Customer reviews for Scotts Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Scotts Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food

Prevents crabgrass and 8 other problem weeds.
Overall rating:
3.652 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Review 1 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts 4 Step Lawn Feed & Weed Control

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Scotts 4 Step Lawn Feed & Weed Control for the past four years and not only is it a very good value but I clearly have the thickest, greenest and most weed free lawn on my block. My neighbors have asked me what I do to keep my lawn looking so good and I've told them that I spend under $80. a year using "Scotts 4 Step". Some of my neighbors use a commercial service and pay hundreds of dollars a year and their lawns don't look half as nice as mine. Great product at a great price, especially when Scotts offers discount coupons early in the Spring.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, takes only 15 minutes/application
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First step is Step 1!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the money, a good value considering the coverage area and the actual job this product does compared to what it is supposed to do! In each instance, on different laws in varied geographical areas, I found Step 1 to be consistent in the effective prevention of crabgrass and other unwanted problematic weeds.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works in some areas

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've been a 4-Step user for over 25 years, and am convinced it helps keep my front lawn (sod) looking good. However, I'm disappointed that crabgrass still comes up in my backyard. Why is this, and what other options do I have? Living in MA, I apply it every year between mid to late April per the bag's direction. I also set my rotary spreader a click higher than the 3 setting recommended on the bag, overlap the spreads, and never had a burn problem.
Is there a difference in the formulation with Step 1 for Newly Seeded Areas and the standard Step 1? Maybe I should go back to the Standard Step 1.
I will continue using the 4-Step process unless I find some better option for eliminating crabgrass.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall Pleased

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall I was happy with the Step 1. I've used it for the last 2 seasons and I definitely notice a difference when using it vs. using nothing in the Spring. Im not too sure how good of a job it does with holding off crab grass and other weeds as I'm still fighting them through the rest of the season, but overall I think it gives the grass a good start.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't seem to control the crabgrass

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I live on Long Island NY and I apply the product in the 1st or 2nd wk of April and have not been successful at stopping the crabgrass.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Scotts Consumer ServicesSeptember 3, 2014
We're sorry that the Scotts Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food did not prevent crabgrass in your lawn. Step 1 will prevent crabgrass germination for 4 months. Aeration or dethatching after the application can disrupt the crabgrass barrier in the soil.
We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product eliminates weeds better than its competitor

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWeirton, WV, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
used many different products on my yard and always come back to Scotts. the 4 step plan is and easy way to have a weed free green yard
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crab grass control

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRiner, VA 24149, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We mow our approximately 5 acres lawn weekly. Last year noticed that crabgrass had invaded the lawn, and use turf builder w/crabgrass prevention early this year. Applied turf builder with week prevention in June, and virtually all the crab grass was eliminated. I will apply turf builder in Sept. Plan to use the crab grass prevention again next Feb, and firmly believe all the crab grass will be eliminated. Your products, while expensive, are very good.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT STUFF

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLivonia, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best product ,for my lawn ever. Been using SCOTTS 4 step program for the past 10 or more years. Keep up the GREAT work!!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A sea of yellow!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDyer, IN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied product 10 days ago. Today woke up to find a sea of yellow dandelions on my front lawn! If I could post a pic on here, I would. I bought the 4 step program, and so far am unhappy with the initial results. The neighbors to either side of me have hardly any weeds! If I don't see an improvement in the next steps, will hire a company like Tru Green in the future to handle my lawn care needs. Never will I buy or recommend this product again.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 6, 2014
We are sorry that that the Scotts Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food did not prevent dandelions as expected. Please note, this only prevents those weeds listed on the label, and does not prevent dandelions. For control of dandelions you will have to use a post emergent control that is compatible with your lawn type, as these types of weeds can only be treated after they emerge.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Results

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEast Haven, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Results I will follow the Scotts plan as reccomended
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed the Last Two Years

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHillsborough, NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been a loyal Scotts products user for many years and, in the past, have been very happy with the products. However, the last two years the Fertizizer with the Crabgrass Preventer has been extremely disappointing. I've used it and still get tons of Crabgrass. I'm debating using it this year for that reason. Has anything changed with the Formula?
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceMarch 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food. The product will prevent crabgrass for up to 4 months when applied before crabgrass starts to germinate and the barrier is left undisturbed. Timing is important. Apply the product too early and crabgrass will appear later in the season. Apply the product too late and it has already germinated. A general rule of thumb is to apply the product after the first mowing of the season and before the third mowing or before temperatures are consistently reaching 80 degrees. We don't want you to lose faith in our products so we hope that this information is helpful and you will try again. If you have any questions or would like to discuss our product guarantee use the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

granules were moist making spreading difficult

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied the fertilizer/crab grass preventer today (3/16/14) so I will have to wait a few weeks to do determine effectiveness.
Spreading the granules was difficult as moisture must have gotten into the bag before I opened it. I use a Scotts rotary spreader. Set at 3. Very few granules came out. I had to increase setting to 5 and even then I ending up having to go over the yard twice.
ConsDifficult to use, difficult to spread
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMarch 18, 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems while using Scotts Step 1 For Seeding Starter Lawn Food with Weed Prevent. While Scotts makes every effort to package products in such a way that they will not absorb water, occasionally, some water will get in. We recommend that you do not attempt to apply a wet product. Instead, dispose of it according to package directions.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Step 4 program overall is excellent

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using the Scotts Step 4 program or it's earlier versions now for over 20 years and it works.
The only negative is the initial price for the whole package but in the end the results justify the cost.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consexpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it used to be!

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCornwall, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using Scotts 4 step program for over 15 years with excellent results. The past two years hovever have been an extream dissapointment. Either the formula has changed or the Rotary edge guard spreader dosen't distribute properly. The crab grass in the past two years has been out of control. And yes the application was according to the directions.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceOctober 3, 2012
We are sorry that the Scotts Lawn Pro Step 1 Crabgrass Control Plus Fertilizer did not prevent crabgrass as expected. Note the product will last for no more than four months. Several factors may affect the performance of the product. To get the best results from Lawn Pro Step 1 Crabgrass Control Plus Fertilizer, it should be applied before seeds germinate. It will not kill existing weeds. Do not aerate or dethatch the lawn after using crabgrass preventers as this will break the product barrier in the soil, and the product will fail. Also, some grassy weeds are crabgrass look-alikes and will not be controlled by the product. Be sure to have any stubborn weeds identified by a reputable nursery in your area to verify that the weeds you are seeing are truly crabgrass. If they are not, we may have alternative products we can recommend.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Crabgrass preventer plus fertilizer.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPoughquag, NY 12570, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The crabgrass preventer wasn't that good on my lawn this year, I fertilized in early spring, late summer, lots of crabgrass came out, out of control. Plus, this product is very expensive.
ProsQuality
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMadison, WI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Step 1 Crabgrass Preventer Plus Fertilizer worked great. I worked really hard at planning my timing of application because this is a preemergent. Once the soil temps hit 50 degrees or so, Crabgrass starts to germinate, and if it germinates you need weed and feed. It worked perfectly for me and I had virtually zero weeds and I applied as directed on the bag. The fertilizer gave it a great green-up really quickly.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When able to buy all 4 steps in a bundle, the price in reasonalble.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSandusky ,OH
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have been using this product for several years now. Petiti's Lawn and Garden in OH has the 4 step plan on sale in the spring. Has turned my lawn into the most beautiful on my block. Chemlawn can keep their spray applications.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consneed to use according to weather conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grows Grass

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHawthorne, NY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have purchased the Scotts 4-Step program and put down Step 1. My gardener has said that I need to fertilize less as the grass is too hard to mow. I simply told him that I used 1 bag of Scotts Step 1 fertilizer. I don't think he believed me.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this for the first time this year. My grass now has broader thicker leaves. The crabgrass I was starting to get is now gone.
ProsEffective
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step 1® Crabgrass Preventer Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, does what it says

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use the 4 step program every year and I definitely see positive results. Friends ask me what I do and I tell them follow the 4 step process. I got the 4 step program with a mail in rebate so it comes out almost the same cost as the knock off brands.
The product was a little clumpy so it kept getting stuck in the spreader.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>