Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
2.017 / 5
2
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
83
34 out of 118(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stick with Regular Grass Seed

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromIllinois
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased Scotts Patch Master based on a recommendation from a neighbor. I followed the directions exactly, watered regularly, and not a single blade came up. I did nearby areas with regular seed and top soil and had great success. Patch Master is a poor product that is expensive and ineffective.
ConsDidn't work as expected, overpriced
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product Works great

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestchester County, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this for a very small patch of grass after we took out a shrub.
And it worked great.
I am a newbie, and had 3 other failures growing grass in different parts of my lawn.
My problems with other products were:
I would forget to put in fertilizer,
I would forget to put in some new top soil,
I would forget to put peet moss on top.
Also, its expensive to buy those big bags for all that extra stuff you need: Seed, Top Soil, Peet Moss,
This product has all of that in one.
So, I raked up the spot, picked out the weeds, laid down the stuff by hand.
And it watered it twice a day.
And it worked great!
This is the first time, I successfully grew grass. Albeit on a very small patch.
The other thing I like is the newspaper mulch made it easy to see the patch, so you didn't accidentally mow it.
Supposedly, this is the same kind of stuff they use on the highways to grow grass.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, easy to see so you don't mow it., mulch prevents birds eating the seed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNorthern Colorado
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Despite following the instructions to a T, the mulch just sat there like papier-mâché for weeks looking ugly. I imagine that shredded dollar bills would have looked similar...
ProsEasy to Use
Consdidn't work at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was poor.

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSteele Co. MN
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product awful. Despite digging the correct depth and putting in good soil, the mulch became a hard compacted layer that the seedlings couldn't come through. I'm very strict about following directions to the point I felt the directions lacked detail but I stuck with it even watering each of my multiple spots daily with different water amounts in hopes to discover what the optimum amount was. They became hard layers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well.

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSalem, OR
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wet and roughed up top soil in the repair area, spread PatchMaster, tapped it down with my foot, and watered repeatedly. After around 2 weeks I had a nice crop of new grass. The trick was to keep it wet, but not to over water. It's not necessary to flood the area, just keep the produce wet, and the area around the repair patch.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing result

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPomona, NY
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I use Scott's products religiously and have always been happy. Not so with "Patchmaster". I prepped the spots to be patched by removing dead grass, raking up the area to about 2 inches of loose soil, added fresh topsoil and applied. I watered daily and the grass that did appear was weak and spotty with no improvement over a few weeks. After a month or so the shredded paper was the most evident part of the results. I ended up digging it out, re-seeding with regular seed, fresh topsoil and pen mulch. Terrific result but with considerably more work. You let me down Scotty!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for areas where grass needs to be re-grown.
Quick results! Green grass! An all-in-one remedy!
My grass looks fabulous thanks to Scotts!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality going downhill??

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBlacklick, OH 43004, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I've used patchmaster a few times in the past couple of years and have had great success until now. I bought a new bag of this stuff this year for a couple sections of the lawn where the grass was horrible. I dug up the areas where I was going to apply the patchmaster. I removed all the old grass which had lots of dips in the soil and the grass just wasn't growing well but the weeds were and there were spots from dog urine killing the grass that was there. I laid new topsoil down and graded it to flow with the other grass. No dips or spots the water can collect. Spread the patchmaster and watered. I followed the directions, and like I said before, I've never had a problem in the past. I watered it everyday. I had grass growing in 7 days. Well the grass hasn't grown more than an inch. It still looks like new grass and it has been "growing" now for about 3 months. It looks like I have dwarf grass! I can't even mow it because it's not tall enough. It still has that bright, light green color too so it sticks out like a sore thumb. I am ready tear it all up and buy another bag of patchmaster because I believe there was something wrong with this bag since my neighbors bought some patchmaster of their own, used it in their front yard like I did under the same weather conditions and only a week after I put mine down and their grass is growing fine. They didn't even know how to use it and asked me what they needed to do because they saw how my grass turned out last year from using it to repair dead grass from dog urine. Disappointed. Don't have the receipt to get my money back either since I thought the grass was going to turn out well. And on top of it all I have red blades of grass growing. Not sure if this is a different type of grass or a disease. It is not lawn rust. There are completely red blades and some blades aren't completely red but it's only in the areas where I put the patchmaster down. None of my other parts of the lawn don't have this.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Value
ConsDidn't work as expected, inconsistent quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working great for me so far!

PostedJune 15, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product before I read all these negative reviews so I was nervous about the results but after a week or so since putting the patchmaster down on my lawn (in 4 different spots) it is growing great! I followed all the directions exactly and have been watering it every day- it has been raining a lot where I live too (In Michigan) and so far so good! Can't wait till its completely grown! :)
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works!

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer avatar
fromUpstate New York
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading so many mixed reviews I was prepared not to expect much success. However, followed instructions, watered daily (nature also produced several heavy days of rain) and "voila", grass was visible after 7 days. I have avoided mowing the area but I continue to water on a daily basis.
As an earlier reviewer noted, "nature needs to take it's course", in this process. I recommend using this product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Value
Consslow growth
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ease of use...

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromImperial, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This type of product was a first for me. I would usually transplant patches from landscaped areas.
First I read the instructions, very vague. Fine. I read them again. I prepared the ground and started to put the mixture down.
Common sense told me that this product needed to be sifted lightly between my hands to avoid huge clumps which would prevent seeds from reaching their destination and germinating.
I did forget to water a day or so but after 5 days I'm seeing growth. I had a few areas that were a bit too thick so I just took a leaf rake and worked them down. Be ginger and be patient. This is why the 3 stars. I'm not totally dissatisfied because it's not finished and sometimes nature needs a little help.
ProsEasy to Use
Consmight want to wear mask for dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLandscapes4funupdate
 
Please wait while more information about Landscapes4funupdate is loaded.
Additional information about Landscapes4funupdate could not be loaded.
onJune 9, 2015
Update...I looked out after the heavy rains and I have grass everywhere. My patch was big and I was a bit worried that it might be a bit too big. I would change the 3 stars to 5 stars. Patience and TLC.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Save yourself time and money and just throw shredded paper on your patchy spot. It will do the exact same thing this product does which is precisely nothing.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 29, 2015
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work well

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDedham, MA, USA
This did not work as expected. Seed has been down for over 2 weeks and only a few blades. Have kept it consistently moist and we have not had high temperatures. I have used other Scott seed that has worked much better. I am very disappointed in this product.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 7, 2015
We are sorry to hear that the product did not perform as expected. We want you to be happy with our products and receive satisfactory results. This is why we offer a no quibble guarantee. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience. Our contact information is found at the following address:
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked GREAT!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
The edges of my lawn needed help due to snow/ice melter used all winter. Followed directions watered as told and grass grew within a week.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't waste your money

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
frombrunswick, ny
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased may 18 . After raking the old grass, I put it down and watered am and pm, for 12 days. All I can see is the grey mulch. Even if I wait the full 30 days, there should be some growth showing up by now.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 27, 2015
I am sorry that you have experienced problems while using Scotts PatchMaster Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade. It is certainly frustrating to go to the work of reseeding an area, only to have the results less than satisfactory.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Pits

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buy a shredder. Put money into it. Spread the pieces on the ground. Water every day until it mats down and becomes encrusted.
Prosnone
ConsDidn't work as expected, doesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 24, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We'd appreciate the opportunity to ask you more specific questions about your experience with the product, as well as the chance to honor our product guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you in any way we are able.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNewbie23
 
Please wait while more information about Newbie23 is loaded.
Additional information about Newbie23 could not be loaded.
onJune 4, 2015
Helpful and funny :-)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy this Product!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used Scott's products for years and bought this product based on previous experiences. However, this is without a doubt the worst product Scott's has ever sold! IT DOES NOT WORK! I applied it exactly as the insturctions directed and after two weeks not a single grass seed germinated. And what a mess to clean up! I should have checked the reviews of this product before I purchased it. I now will do my research before buying future Scott's products!
ConsDidn't work as expected, Messy
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 25, 2015
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will never buy again

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromEaston, MA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I raked up bare area, applied clean loom and then installed this product and watered regularly and ..... Nothing - now i have to clean it out and buy more grass seed - i am extremely disappointed and would never use again
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy HoneyConsumer ServicesJuly 24, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to further assist you: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful green grass in four days

PostedMay 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Didn't even follow the directions and got widespread
sprouting in 72 hours.
Tamped down the Patchmaster onto wet bare spots and watered twice a day.
In one area I flooded the mud to produce a mixture I could smooth out and contour, in other areas I simply applied a 1/2 inch layer onto damp bare spots. In three days sprouts appeared and now after eight days the density has increased to where the ground appears green with two inch grass blades.
I'm very happy with the product.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money, time and effort

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLee's Summit, MO, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed all the prep instructions, watered everyday, we had plenty of rain and cool evenings/warm days but no germination. Now I just have the shredded newsprint mulch covering the bare spots.
I might as well have shredded the cash and put it on the bare spots, it would have the exact same effect... NO GRASS!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>