Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
3.355 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(378 reviews) 378
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 378 reviews
5 Stars
172
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
14
1 Star
125
226 out of 367(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts Patch Master

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSmithtown, NY
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes I used Patch Master on my lawn on bare spots. It not only looked fine when I put it down, because it blended in with the rest of my lawn because of the green color. Meanwhile, it was a very easy application and it worked. And it was exciting to see it working. Every day I would go outside and check it out and I could see small blades of grass coming up. It was exciting. Gradually it got longer and filled in the whole area. I loved the results.
Thank you Scotts.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performer in sunny areas

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
fromChicago ill
Age:45 to 54
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used product in sunny areas and it worked well! Grass started growing within a week with very little watering.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works really well

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMonroe, NC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for something to fill in the patches of the backyard where I could not get grass to grow and this patchmaster product worked great and very quick I had to keep it watered for a week or so until it started growing really great product highly recommend
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Directions are easy to follow.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMonticello, UT
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product did not produce grass growth I thought it would.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy KiaraConsumer ServicesFebruary 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®. It's very unfortunate that you did not receive the results that you expected. When our product fails to meet your expectations it is our priority to assure that you remain satisfied in us. For this reason we offer our No-Quibble Guarantee® . Please feel free to reach out to us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works every time

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, Ohio
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Patchmaster many times and it always works perfectly. It is so easy to use and water for great results. I just replace downspout drains and used Patchmaster to reseed the affected area. In three short weeks, you couldn't tell where the ditch had been. Hurray.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best grass patch I have ever used.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The BEST grass path I have ever used.
Even the kids water it because the see results right away.
Over 6000 feet of lawn always looks good.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Value, Quality
Consmake sure you water it intill it roots
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weeds

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromWestern Pennsylvania
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Used patch in varies areas of my lawn. It produced about 30% weeds and 60% grass with the final 10% nothing at all. Would never buy this product again.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesJanuary 26, 2016
We certainly apologize for the trouble you've had with your Patchmaster Grass Seed. We hope this experience hasn't dissuaded you from using our products in the future.

Our seeds are triple filtered to ensure there are no weed seeds in the product. Unfortunately, when you prepare the area for seeding you are bringing the thousands of weed seeds laying dormant in your lawn to the surface. Then, with the additional moisture and perfect temperatures they germinate right along side the grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always great results!

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have two dogs that severely damage our backyard lawn every winter. In the spring I prep the damaged areas and put down the Patchmaster. It works wonderfully, by summertime you would never know that the lawn looked as bad as it did. We love this product, so easy to use.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Consistent

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I repaired grub damaged areas with PatchMaster and it worked very well, much better than seed alone. It requires effort in terms of watering, but if you do, it works great.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product overall

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromDubuque, IA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Liked this product the fertilizer mulch seed all in one but really need to keep on the watering.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value
Consneeds a lot of water
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This seed is remarkable !

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromRumford, East Providence, RI 02916, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
As a dog owner, my back yard takes quite a beating so I use seed for the bare spots on a pretty much constant basis. This seed is amazing as it germinates quickly and produces a grass that develops strong roots equating to a tough dog resistant lawn. It's the only seed I use. Thanks for a great product to go along with all your others. I use the 4 step program which is awesome. No need for a lawn service with Scotts!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Convenient.

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromLocust Valley, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Ready and easy to use. Results were good, but expected more growth.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had a large patch that would not take root. Bought this product and filled in perfect.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Consa little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for smaller patches I have used it a bunch of times

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromTaylor, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like that eveything is contained in the same bag just tear open and spread around. The mulch keeps the birds from eating the seeds
ProsEasy to Use
Conscould have a higher seed count for fuller growth
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product helped save my hard work on my lawn

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromClifton, NJ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having 2 female dogs playing in my yard, I ended up with quite a few brown patches. The Pactchmaster came to the rescue and and restored my lawn back to great condition.
I can't wait until the Spring when I can cover my whole lawn with Scott's Tall Fescue blend and be the envy of the block!!
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Consneed a resealable bag so the leftovers don't harde
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati OH
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Or use this product last spring to fill in some patchy spots in my backyard. Within two weeks the spots had filled in the grass is extremely soft when you walk on it with your bare feet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product did not live up to expectations.

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMonroe Township, NJ, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I pre raked, watered every day, and it failed to produce living grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy KiaraConsumer ServicesFebruary 4, 2016
We are sorry that you have not had success with the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix. Keep in mind that watering and temperatures play a critical role in seed germination. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works superbly

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromChicago suburb
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried Scotts patchmaster on a few spots on my lawn where bare spots developed from animals digging or things left laying on the long for long periods. It was very easy to prepare for and to use and very little effort to get it right and grass growing nicely.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good prodcut at a very good value

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
fromDayton, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used the product to patch some bare spots. it came in quickly like
I wanted and let my front yard return to a better look last summer.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product at a value pric

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMissouri
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was exactly the product I needed. Worked great on several thin areas that I had.
ProsEasy to Use, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>