Customer reviews for Other Brands Hyponex® Potting Soil

Other Brands Hyponex® Potting Soil

Potting soil for indoor and outdoor use
Overall rating:
2.25 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
2 out of 7(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Review 1 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just purchased some very expensive flowers for outdoor pots. Every plant died just a few days after planting. This product is much to dense and does not drain.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJune 5, 2014
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Hyponex Potting Soil. We make every effort to ensure that our product is safe to use. I apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to use your concerns in future improvements to our products.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible product!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFountain, CO, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Extremely disappointed. I purchased two large bags thinking due to wanting to support local companies I would try Scotts as there is a plant here locally. Horrible mistake all my house plants and seedlings have withered or died off. The bulbs I planted in it have rotted and molded. Even in containers with adequate drainage it becomes extremely watter logged muddy mess that doesnt drain, then when it dries out its like concrete around the roots. Not to mention as I got farther into the bag the more and more is reaked smelling like fresh dog feces and urine which took multiple washings to removethe scent from my hands. Extremely horrible product which has now cost me additional time and money!! Thankfully their competior has an amazing product!!!
ConsBad Odor, Messy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 6, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Hyponex Potting Soil. While Hyponex makes every effort to package products in such a way that they will not absorb water, occasionally, some water will get in. I apologize for the inconvenience.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for container gardening

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought several bags of the Hyponex potting soil for my container garden. It worked out great!
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent quality

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPlano, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality product, and the price reflects that.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very bad product

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMorristown, Tn.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I opened the bags of Potting soil that I bought and it was nothing but mud. It was a very poor product for any gardening company to be selling.
Hugh
ConsDidn't work as expected, Messy, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee Ann Consumer ServiceSeptember 8, 2012
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the Hyponex Potting Soil. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. Visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mulch, not potting soil

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMaryland, NY
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is more like rough mulch with sticks, twigs, and uncomposted matter. It lacks water retention and plants do not thrive in it. It is terrible to see a good label sell such inferior product.
Consmulch not potting soil
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 17, 2012
We're sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with this potting soil. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Please visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n for additional assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely poor potting soil

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGeorgia, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was disappointed to see large sticks and rocks in the soil when I opened the bags, but not nearly as disappointed as I was to see the tomato and pepper plants turn yellow and stop growing. I planted several plants in quality potting soil at the same time I planted their companions in Hyponex. The plants in the quality soil received the same fertilizer and watering as the Hyponex, and those in the quality soil are thriving while the Hyponex plants are less than a quarter of their size. I just threw away the hyponex soil and replanted in quality potting soil. The Hyponex was like concrete around theh plant roots - poor things. I will never use Hyponex again.
ConsDidn't work as expected, kills plants
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 16, 2012
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Hyponex Potting Soil. There certainly should not be large sticks and rocks in the soil. Our soils are specially formulated and tested to ensure that plants will grow their best. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hyponex® Potting Soil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This soil grows great plants!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMasachusetts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 6 plants growing in my apt all with Hyponex potting soil. I have 2 tomato plants and already have tomatoes on the vines. I have used this soil with my plants for many years. Besides many house plants I have grown tomatoes, basil and carrots indoors. I highly recommend this product! I also use Miacle Gro plant food to assist my plants and keep them healthy looking!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.