Customer reviews for Scotts Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Scotts Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Prevents crabgrass and 8 other problem weeds.
Overall rating:
3.903 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Review 1 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scott's preminum step 1

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMason Ohio
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy this product every year like clockwork it's the best! and works the neighbors are the envy of our lawn. I start with this and do the whole 4 step program.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Step 1 has caused my lawn to green up in about 1-1 1/2 weeks

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use the entre 4 step program and it works great. My question is what is the difference between the 4 step program and the individual products with the same active ingredients as the four step products? ie; Step one vs. Scotts plus halts.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used the 4 step for a few years now, I usually have really good results. Put down the 1st step, got some rain and the lawn is coming back from a tough winter.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromReminderville, Ohio
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Excellent product, applied to lawn and within weeks grass looked great, all neighbors walking by have stopped and asked what we do to our grass, of course told all of them and all went out to by some
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aweesome

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island NY
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use all 4 steps and it is the most effective lawn fertilzer I have found. Not to mention it works great for the price. Buy all 4 in the spring and take advantage of the rebate program.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Results

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHastings, MI 49058, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for the past years and have pretty good results except for a few weeds
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it works

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromUniontown, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for a couple of years and have been satisfied with the results
ProsEffective
Consneeded to break up the clumps
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just follow the program

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSea Isle City, NJ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this 4-step program in the past and the lawn has looked great. Just make sure you follow the timing!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts 4 Step Lawn Feed & Weed Control

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Scotts 4 Step Lawn Feed & Weed Control for the past four years and not only is it a very good value but I clearly have the thickest, greenest and most weed free lawn on my block. My neighbors have asked me what I do to keep my lawn looking so good and I've told them that I spend under $80. a year using "Scotts 4 Step". Some of my neighbors use a commercial service and pay hundreds of dollars a year and their lawns don't look half as nice as mine. Great product at a great price, especially when Scotts offers discount coupons early in the Spring.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, takes only 15 minutes/application
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First step is Step 1!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the money, a good value considering the coverage area and the actual job this product does compared to what it is supposed to do! In each instance, on different laws in varied geographical areas, I found Step 1 to be consistent in the effective prevention of crabgrass and other unwanted problematic weeds.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works in some areas

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've been a 4-Step user for over 25 years, and am convinced it helps keep my front lawn (sod) looking good. However, I'm disappointed that crabgrass still comes up in my backyard. Why is this, and what other options do I have? Living in MA, I apply it every year between mid to late April per the bag's direction. I also set my rotary spreader a click higher than the 3 setting recommended on the bag, overlap the spreads, and never had a burn problem.
Is there a difference in the formulation with Step 1 for Newly Seeded Areas and the standard Step 1? Maybe I should go back to the Standard Step 1.
I will continue using the 4-Step process unless I find some better option for eliminating crabgrass.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall Pleased

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall I was happy with the Step 1. I've used it for the last 2 seasons and I definitely notice a difference when using it vs. using nothing in the Spring. Im not too sure how good of a job it does with holding off crab grass and other weeds as I'm still fighting them through the rest of the season, but overall I think it gives the grass a good start.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't seem to control the crabgrass

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I live on Long Island NY and I apply the product in the 1st or 2nd wk of April and have not been successful at stopping the crabgrass.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesSeptember 3, 2014
We're sorry that the Scotts Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food did not prevent crabgrass in your lawn. Step 1 will prevent crabgrass germination for 4 months. Aeration or dethatching after the application can disrupt the crabgrass barrier in the soil.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product eliminates weeds better than its competitor

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWeirton, WV, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
used many different products on my yard and always come back to Scotts. the 4 step plan is and easy way to have a weed free green yard
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crab grass control

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRiner, VA 24149, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We mow our approximately 5 acres lawn weekly. Last year noticed that crabgrass had invaded the lawn, and use turf builder w/crabgrass prevention early this year. Applied turf builder with week prevention in June, and virtually all the crab grass was eliminated. I will apply turf builder in Sept. Plan to use the crab grass prevention again next Feb, and firmly believe all the crab grass will be eliminated. Your products, while expensive, are very good.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STUFF

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLivonia, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best product ,for my lawn ever. Been using SCOTTS 4 step program for the past 10 or more years. Keep up the GREAT work!!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A sea of yellow!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDyer, IN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied product 10 days ago. Today woke up to find a sea of yellow dandelions on my front lawn! If I could post a pic on here, I would. I bought the 4 step program, and so far am unhappy with the initial results. The neighbors to either side of me have hardly any weeds! If I don't see an improvement in the next steps, will hire a company like Tru Green in the future to handle my lawn care needs. Never will I buy or recommend this product again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 6, 2014
We are sorry that that the Scotts Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food did not prevent dandelions as expected. Please note, this only prevents those weeds listed on the label, and does not prevent dandelions. For control of dandelions you will have to use a post emergent control that is compatible with your lawn type, as these types of weeds can only be treated after they emerge.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Results

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEast Haven, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Results I will follow the Scotts plan as reccomended
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed the Last Two Years

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHillsborough, NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been a loyal Scotts products user for many years and, in the past, have been very happy with the products. However, the last two years the Fertizizer with the Crabgrass Preventer has been extremely disappointing. I've used it and still get tons of Crabgrass. I'm debating using it this year for that reason. Has anything changed with the Formula?
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food. The product will prevent crabgrass for up to 4 months when applied before crabgrass starts to germinate and the barrier is left undisturbed. Timing is important. Apply the product too early and crabgrass will appear later in the season. Apply the product too late and it has already germinated. A general rule of thumb is to apply the product after the first mowing of the season and before the third mowing or before temperatures are consistently reaching 80 degrees. We don't want you to lose faith in our products so we hope that this information is helpful and you will try again. If you have any questions or would like to discuss our product guarantee use the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

granules were moist making spreading difficult

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied the fertilizer/crab grass preventer today (3/16/14) so I will have to wait a few weeks to do determine effectiveness.
Spreading the granules was difficult as moisture must have gotten into the bag before I opened it. I use a Scotts rotary spreader. Set at 3. Very few granules came out. I had to increase setting to 5 and even then I ending up having to go over the yard twice.
ConsDifficult to use, difficult to spread
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMarch 18, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Step 1 For Seeding Starter Lawn Food with Weed Prevent. While Scotts makes every effort to package products in such a way that they will not absorb water, occasionally, some water will get in. We recommend that you do not attempt to apply a wet product. Instead, dispose of it according to package directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>