Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
1.992 / 5
2
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 123 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
86
34 out of 121(28%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Somebody forgot to put the seed in.

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPort Chester NY
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nothing, zip, no grass. Followed directions exactly.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product does not work.

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nothing from Scot's is any good. Will never use any Scots products again.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

patch repair

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
frommichigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
has not grown one single blabe of garss and it will two weks come 6/4/2012
ProsQuality
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 3, 2012
We're sorry you didn't get the results you expected. Keep in mind that high day temperatures and cool night time temperatures may delay germination. It is also important to keep the grass seed consistently moist. Please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n for additional information and assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't grow one blade of grass.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It simply did not grow grass. I have white newspaper patches in my lawn, but no grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 30, 2013
I am sorry that you didn’t get the results you expected from your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Also, please be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination.

We want you to be confident in our products and offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Perfectly

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNashua, NH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked exactly as described. New grass sprouted by the 7th day! Bye-bye bare spots! Yippee!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wasted my money on this product. Never sprouted any grass. I've had better luck with K-Mart brand.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 22, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wow, what a waste

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromny
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is terrible. Did not grow any grass at all. After weeks of watering finally had to rake it up. What a mess.
ConsMessy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for filling in areas where there is no grass. Easy to use. Quick germination. Green grass in no time!!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSpringfield, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful product for filling in areas missing grass. Highly recommend for use in Midwest. Quality product from Scott's.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Pits

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buy a shredder. Put money into it. Spread the pieces on the ground. Water every day until it mats down and becomes encrusted.
Prosnone
ConsDidn't work as expected, doesn't work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 24, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We'd appreciate the opportunity to ask you more specific questions about your experience with the product, as well as the chance to honor our product guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience using the information that can be found by following the link below and we would be more than happy to assist you in any way we are able.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNewbie23
 
Please wait while more information about Newbie23 is loaded.
Additional information about Newbie23 could not be loaded.
onJune 4, 2015
Helpful and funny :-)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKansas, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spread product on a well prepared seed bed, watered daily and 16 days later .... nothing. This stuff is a waste of time and money.
ConsDidn't work as expected, 0 germination
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 7, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product, does not work!

PostedMay 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromBinghamton, NY, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed the directions as indicated on the bag. No herbicides etc. its been two weeks and no sign of any grass. Very disappointed!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy DrewConsumer ServicesJuly 21, 2015
We're saddened to hear that the grass did not grow as expected. We want you to be confident in our products, which is why we offer a product guarantee to our customers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us using the information that can be found by following the link below, and we would be more than happy to further assist you.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/gosite/Sc...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stuff is garbage!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDetroit, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't work. Waste of time. Finally bought generic grass seed from the local hardware. Wish I would have done that in the first place.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, garbage
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 21, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked GREAT!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
The edges of my lawn needed help due to snow/ice melter used all winter. Followed directions watered as told and grass grew within a week.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

first time that I use the patch master

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
frompennsyvania
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is well produced with the grass seed, fertilizer mix
Once the ground is prepared for the mix and watered, the results are amazing
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRed Deer, AB, Canada
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied the product as directed and watered it according to instructions did not get a single blade of grass. Don't bother with this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product, works quick

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely in love with this product. It gave the most beautiful spot of grass in my yard. Would love to use on entire lawn. Absolutely works!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective, mames beautiful patch of grass
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete and Total waste of money

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer avatar
fromnew york
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wasted my time and money. Never buy scotts product of any sort ever again!!!!! Followed directions and out of the 20 spots I used 2 started to grow
ConsDidn't work as expected, expensive and doesn't work even a little
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific product!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for areas where grass needs to be re-grown.
Quick results! Green grass! An all-in-one remedy!
My grass looks fabulous thanks to Scotts!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Save yourself time and money and just throw shredded paper on your patchy spot. It will do the exact same thing this product does which is precisely nothing.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy CarlyConsumer ServicesJuly 29, 2015
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Lawn Repair Mix Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used this product three separate times. It never worked. This should be recalled.
Scott's does have great customer service though and worked with me on the issue.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesOctober 6, 2012
We're sorry that it didn't work, but glad that you took the time to reach out to us so we could help!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>