Customer reviews for Ortho Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules

Ortho Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules

Easy "Shake & Pour" applicator that repels rabbits, groundhogs, squirrels and other small herbivores.
Overall rating:
1.5 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
1 out of 7(14%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought specifically for squirrels. Had no effect whatsoever.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 10, 2014
We are sorry Ortho Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules did not work as expected. This will deter groundhogs, rabbits and squirrels from going into the treated area. Rain or water after the application will diminish the effectiveness of the product. The animals must reenter the area at least once after being treated with Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules. Again, I apologize for the experience and I will pass your comments along to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work on CA Grey Squirrels

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromN. California
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although easy to apply, it doesn't do a thing to repel Grey tree squirrels in CA.
It doesn't even slow them down from digging holes in the garden and digging up newly planted plants.
Very disappointing. Won't buy any more.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 27, 2014
We are sorry Ortho Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules did not work as expected. This will deter groundhogs, rabbits and squirrels from going into the treated area. Did it rain or did you water the treated area before the listed animals went into the treated area? Rain or water after the application will diminish the effectiveness of the product. The animals must reenter the area at least once after being treated with Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules. Again, I apologize for the experience and I will pass your comments along to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relief for the first time in years!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColorado
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've lived in my apartment for over 23 years and every spring I fill my balcony with plants, flowers, and herbs. Unfortunately there is a tree that grows directly next to my balcony, and for 23 years I could count on having all of my plants dug up and flung around the balcony by the squirrels that use the tree as a ladder to their personal digging grounds.
I have tried every suggestion I could find including cayenne pepper, sharp objects buried just under the surface, a layer of rocks to block access...absolutely nothing worked. Each year I would lose about $150 worth of plants to squirrels.
As a last-ditch effort, this year I bought the Animal B Gone granules and applied them to all of the plants on my balcony; this was 2 months ago, and until today I had never even seen a squirrel on the balcony. I was fearful that the little guy out there today was going to start digging, but to my amazement he just walked around the planters, sniffed a couple of times, then went on his way.
I suppose it could be mere coincidence, but considering the track record (squirrels - 23; me - 0), I have to believe it's the product that is (finally!) doing the trick.
There IS a smell, to be sure, but I actually find it pleasant rather than offensive (it has a very herbal quality to it). I will say that I apply the product more often than directed; even to my sense of smell I notice the odor diminish greatly after a thorough watering (or a heavy rainfall), so I will sprinkle more on every couple of weeks to keep it fresh.
Bottom line- if this product gets me through this summer without having to throw away plants (and money!), I will NEVER use another product again!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOES NOT WORK

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFishers, IN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
User submitted photo
I purchased this item on May 20, 2014 along with 7 potato plants. I didn’t get around to planting them until May 22, 2014. Having heard of your products I was extremely excited that maybe this year I could ward off the rabbits that live around my yard.
I applied your product as stated on the bottle however LESS THAN 24 HOURS later the rabbits had eaten my plants for lunch. I am very disappointed in your product and want my money back. While with the no name brands I have used in previous years at least the plants were in the ground long enough to grow. I only changed this year because of the name “ORTHO”. I have never lost plants this fast as long as I have been planting (7 years). Along with my money back I think it would be a great gesture to replace the cost of the plants also. I would be more than happy to send you the receipt.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 29, 2014
We are sorry Ortho Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules did not work as expected. This will deter groundhogs, rabbits and squirrels from going into the treated area. Did it rain or did you water the treated area before the listed animals went into the treated area? Rain or water after the application will diminish the effectiveness of the product. The animals must reenter the area at least once after being treated with Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Granules. Again, I apologize for the experience and I will pass your comments along to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHenderson, NV, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used a fresh jug of animal b gone on 220 square feet of grass to repel rabbits. The seal was intact...the jug should cover 1440 sqare feet and last 30 days...I used the entire jug on the 220 square feet. 6 hours later there were 5 wild rabbits enjoying the grass and frolicking....for the price... this is a disaster..did anyone test this????
Consdidnt work at all!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMay 20, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not get the results you expected from the Ortho Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules. We appreciate your letting us know about your experience. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HELP!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
I put this whole thing full of granules in my attic. Now my whole house stinks. What can I do? Will the smell dissipate?
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceSeptember 15, 2013
We're sorry to hear that this happened. As stated on the label this product is for use in lawn and garden areas and is not intended for indoors. In open areas this product has very little if any odor. In contained spaces an odor may exist. Remove granular product with broom and dustpan. Ventilate area as mush as possible. Neutralize odor by scrubbing area with a mixture of 1 cup of detergent with 1 cup of baking soda to 1 gallon of warm water. Coffee grounds may also be used to help absorb odor. If we can provide any additional assistance please call us at 877-465-5160.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has a pleasant smell.

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used this product liberally on two occasions in my garden to repel a groundhog. Twice the animal has come back and had a feast on our tomatoes and squash. Our garden is fenced as recommended but somehow he still gets in and eats. We did not have any rain, so washing off the repellent didn't happen. I would not recommend this product and it wasn't cheap!!
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 26, 2013
I am sorry Ortho Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Ready-to-Use did not work as expected. This will deter groundhogs, rabbits and squirrels from going into the treated area. The animals must reenter the area at least once after being treated with Animal B Gon All Purpose Animal Repellent Ready-to-Use. Again, I do apologize for the experience and I will pass your comments along to our Quality Assurance Department.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byEBcoffee2
 
Please wait while more information about EBcoffee2 is loaded.
Additional information about EBcoffee2 could not be loaded.
onJanuary 5, 2014
What a waste of money. I used half the container and applied the granules around the bird feeder as directed - generously. It DID NOT WORK. The squirrels were undeterred. All it did was make me nauseous because of the smell.
I do not recommend purchasing this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Ortho® Animal B Gon Animal Repellent Granules
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cats loved it (unfortunately)!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Having tried other pet friendly products, to no avail, my garden center suggested this as the new product they were carrying. I immediately applied the granules (heavily) in the areas of my garden that the two outdoor cats use as a litter box. Within the hour they were on top of the product doing their business. UGH!. The $15 was not an issue if the product worked...which it did not. On the up side, the scent is pleasant and lasted for a few days. Suggestions welcome!
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, i'm out $15
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 12, 2013
Animal B Gon is formulated to repel rabbits, groundhogs, squirrels, and other small herbivores. Although it works in a similar way, Dog & Cat B Gon Granules are formulated to discourage cats. That would be what we recommend. We are so sorry about any confusion. Of course, the product is covered by the guarantee.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.