Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
2.009 / 5
2
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
79
32 out of 112(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for areas where grass needs to be re-grown.
Quick results! Green grass! An all-in-one remedy!
My grass looks fabulous thanks to Scotts!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality going downhill??

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlacklick, OH 43004, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I've used patchmaster a few times in the past couple of years and have had great success until now. I bought a new bag of this stuff this year for a couple sections of the lawn where the grass was horrible. I dug up the areas where I was going to apply the patchmaster. I removed all the old grass which had lots of dips in the soil and the grass just wasn't growing well but the weeds were and there were spots from dog urine killing the grass that was there. I laid new topsoil down and graded it to flow with the other grass. No dips or spots the water can collect. Spread the patchmaster and watered. I followed the directions, and like I said before, I've never had a problem in the past. I watered it everyday. I had grass growing in 7 days. Well the grass hasn't grown more than an inch. It still looks like new grass and it has been "growing" now for about 3 months. It looks like I have dwarf grass! I can't even mow it because it's not tall enough. It still has that bright, light green color too so it sticks out like a sore thumb. I am ready tear it all up and buy another bag of patchmaster because I believe there was something wrong with this bag since my neighbors bought some patchmaster of their own, used it in their front yard like I did under the same weather conditions and only a week after I put mine down and their grass is growing fine. They didn't even know how to use it and asked me what they needed to do because they saw how my grass turned out last year from using it to repair dead grass from dog urine. Disappointed. Don't have the receipt to get my money back either since I thought the grass was going to turn out well. And on top of it all I have red blades of grass growing. Not sure if this is a different type of grass or a disease. It is not lawn rust. There are completely red blades and some blades aren't completely red but it's only in the areas where I put the patchmaster down. None of my other parts of the lawn don't have this.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Value
ConsDidn't work as expected, inconsistent quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working great for me so far!

PostedJune 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product before I read all these negative reviews so I was nervous about the results but after a week or so since putting the patchmaster down on my lawn (in 4 different spots) it is growing great! I followed all the directions exactly and have been watering it every day- it has been raining a lot where I live too (In Michigan) and so far so good! Can't wait till its completely grown! :)
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works!

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer avatar
fromUpstate New York
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading so many mixed reviews I was prepared not to expect much success. However, followed instructions, watered daily (nature also produced several heavy days of rain) and "voila", grass was visible after 7 days. I have avoided mowing the area but I continue to water on a daily basis.
As an earlier reviewer noted, "nature needs to take it's course", in this process. I recommend using this product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Value
Consslow growth
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ease of use...

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromImperial, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This type of product was a first for me. I would usually transplant patches from landscaped areas.
First I read the instructions, very vague. Fine. I read them again. I prepared the ground and started to put the mixture down.
Common sense told me that this product needed to be sifted lightly between my hands to avoid huge clumps which would prevent seeds from reaching their destination and germinating.
I did forget to water a day or so but after 5 days I'm seeing growth. I had a few areas that were a bit too thick so I just took a leaf rake and worked them down. Be ginger and be patient. This is why the 3 stars. I'm not totally dissatisfied because it's not finished and sometimes nature needs a little help.
ProsEasy to Use
Consmight want to wear mask for dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLandscapes4funupdate
 
Please wait while more information about Landscapes4funupdate is loaded.
Additional information about Landscapes4funupdate could not be loaded.
onJune 9, 2015
Update...I looked out after the heavy rains and I have grass everywhere. My patch was big and I was a bit worried that it might be a bit too big. I would change the 3 stars to 5 stars. Patience and TLC.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Save yourself time and money and just throw shredded paper on your patchy spot. It will do the exact same thing this product does which is precisely nothing.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work well

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDedham, MA, USA
This did not work as expected. Seed has been down for over 2 weeks and only a few blades. Have kept it consistently moist and we have not had high temperatures. I have used other Scott seed that has worked much better. I am very disappointed in this product.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked GREAT!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
The edges of my lawn needed help due to snow/ice melter used all winter. Followed directions watered as told and grass grew within a week.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
frombrunswick, ny
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased may 18 . After raking the old grass, I put it down and watered am and pm, for 12 days. All I can see is the grey mulch. Even if I wait the full 30 days, there should be some growth showing up by now.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Pits

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buy a shredder. Put money into it. Spread the pieces on the ground. Water every day until it mats down and becomes encrusted.
Prosnone
ConsDidn't work as expected, doesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNewbie23
 
Please wait while more information about Newbie23 is loaded.
Additional information about Newbie23 could not be loaded.
onJune 4, 2015
Helpful and funny :-)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy this Product!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used Scott's products for years and bought this product based on previous experiences. However, this is without a doubt the worst product Scott's has ever sold! IT DOES NOT WORK! I applied it exactly as the insturctions directed and after two weeks not a single grass seed germinated. And what a mess to clean up! I should have checked the reviews of this product before I purchased it. I now will do my research before buying future Scott's products!
ConsDidn't work as expected, Messy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will never buy again

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEaston, MA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I raked up bare area, applied clean loom and then installed this product and watered regularly and ..... Nothing - now i have to clean it out and buy more grass seed - i am extremely disappointed and would never use again
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful green grass in four days

PostedMay 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Didn't even follow the directions and got widespread
sprouting in 72 hours.
Tamped down the Patchmaster onto wet bare spots and watered twice a day.
In one area I flooded the mud to produce a mixture I could smooth out and contour, in other areas I simply applied a 1/2 inch layer onto damp bare spots. In three days sprouts appeared and now after eight days the density has increased to where the ground appears green with two inch grass blades.
I'm very happy with the product.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money, time and effort

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLee's Summit, MO, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed all the prep instructions, watered everyday, we had plenty of rain and cool evenings/warm days but no germination. Now I just have the shredded newsprint mulch covering the bare spots.
I might as well have shredded the cash and put it on the bare spots, it would have the exact same effect... NO GRASS!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete and Total waste of money

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer avatar
fromnew york
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wasted my time and money. Never buy scotts product of any sort ever again!!!!! Followed directions and out of the 20 spots I used 2 started to grow
ConsDidn't work as expected, expensive and doesn't work even a little
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product, does not work!

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBinghamton, NY, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed the directions as indicated on the bag. No herbicides etc. its been two weeks and no sign of any grass. Very disappointed!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wow, what a waste

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromny
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is terrible. Did not grow any grass at all. After weeks of watering finally had to rake it up. What a mess.
ConsMessy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is a dud

PostedMay 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBellevue, WA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
bought $48 of this product.....killed the moss.....heavily raked areas where moss had been....spread patch master by hand....watered faithfully for 16 days now.....no grass is growing and it sits there....lawn looks awful.....now what...?????
other products are very good but this was very expensive and failed
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete Junk

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromVirginia, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
intended to use in a couple spots in a well established yard. No pre-emergent, or other herbicides put down before or after patchmaster application. Put down as directed and watered as directed with temps where they should be...nothing on the Scotts Patchmaster spots. Also used a competitive product on different spots. Competitor spots grew. Don't buy the name, this stuff is a bag of shredded newspaper junk
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked eventually but not as fast as EZ seed

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromGaithersburg, MD, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
I had a few bare patches in the lawn to fill in this spring. Last year I used EZ seed with good results. This year, the Patchmaster was on sale and I went with that instead. It was very dusty to apply and tended to blow around if I didn't water it in right away. Although it can sprout in as little as 7 days, it took 14 days of daily watering for the seeds to sprout even with fairly ideal tempertures. Once it sprouted in did a good job of filling in the patch. I have attached a picture of the patch 3 weeks after application. The patch was originally bare dirt. This product required a lot of maintenance to be successful. I would not buy the Patchmaster again. There are easier products available, even if they cost a little more.
ProsValue
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>