Customer reviews for Scotts Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food

Scotts Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food

Kills dandelions and other major listed lawn weeds. Builds strong, deep roots.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Review 1 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This lawn care line of products can't be beat, never fails without doubt

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDunkirk, New York
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this feeding and lawn care line of Scott's for so many years I can honestly remember however it works with out fail when used as directed. You simply can't beat the no Quibble Guarantee, and my lawn speaks for it self.
ProsValue, Quality, Effective, apply and walk away you are done it works not you
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLincoln, Nebraska
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the 4 step program almost from it's introduction. When used as directed, it works better than some of the discount weed and feed products. I like that it is a Lawn Pro product and can only be purchased at a few local locations, this indicates to me that it is a superior product compared to the buy anywhere Scotts or other products.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLambertville, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instead of using a lawn service we treat our own lawn using the Scott's Step products for controlling weeds. This product is easy to use and does an excellent job of controlling weeds. Our lawn looks like it is maintained by an expensive lawn service company.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did two applications

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMill bury, Ohio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought the four step products. Our yard was so weedy, and the first application certainly knocked out most of the weeds that we read the directions and decided to do a second application of step two. It's really paid off!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBoston, MA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a new sod lawn put in a few years back and my land scrapper recommended the Scotts 4 step program. The products work well and Step 2 really does a great job eliminating weeds. Apply to damp lawn and watch the weeds die and the grass grow.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Effective Against Dandelions

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMount Prospect, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I consider this the most important product in my aresonal. We had alot of dandelions this spring, but after applying Step 2, the dandelions are gone and the number of weeds in my lawn are dramatically reduced. Looking forward to using this again next spring to get the rest of the weeds.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lawn on our street

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDepew, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product makes our 1 acre of lawn greener than everyone elses on the block. I never had a problem with any of your products and have been a loyal customer for years... and hopefully years to come!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is so easy to use

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSpringfield, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive had a competitor's lawn service for years, and was not getting the results I wanted. I decided to go with Scott's 4 step program both last year and this year, and I almost instantly saw the results. I get so many compliments about my lawn now that I'm using Scott's.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fertilizer plus weed killer is awesome...

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromFernley, NV
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use fertilizer plus weed killer and bam....just after a week, I knew I was on to the right stuff....gotta use it, is all I have to say. It is amazing and my lawn looks great. Scotts products are fabulous.....its a win win situation every time. Thank you Scott's!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, gets the job done
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From bare spots to thick and lush.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCape Cod, MA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brought my lawn back to life. What a difference from last year when I used a different product.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

loved it

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just used this Step 2 on our lawn, after Step 1 earlier this spring. The rapid improvement was remarkable! The much-hated pesky weeds started drying up and withering away in no time; and, after a rainfall the following day, the grass was a new brilliant shade of green! Last year we used a lawn-care service; this year, we're doing it ourselves w/ Scott products -- cheaper, and we are happier w/ the results.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is excellent for both fertilization and weed control

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMount Laurel, NJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
I have received many compliments about my lawn apperance during this spring season after using this product. My guests generally preface their hello greeting with Your Lawn Looks Great comment. Thanks for making my lawn the benchmark for other neighbors to follow.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stops Weeds..... Feeds Lawns

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
As a second step to a great looking and healthy lawn, it stops broadleaf weeds from invading and feeds your lawn at the same time. I've been using Scoots products since 1973 and I still have my original lawn I planted and nurtured with Scotts products.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is one of the best I've used

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have one of the best lawns in the neighborhood. That includes the lawns with commercial applications.
I've been using other brands in the past because of price. They never got rid of my weeds and dandelions. I even tried a commercial application with no luck.
I finally tried Scotts even though they were pricey. Well, I will never use a different product again. My grass looks like artwork when I am done mowing it.
ProsQuality, Effective
Consi wish it killed the creeping charlie
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byBobCoy
 
Please wait while more information about BobCoy is loaded.
Additional information about BobCoy could not be loaded.
onAugust 14, 2014
My lawn is GREEN ,---However I still have weeds? I may or may not use your product nex't year. I was really hoping for the best ,your product let me down. Ihave always had a high regard for Scotts products
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works pretty good

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnorthern delaware
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
have used for 4 years now (4 step program) and has worked pretty good. however, it seems to have trouble removing dollarweed (pennywort) completely, which is one of the weeds it is supposed to handle. it lessens it but doesn't completely remove it so it comes back before end of season.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEverson, WA 98247, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this this Summer and so the weeds in the grass are gone and the grass got greener
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

greens up quick

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer avatar
frommalvern, pa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I always use this product. It greens up the lawn quickly and promotes a healthy lawn. Helps in keeping weed in check too.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't control weeds.

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSouth Berwick, ME, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used it faithfully for many years. What used to be a great-looking lawn is now filled with weeds. I am extremely disappointed.
ConsDidn't work as expected, it seems to promote weeds., after use my lawn is now a mess.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceAugust 28, 2014
drlbates, we're sorry to hear you didn't get the results that you expected Scotts Step 2 Weed Control Plus Lawn Food doesn't control all weeds. If you're having a problem with a particular weed, let us know and we'll be glad to suggest ways to get your lawn back in shape.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Step 2

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTeaneck, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Living in Northern New Jersey I have always used scotts step 2 with great success. The Step 1 with crab grass works very well to.
I have been using scotts step 2 for the past ten years.
The product has always worked great.
However, when I opened the bag last month, I noticed the yellow coating had disappeared from the fertilizer. I had a bad feeling it wasn't going to work and it didn't. Not sure why a new and improved(cheaper)version.
Either way it didn't do a thing.
So, I'll be trying new products.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step 2® Weed Control Plus Lawn Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you like Crab Grass use this horrible product

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied Step 1 in late april and step 2 6 weeks later, I have more crab grass than any one else on my block. this product is awful, a complete waste of time and 200 hundred dollars.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesJuly 15, 2013
Step 2 Weed Control Plus Lawn Food controls the weeds listed on the label. There are over 50 broadleaf weeds it will kill, but it does not kill or control any grassy weeds. However, for your concern about the Step 1 product, we do recommend you contact us.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.