Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
1.569 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
48
10 out of 58(17%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product, works quick

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely in love with this product. It gave the most beautiful spot of grass in my yard. Would love to use on entire lawn. Absolutely works!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective, mames beautiful patch of grass
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY Disappointed

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWest Chester, PA, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Long time Scott's customer, I can't believe they could go to market with such an inferior product. Thought it was just me until I read all the negative reviews. Like many, followed the instructions exactly, including light watering 2x a day. After 12 days, not even a BLADE of grass. They should pull this product before it does more PR damage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesSeptember 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience, even though we don't like to know a long-time customer is disappointed. There are a number of variables that can delay or reduce the germination of grass seed. We would like to know more about what happened in your case. Of course, we also should discuss our guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts Patchmaster- Disappointed

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCentral New York State
Age:55 to 64
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I've been very happy with Scotts products over decades of use. Coupled with the gardening advice and help lines which have often been helpful, I'm willing to pay a premium for Scotts products. But this product just doesn't work for me. I've now purchased this multiple times over many years without success. The most recent involves perhaps 50 square feet in my front lawn where a gas valve was installed. The area was nicely graded with good quality topsoil and then hydroseeded by the contractor. Unfortunately, water runoff from the road washed out some areas, sometimes washing out just the seed and others the topsoil as well. I replaced the topsoil from the contractor pile and reseeded with Patchmaster. After the second washout (and reseeding), I placed a barrier of sod to stop the running water, and have reseeded a third time. I have been careful to water- not too heavily- twice daily - when it has dried out from no rain. Looking closely at the grass, I have lush, beautiful grass everywhere that the hydro seeding is intact. Nowhere that I used the patchmaster- and it's intact - is there more than a few scattered blades of grass. I don't have big, heavy clumps. Given the recommended spreading rate, I'm not horribly off track. This unfortunately parallels my previous experience with this product. I'd like to say it's operator error, but given the above situation where other grass seed grows great under the same circumstances, I have to conclude either that this product doesn't perform or it's too hard to use. I've uploaded a photo- the lighter areas are Patchmaster I put down today. In the middle, you can see patchmaster from last week that has not sprouted. Just below it appears to be grass growing out of prior Patchmaster, but it's simply grass bending over and/or Patchmaster where some of the hydroseeded seed had sprouted and I was trying to overseed.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 2, 2013
I am very sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort with Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix. Thank you so much for taking the time to upload a photo as well.

As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. It’s almost important to be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPardee
 
Please wait while more information about Pardee is loaded.
Additional information about Pardee could not be loaded.
onSeptember 2, 2013
I do appreciate your response. However, the "canned" suggestions tell me to do things my review already say were done. Yes, there was plenty of moisture, it's August so it's warm, it's fresh soil and other grass seed is growing so it's not an herbicide issue. Given the low rating this product gets from a large number of reviewers, I think there's likely a problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too many weeds

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDavenport, IA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I am a loyal Scotts customer and am usually very satisfied, but when I purchased this product earlier this year the outcome was less than desirable. The area where the product was applied is now filled in but has quite a few weeds.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceAugust 14, 2013
I am sorry that you have been disappointed by the appearance of weeds in your newly seeded areas. Our seeds are guaranteed to be 99.9% weed free. Weed seeds are exposed when the soil is turned and will germinate right along with the new seed. Weed seeds may also be introduced to the area through the addition of topsoil or straw.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a mess!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a couple of areas in my lawn that is bare (2'x2') so I figured I try this since it just small size. I followed instructions completely and kept it moist however after 2 weeks I still had the same paper mess in various areas in my yard. another week later I decided to try the Scott's EZ seed that shakes out. After 2 weeks, it is slowly coming out in 1 small area however the majority is still nothing... I'm not sure if i would try another Scotts product.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 31, 2013
I am very sorry to learn of the problem you had with Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix. For best results when planting any grass seed, including PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix, keep the seed bed consistently moist. This is extremely important when dealing with warm summer temperatures. Do not apply in an area where weed controls have been applied as this can prevent or inhibit germination of the new seed. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't grow one blade of grass.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It simply did not grow grass. I have white newspaper patches in my lawn, but no grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 30, 2013
I am sorry that you didn’t get the results you expected from your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Also, please be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination.

We want you to be confident in our products and offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big disappointment

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDuluth, MN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied scotts patchmaster as per instructions along with scotts recommend specialized soil. Water twice per day for four weeks and all I have are big crusted gray spots in my lawn. DID NOT WORK for me. Money back guarantee does not mean much after expending precious time and effort and the resulting frustration only to back to zero. Worse yet I was dumb enough to try application the second time and had the same results.
Consfrustration and disappointment
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 16, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. The seed will not germinate if allowed to remain in clumps. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff worked for me

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSaint Paul, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had good success with this product. Yes I watered it morning and night. It took about 9 days or more to germinate visibly so it helps to use it in the Spring when the rain is more frequent. I think getting it "flat" to the ground using the spray stream of the hose on days 2-3 made a difference (knocking down lumps and clumps) so the seed could enter the soil. I cheated a little and added some Scott's grass seed to mixture, hoping to enhance thickness, and it seems to have worked. Yes $25 is high, but the blue coloring is so beneficial when trying to locate 50-60 different small locations in the yard to water! I have used cheaper brands and had much poorer results, so I decided the Scott's name and price may be worth the premium, certainly was when I considered my time and effort. When wet, I had no issue mowing over the repair locations with my mulching mower, so lawn cutting doesn't have to be hindered either.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure why people hate this product

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It has done wonders for my lawn which did not take well when it was put in last year.
I am repairing my lawn with this product and it is amazing. I water it twice a day and in about a week the growth starts and it grows nice thick grass. After mowing the grass it almost feels fake because its so healthy.
Not sure why people say this product doesn't work because it does. Perhaps people aren't using the lawn soil. My backyard has good soil so its taking well there, but my front has terrible soil so I'm using lawn soil to patch the front. Using this product I will have the nicest lawn in the block once I've patched all sections I need.
My only complaint is the high price, but thats why i'm doing it slowly, getting a bag a week. Would recommend highly to others.
ProsQuality, Effective
Conssuper dusty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDallastown Pa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It took 3 was to get a few blades of grass to grow. There is not much seed in the bag. Bought a no name brand last fall and it worked great. Maybe put some grass seed in the bag.
Consterrible
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 26, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse. Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolute waste of time and money

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis, IN
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish I had read all these reviews before I wasted 3 weeks of my time watering twice per day after putting this extremely poor performing product on the bare spots in my yard. I followed the directions to a "T" and the only thing that grew was a handful of weeds. Not a single sprout of grass. I feel like I've been duped and bought the lawn and garden version of snake oil.
Prosnone
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 23, 2013
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort and would like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Perfectly

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNashua, NH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked exactly as described. New grass sprouted by the 7th day! Bye-bye bare spots! Yippee!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSan Angelo, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saw this product and figured I'd give it a try, we had a huge patch in our lawn that we dig out because it was nothing but rocks and wood chips the patch was about 6ft long and 4ft wide. We put one bag of this product down within 2 weeks we say sprouts now is almost completely filled in. If you follow the directions you will get great results.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCollegeville, PA 19426, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Scott’s should immediately discontinue this product and shame on them for continuing to sell it, especially after all of the poor reviews on their own website. They should do a recall and refund money to anyone who purchased it.
Do not buy this product. It is a complete waste of time, money and effort. I followed the instructions as directed for not two but three weeks and I still have a front lawn full of sawdust. After spending time to rake out my lawn, water then apply the patch NOTHING grew.
This review is going on several re-seller websites as well.
Proszero pro's
ConsDidn't work as expected, does not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer Serviceshttp://www.scotts.com/smg/goprod/patchmaster-sun-shade-mix/prod70132/May 19, 2013
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort and would like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Whats Up With PatchMaster

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromEdgewood Ky
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Last fall I prepared two spots near my driveway applied a soil mix as a base then PatchMaster. Yes I applied it per directions and kept it watered. The weather was nice the temps were within limits and after the first snow later in the fall nothing but blue dirt.
I went on to this site in the spring to see what I did wrong, wow! It seems I didnt do anything wrong. I read all of the comments and tried again. So I waited for warmer weather cleaned up the spot and spread the PatchMaster. This time I tried a control, I got two shallow clay pots , filled them with garden soil applied the PatchMaster to one and sprinkled some KMart seed in the other.
Both were in a sunny spot , kept moist and guess what. Im still looking at blue dirt in one and OMG Im growing a pot of grass from KMart.Still no grass by my driveway. Is there something we dont know about. By the way, the last time I was in Home Depot I advised a customer to stay away from PatchMaster and try something else.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 12, 2013
We are sorry this product is not working for you. As always, the No Quibble Guarantee can be used. Please contact us to make arrangements.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY DISAPPOINTED :(

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used to use this all the time 15 years ago to repair the dead spots from my dog & it worked great. I used it last year & again this year to repair bare areas in my lawn & both years it did not work. I followed the directions, watered twice a day & nothing. I am wondering if Scotts changed the formula or something but this product doesn't work. What a waste of money :(
ConsDidn't work as expected, didn't work. period
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesMay 12, 2013
We are so sorry to hear you had troubles with the PatchMaster. We didn't change the formula. It is still a great product that performs well in testing environments. At least you still have the product guarantee, to help with the concerns about the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't even bother with this junk!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGalloway, NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed all the directions, and got ZERO results. Right now I still have the bluish green tint in my lawn. NOTHING GREW. I am happy Scott's is going to refund my $$, but I would have rather had grass.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, doesn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesDecember 6, 2012
We would rather you have grass, too! At least the refund policy will allow you to make another seeding attempt around the first of May, when soil temperatures should be ideal for growth.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is worse than "Poor"--DO NOT PURCHASE!!!

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I applied this product during the last weekend of September. I prepared very good soil at a very good time of year for seeding. 30 days later, not one seed has germinated. I applied and watered it exactly per directions and now have nothing but an unsightly plot of damp, shredded newspaper (the mulch). It's as if there is no seed in the product. I plan now to seed and apply straw. I won't apply starter fertilizer because there might actually have been some, as advertised, in the bag of PatchMaster I used. However, I'm not optimistic that grass will grow in the next few weeks. It's almost November and average high and low temperatures here for the first two weeks of the month are 60F and 33F. (I hope first two weeks of November are warmer than usual.) Time, work and money were wasted. Additionally, it is difficult and tedious to apply PatchMaster. I hope all potential customers read all the reviews of this product. I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Messy, Difficult to use, didn't work at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceOctober 31, 2012
We're sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade. The product is covered under our no Quibble Guarantee. Please contact us for more information. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did Not Work

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, NY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I must join the ranks of those who got no results from the use of this product. This year, I had the landscaper seed the front lawn, since bushes were replaced. I seeded the back, using Patch Master. Three weeks later, the front looks great; the back looks dismal. There are green patches, still full of flaky product, and no grass has come up at all. I have used Scott's products for many years (4 Step Program), with good results. I am disappointed in the PatchMaster product. I got the bags on sale - I guess you get what you pay for.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee Ann Consumer ServiceOctober 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry you didn't get the results you expected. Please contact us at the link below for information about our guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No grass grew

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew Canaan, CT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the second time I have used PatchMaster. The first time I tried was in May and the results were fantastic. I had beautiful grass in no time. This time I put the PatchMaster down in early October on a few of my tougher areas. I also reseeded other areas with regular seeds on raked soil. I watered meticulously and we had some nice rainy days. The regular seeds have grown into beautiful grass, whereas my PatchMaster areas haven't grown at all. I can't figure out what could have been so different between my two experiences.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesOctober 21, 2012
First of all, let me say, the product is covered by our No Quibble Guarantee.

There are several differences between the two experiences. Timing is probably strongly related: May soil temperatures tend to be much more consistently warm than late October. Cooler soil temperature can slow or stop germination.

You mention in your description that you were seeding "tough" areas. What makes them tough? Slow germination and ample water can sometimes make seed vulnerable to damping off, which is caused by disease. If your lawn is dying back in that area and you're struggling to grow grass seed, you may want to watch for signs of lawn disease.

It is also important to avoid the use of weed killers or preventers in the area where you plan to seed. Seed and seedlings are very sensitive to herbicides and can be harmed by them if they are used too close together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>