Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Scotts Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Prevents crabgrass and 8 other problem weeds.
Overall rating:
4.53 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(462 reviews) 462
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 462 reviews
5 Stars
341
4 Stars
73
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
12
1 Star
18
405 out of 441(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Review 1 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

4 Step Plan

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Customer avatar
fromNew City, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After doing the 4 Step Plan for 3 years, last year my lawn looked the best it's looked in years. The grass was fuller and weathered the dry spells of summer.
Bring on this years 4 Steps!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best results I have found

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
Customer avatar
fromWest Bridgewater, MA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After many years of trying other branded and generic products I switched to Scotts and have found that the results were far superior to these other products. My lawn was crbgrass free for the entire season for the first time.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the best products for crabgrass control

PostedJanuary 29, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLittleton, CO, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very effective and easy to use! Wear a dust mask on application.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Quality
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer avatar
fromColchester, CT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Continued comments from neighbors of how nice our lawn looks.
ProsEasy to Use
Consgotta buy all 4 steps
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts Step One makes it simple

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
Customer avatar
fromWorcester, MA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotts Step One is one of the 4- Step fertilizer program that takes the guess work out of fertilizing your lawn. Starting with Step One, what can I say, this pre-emerge fights against crabgrass up to two months when applied. This product works best when you apply in early spring with excellent directions on the bag that explains when to put down based on your geographical area where you live. Speaking of directions, the bags also explains what settings to use with what Scotts spreader as well as the best way to spread Step One depending on the shape of your lawn, how easy is that? Scotts 4-Step program, starting with Step One is the best "bang for your buck" where you get the best of both worlds when it comes to stopping the growth of crabgrass with the combination of the right springtime formula to feed your lawn after a long winter.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

4-step process is nice

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Customer avatar
fromShawnee, KS
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is affordable and of good quality. If you follow the steps, you should have a nice yard.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best out there

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
fromIndian Head Park, IL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for years. Use the 4 step program and the winterizer also. Probably have the best lawn around my area. My two son's use the products also. When people ask how I get my lawn looking so good I tell them Scott's.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product works

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
fromNew York
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
the product worked good when I started using the product
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works as advertised!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
fromVenetia, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Applying step on is easy and fast. It works as advertised as does the other step products. Great first application to start the year.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis, IN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it helps the grass alot better then the other brands. gets rid of the weeds and makes ur yard look alot greener. we love scotts. nothing but scotts
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has worked every year

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMO
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used this product every Spring for over the last 10+ years. Before that I use different brands with about 65-70% of success. I get a 95-98% success rate with Scotts Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food. You get what you pay for.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Quality, consistent product year afer year
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This makes all the difference as to how green my lawn looks

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSwanton, OH 43558, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My yard can look very nice but after application it is even greener!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good product. It got rid of my crabby Grass mess. I recomend it.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSanger, CA 93657, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
I good results with this product. Got rid of my (crabby) grass. I highly recommed the recommed it.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no crabgrass preventer better

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromHaverhill, MA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would and always have used and recommended this product for the prevention of crabgrass and to give your lawn the nutrients it needs to get off to the best start possible
ProsEffective, Quality, it works!
Consexpensive. too expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO CRABGRASS

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLAKEWOOD, NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use Step one and have a green, full lawn without any crabgrass
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use. Great results.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPark Ridge, NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended. Lawn never looked better. Perfect timing leads t incredible results.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts Step 1

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPawtucket, RI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product makes my yard look Fabulous. Not a crabgrass spout in sight. Strongly recommend it All you do is pour it in the spreader and walk.Easy.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lawn ever

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromHighland, IN, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've been using the Scott's four step process for many of years.Since using this product my lawn has never look so good. I will continue to be a Scots customer and use the four step process.
ProsQuality, greenest lawn on the block
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've been using the 4-step program for years & my lawn always looks great

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromKingston Ma
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Scotts 4-step program fertilizer schedule... I typically buy all 4 in the Spring, so I dont have to worry about 4 different purchases & put it down when the directions say. I always have a green , healthy lawn & my neighbors have asked what professional service I use. I am very happy with each of the products & have no plans to ever change this product or schedule.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® STEP® 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Step 1

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this product for 20+ years. I apply the Step 1 around mid April. After two weeks my lawn starts really looking good. I also take the time to do a through raking and mowing of the entire yard, before I start using the complete Scotts 4 Step program.
I always received numerous compliments about our lawn.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>