Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food

Fertilizer plus iron for extreme greening - guaranteed.
Overall rating:
3.55 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
27
59 out of 99(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromcarrollton ,texas
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using Scott's products for the last five years. Living in Texas with the heat I thought I try this product since never had issues with turfbuilder. Yard never really got green and yard seems to be worst after using this product. Guess I learned my lesson and stick with the turfbuilder. Waste of money and my time.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceAugust 1, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you didn't get the results that you expected. We expect Scotts GreenMax Lawn Food to provide a deep green to your lawn. Grass that is in summer dormancy may not respond well to fertilizers. Apply when temperatures are between 65 and 85 degrees to get the best results.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best choice I have ever made!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMadison, AL
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never post reviews but I felt I needed to for this product. For a few years I have used a local lawn care company and always felt like my yard wasn't where it needed to be. They always said the same thing to me that I need to aerate and water no matter what the problem was. Well, I did and still do that each year and no change, and in fact it was getting worse. So I decided to cancel their services altogether and start doing this myself. I read about Scotts and this product in particular and decided to give it a shot. Well, as described, this turn my lawn into a deep, rich, and healthy green lawn in only a short time. I can't believe how much better my lawn looks! I am completely sold on their products and will use Scotts for a long time. I also bought the drop spreader which allowed me to not worry about the product staining my concrete. The packaging clearly states it will stain so I or anybody else cannot complain about this happening. Thanks Scotts for a great product and I will continue to use your product.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Yard in Neighborhood 2 year in a row

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBlacksburg, VA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is always a pleasure when the Yard Service Companies knock on the door and ask who is taking care of my yard, because their customers want their yards to look like mine!
The secret is GREEN Max. Best product I have ever used and will never go with out. I put it down in June and again in August.
As far a rust goes, Blow it off the concrete walks, drive way, and patio as you go. I read the instructions on the bag and it clearly advices that for every fertilizer. An Oz. of protection is worth a Lb of cure!!!!!
ProsEasy to Use, jealous neighbors
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just as advertised.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDublin, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have read many of the one star reviews of this product on this site and I can see one common theme from them all.. User error... If you aren't smart enough to read and follow simple instructions on a bag of fertilizer, than maybe you shouldn't be allowed to purchase it. I have used Max Green several times over the last few seasons and have never stained my sidewalks or burned my yard.. If you take the time to properly remove all the granules from the concrete surfaces, eg leaf blower or a broom, you won't have stained sidewalks.. You also need to not put the product too close to those surfaces to avoid runoff from rain.. It's not that hard people.. A big thanks to Scott's for making a great product, that works every time when you use it properly..
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing gets my yard greener, but be sure to remove excess from cement

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorence, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product works well, but be sure to use a blower after use to remove excess fertilizer pellets from your walkways and/or driveways. Pellets, once wet, will stain cement due to the iron in the fertilizer.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts Green Max Lawn Food

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEAST MEADOW, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Grass was green, but my NEW driveway and walkway are now stained. It looks like a bucket of rust was tossed about. I'm very upset.
Consstains all driveways walkways.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Singerman Laboratories Concrete Rust Remover (only available on-line at The Rust Store)
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a mess! Do not purchase!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used Scott's products religiously for the past 3 years. I love the way my lawn looks. This product is horrible. I followed the recommend instructions for the application of this product. I did my normal routine of both using my leaf blower and sweeping all of my concrete where this product landed by accident. I kicked back and relaxed for the evening. We received a pretty good rainstorm and when I walked out on my back patio (that is brand new) there was rust stains everywhere (see picture below) all of my sidewalks looked the same way. I am not sure if the wind might have blown some over or what, but this should not happen. Scott's, most people that utilize this product have concrete driveways and sidewalks. This is rediculous. I spent the next day (over 8 hours) pressure washing and applying rust remover product (unrust) that cost me over $350 in materials and I still can't get it off of my brand new patio.
Prosnone
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, the iron content ruins your concrete!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the damage to concrete or pavers that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Singerman Laboratories Concrete Rust Remover (only available on-line at The Rust Store)
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymhill493
 
Please wait while more information about mhill493 is loaded.
Additional information about mhill493 could not be loaded.
onJuly 16, 2014
I even uploaded a picture with my review to show the damage, but I guess Scott's didn't want to share it with the review.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never buy again

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGreenville, SC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was really hopeful when I purchased this product. I read the reviews and was ready for careful application. However, the product clumped in the drop spreader, unable to be lied down. We then had to use a handheld spreader by Scotts, which didn’t work much better. GreenMax ended up burning parts of my yard, and never made anything look greener. I would not buy again and I still have some fertilizer stuck in my drop spreader!
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, uable to spread, burned my yard
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 16, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. While Scotts makes every effort to package products in such a way that they will not absorb water, occasionally, some water will get in. We recommend that you do not attempt to apply a wet product. Instead, dispose of it according to package directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THE WORSE...I DIDN'T HEED THE WARNING AND PAID THE PRICE!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product as a deal along with the weed control/crabgrass preventer (which is an excellent product and worked wonders by the way). About 2months after putting down the weed control/crabgrass preventer, I put down the GreenMax Lawn Food to get my grass from that light green to full green color. My neighbor warned me that this product might not be that good, but I put it down anyway. My grass turned colors in 3days, but not green. I don't know if it killed my grass (fescue/rye mix) but it did turn portions of my grass a brownish orange color, with a little green here and there. Me and my neighbors yard used to be the same rich green color, not compared to his it looks like my yard has been scorched. My advice would be to stay away from this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf.

Please be aware that issues such as lawn disease or insects feeding are often mistaken for product damage .The symptoms you have described could also be related to lawn rust. If the color comes off the grass and onto you shoes while you walk in the lawn your grass could be affected by this disease. You may want to take a sample of the damaged area to a reputable nursery to rule these out.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very doubtful!

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNantucket
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied Green Max per instructions & made sure it was watered in. So far, I see no improvement in the color of my lawn. My lawn is 8000 sq ft & I put down 2 of the 4 bags I purchased hoping to use the other 2 bags in about 6 weeks.
Now I'm not sure if I will!!
ConsDidn't work as expected, no change in color of grass
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 18, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time.

If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. Soil pH should be between 5.5 - 7.5 for lawns. If it is outside this range, add lime (to raise pH) or soil sulfur (to lower pH) at least once a year in spring or fall. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily.

Also, keep in mind the physical condition of the soil in your yard. Compacted soil, or soil that is very sandy or is mostly clay will not provide an ideal growing condition for turf. Consider core aeration in combination with topdressing. Aeration is the process of poking small holes into the soil using rental power equipment. Topdressing involves applying a thin layer (no more than 1/4 inch thick) of compost or topsoil to the entire surface of the lawn. Scotts Lawn Soil applied in this fashion may greatly improve the turf's response to fertilizer.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greens up my lawn the best!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrove City, OH, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had great results from this product spring 2014 in central Ohio. I'm going to treat again today, approx 7 weeks after initial treatment. A recommendation if using this product is to ensure an even spread or else you will end up with "camo lawn." It definitely greened and thickened my grass, despite the terrible soil conditions left by the builder of our home. Make sure to sweep up any that spills onto the sidewalks and driveways, as per the instructions. I did not get any staining like some of the reviewers. Thanks for the great product. Also a helpful tip. My local Home Depot had the Scott's snap pack spreader on sale for $10 and any two snap packs for 20% off. I used the weed and feed in early spring and wished they had green max in the snap packs, but did not. I simply cut the top of the snap pack off with a box cutter and refilled with a bag of green max. This worked very well and anyone with the snap pack can simply save an empty package and fill it up with the green max.
ProsQuality, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined my cement

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used fertilizers for years w/o a problem. Picked this one up on a whim. I couldn't figure out why my cement was orange. It never occurred to me it was the fertilizer. Then I used it again and it turned slightly orange to completely orange. That's when I figured out this product damaged my cement. I've used goof off to get some of it off, but can't get it completely out. Also used something that damaged my cement. Would love to get a refund, can't believe this product is on retail shelves. Stay away!!
Prosrust, horrible
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining to your concrete that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

-Signature Concrete Rust Remover
-Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
-Super Iron Out Outdoor

We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it worked and I avoided staining, mostly

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTexas
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a first time homeowner and have lived in my new home for a year. My lawn has had yellow patches of grass slowly spreading since end of last summer. I applied a fertilizer in early April this year, but it only made the green spots greener and the yellow spots appeared more yellow.
I applied this product a week ago, and after some rain the yellow spots have improved significantly, and the lawn as a whole appears thicker and healthier.
I read several articles online on how to apply fertilizer correctly and evenly. In the applying the product I set my $20 scott drop spreader's right guard to ON, and the spread rate to half the recommended setting. I went over the perimeter in counter clockwise direction twice, which prevented the granules from falling onto the side-walks. Then I made my laps once vertically and then once more horizontally, stopping as soon as I reach the perimeter.
My only staining problem was the corner of the narrow strip of lawn between the sidewalk and street, where it meets my driveway, as the area was too small to make counter clockwise laps with the spreader. Of course, I could have spread that area by hand now that I think about it.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Staining Can Be Avoided

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrantville, PA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I also encountered staining the first time I used this product last year. A container of Super Iron Out cleaned up the rust stains (mix solution; spray to saturate; agitate with brush; power wash off residue). The product label suggests sweeping away the granules which will not work. I used my leaf blower on low setting to move the granules into the lawn AND followed up with a spray from my garden hose to catch any loose granules, again spraying in a sweeping motion to move the granules into the lawn. I then hand-watered the entire lawn with a light spray. Perfect! No staining this time and the lawn looks fabulously green. Don't be dissuaded by the negative reviews about using this product. The label clearly and distinctly (red letters on a yellow background) states the staining issue. Pay attention, put a little effort into the process, and make yourself proud (and your neighbors jealous) of your lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consdon't sweep - use a leaf blower.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stained my driveway badly.

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTrinity, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not recommend this product. The potion of the product that landed on my driveway, stained it permanently. I had to pay a professional cleaner to come out to my house because no matter what I tried I couldn't get it out. Unfortunately, the professional cleaner was also unsuccessful, so now I have a stained driveway and brick pavers. I will never buy this product again. Stick with the turf builder in the summer and the bonus S when temperatures are cooler.
Prosnone
Consstains driveway permanently
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the staining that occurred after using Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. The iron in Green Max Lawn Food may stain as indicated on the back of the label. The quicker a stain removal process is begun, the more effective the process will be. Sunlight and water will help to fade the iron stains from the product on outdoor surfaces, but will not completely remove them. While not endorsed or guaranteed by Scotts, the following products have shown to be effective at removing iron stains from regular concrete and are registered for this use:

Signature Concrete Rust Remover
Goof Off Rust Stain Remover Outdoors
Super Iron Out Outdoor
We suggest you refer to the product label before applying any product to an iron-stained surface. Before using any commercial cleaning products to remove stains, test a small area to make sure the cleaner itself does not cause damage. Most stain removal products work best with two applications.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromChicago area
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I applied Max for the first time about a month and a half ago. My lawn has never looked so good. Aside from good growth and thicker grass it is greener than ever. My neighbors are asking me what happened to my lawn (because it looks so good). I live in Chicago area & have a mix of blue, rye & fescue grass. Am so happy I found this product! Keep making it Scotts!!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Green MAX is best for Alkaline Soils

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tucson, Arizona is famous for alkaline soils that inhibit iron absorption resulting in yellowy, chlorotic looking grass & plants. I've tried enormous amounts of supplemental iron and nitrogen products, but my lawn continued to decline.
The 1st application of Green Max resulted in immediate improvement. Subsequent applications produced results beyond expectations. Great formulation that promotes iron absorption!!
ProsValue, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMcKinney, TX, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very disappointed in this produce. I did not see any results. I have always used Scott's products in the past so I was excited to try this product. 3 days came and went and didn't see anything. Its now been 10 days and still nothing. I would recommend saving your money and just using the Scott's turf builder.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 6, 2014
We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Green Max Lawn Food. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time.

If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. Soil pH should be between 5.5 - 7.5 for lawns. If it is outside this range, add lime (to raise pH) or soil sulfur (to lower pH) at least once a year in spring or fall. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily.

Also, keep in mind the physical condition of the soil in your yard. Compacted soil, or soil that is very sandy or is mostly clay will not provide an ideal growing condition for turf. Consider core aeration in combination with topdressing. Aeration is the process of poking small holes into the soil using rental power equipment. Topdressing involves applying a thin layer (no more than 1/4 inch thick) of compost or topsoil to the entire surface of the lawn. Scotts Lawn Soil applied in this fashion may greatly improve the turf's response to fertilizer.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byarch222
 
Please wait while more information about arch222 is loaded.
Additional information about arch222 could not be loaded.
onMay 25, 2014
i agree with the soil sample incorrect soil ph can render fertilizers ineffective. your local extension cooperative will usually provide soil tests
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Golden Orange Stains on Surrounding Concrete from Green Max

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromViera, FL 32955
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I purchased this Green Max Fertilizer in the hopes of helping my lawn; however, it ruined my concrete. I applied it before it rained so that it would soak in. The bag instructions only states "sweeping product from hard surfaces onto the lawn keeps product on the grass and prevents staining." When I went outside today, I was totally surprised (and not in a good way) as my sidewalk and driveway turned a horrible golden orange. How does sweeping this fertilizer onto the lawn help taking into consideration that rain runs from a lawn onto the sidewalk. Scotts really needs to put a bigger statement of CAUTION on its bag. When people fertilize their lawns, they definitely do not expect the fertilizer to ruin everything else surrounding the lawn. I will never again use Scotts.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Problem with label, horrible concrete staining after use
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRamesh
 
Please wait while more information about Ramesh is loaded.
Additional information about Ramesh could not be loaded.
onMay 13, 2014
Hello - I would second your note. It is lousy and it stained my entire pavement. Its such a shame that this product is even being sold in the market without the warning sign. Please don't use this product. I will also update my reviews on Amazon to let the customers know to stay away from it.
-5points
0of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Scotts® GreenMax Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I was skeptical but I am glad I tried!!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From reading the previous reviews I thought the product wouldn't work. I was afraid my yard would burn and not turn green. I was soooo wrong! My yard is thick and has a beautiful dark green color. I am happy with the results. I will say you need to water your yard....
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>