, the humidity caused the product to begin causing rust stains on my driveway and sidewalk.
The results that are promised on the package (Deep green in 3 days) is a stretch too. It has caused a little bit of green grass to sprout up in places where the grass hadn't yet started sprouting, but it's a far cry from "Deep green in 3 days."
Prosit does seem to help green the grass. slowly tough
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, doesn't work well in humid conditions
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS :)

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in zone 9, following directions and staying away from the side walk I sprinkled by hand and I have the most beautiful lawn in the neighborhood. This is now March and I used the lawn food in early December. In addition, I have great success using Scott's Ryegrass mix, mixed with a bare spot mix and then a starter.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY - Leaves RUST Stains - Worst Product Ever

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSimi Valley, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I should have read earlier reviews. Any granules left unswept on the driveway or walks will leave horrible RUST stains. The only thing that will take them out is a special concrete-rust removal powder that can only be found on the internet. By the time I'm done, I'll have wasted over $50 (if I don't run out) and a weekend scrubbing all of the rust away. Yes, it did make the grass a nice shade of green, but the time and effort to remove the stains negates all of that. This was one of my worst purchases ever.
Prosabsolutely none
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, rust stains
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the condition of your driveway and walks. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The more quickly the stain removal process is begun the better the chance of removing the stain. Make sure to use a product that is specific to rust, is safe for your specific driveway surface and to test a small spot before treating the entire area.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>