Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
1.814 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
53
16 out of 69(23%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPelham, NH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product just doesn't work and is not worth the time or money. My son in law used seed and peat moss on other areas of the lawn for patches that worked extremely well.
Do NOT waste your time or money!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product doesn't work

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIowa, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed the directions to the T. Watered twice a day, made sure it was spread evenly, made sure was in contact with the soil, made sure soil was soil was warm enough. Not a single blade of grass came up. Sad I wasted my money on this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used this product last year with great results. I read and followed the directions, but also patted the product to the greound. I looked at some of the pictures and it looks like maybe the "fluff" is still there. I figured that the seed needed to be in contact with the soil for the root to be able to take hold. I would agree that the directions may need to be rewritten to ensure consistent positive results, but the product is basically the same stuff that the hydroseeders spray out of their equipment, just in a dry form.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consdirections could be more descriptive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No sun for 30yrs because of a Norwood Maple

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDrexel Hill, Pa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had just move into our new house and had a big Norwood Maple that shaded my whole yard. The grass was thin and patchy. We had the tree trimmed up and back which gave us full sun on our lawn so we decided to heavy seed .that didn't work . Birds eating the seed and the sun burning the seed plus I didn't water as needed. My neighbor a landscaper told me to feed my lawn then wait till fall to seed . So I went out and bought scotts weed and feed and my lawn green up and was weed free with in 3 weeks than we bought scotts patch master and put this product down and followed the directions and in about 10 days I had a beautiful lawn better and greener then my neighbors. We used this product late spri g and watered 2x a day in morning and early afternoon.
ProsEasy to Use
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked much better than expected (given other reviews)

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBig Lake, MN
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased two large packages of Patch Master prior to reading any reviews. I was pretty pessimistic after reading reviews, but since I already had the product, I figured I'd try it.
Before saying anything else, let me make it clear - I have no clue about growing anything, including grass. I'm about as novice as it gets.
In my front yard, I had about 6 or so burn spots, a few square feet each. I dethatched the areas, used a hard rake to break up a little of the top soil. I have pretty sandy soil in my area, so I also put down some top soil I bought at Home Depot (forget the brand/name). I didn't put down a ton of new dirt, just enough to cover the existing soil I broke up.
I covered each area in patch master, thoroughly soaked each area, and then twice daily, I turned on a sprinkler to water the areas. In the morning, I would normally water for about 30-45 minutes (starting at 7am). In the evenings, I would normally water for about 2 hours (starting at 8pm).
On the 6th day, each spot had some blades shooting up. Today (day 12), there is pretty darn good coverage.
During the near 2 weeks, we've had a couple heavy rains, and a couple very sunny days. Most of the spots I treated have direct sunlight, although a few are decently shaded, but still came in well at this point.
Since things have gone so well in the front yard, I've since applied Patch Master to a couple hundred square foot dirt patch in my back yard. This area is heavily shaded, so we'll see how it turns out. The backyard patch is only on day 3, so no results yet (as expected).
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the cost. It's pretty spendy.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had Concerns but worked well

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPortage, MI
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought and applied two bags before reading the reviews on this site and after reading them I was concerned that I wasted my money. After a week of watering the seed once or twice a day I could see grass sprouting. After three weeks I mowed and it looks really good. There are a few spots where the grass is thinner but this should fill in over time. It was really easy to work with and I am happy with my results. I had previously put down grass seed only to have it be completely picked bare by birds, having the mulch in the PatchMaster made it undesirable to them.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, stops hungry birds
ConsMessy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I just recently used Scotts PatchMaster Sun and Shade Mix and I had pretty good results. I have a black lab and keeping the grass nice is almost impossible.
I followed the instructions by scratching the soil, laying down about 1/4 inch of material and watering twice a day. It's now been 9 days and I see seedlings in most of the spots.
So far it's working well. I included a picture.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, easy and works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromToms River, NJ, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am currently using your Scott's patcmaster in toms river nj seems to be working great as when I peel back the product there seems to be new grass beautifully growing underneath! But my question is do I remove the insulation or will the grass grow right thru it or does it just disintegrate on its own? So I'm unsure as what my next step is do I just leave it there or do I rake it up as there is no aftercare or what to do next! And also wanted to share I couldn't get grass to grow here no matter what I tried so I hope this is a success for me like I said under the product there is fresh new grass just not sure if this stuff goes away or do I have to rake it up will grass grow thru it or do I have to remove it
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consneeds better aftercare instructions
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJLong01
 
Please wait while more information about JLong01 is loaded.
Additional information about JLong01 could not be loaded.
onMay 17, 2014
I'm certain that it will disolve on its own. You do not want to take the chance on destroying the progress you have made. You cannot see the material in the area where I used it; the grass has grown through it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product did not work

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMichigan, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I applied this product in late summer of 2013 with the hopes that by this spring I would have new grass in my bare spots. There was no such luck. I followed the instructions to the letter.
I tried again this year-still nothing but the patch product on the lawn. Not a blade of grass. I am very disappointed with this product.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, no way to reseal the bag once opened
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesMay 13, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWilmington Del
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this product. Like many others, I followed the directions to the letter, even used Scott's topsoil and after two weeks I have a few, small blades. Nothing like the lush gras advertised on the packaging. I had faith in Scott's products, their advertising brand has always appeared to me to be superior quality, but now I have to question my choice. I started out on a test area with this product to see how it would do before committing to using Scott's on the rest of my yard. I will now be looking for an alternative product.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesApril 25, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Patchmaster review - Kettering, OH

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKettering, OH
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I used the Patchmaster mix for many areas in my lawn. I have read a lot of bad reviews of the product on this site. I think the key is the initial watering. Instructions indicate a THOROUGH watering. At first I watered the mix quite a bit....without results...or maybe they were just taking longer than expected. So I decided to REALLY water them....spray at shower settings close to the ground.....turned the mix/dirt into a muddy mush. Soon after the grass is growing just fine....I am very happy about the outcome now!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYelm, WA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this product. Like many others, I followed the directions to the letter, even used Scott's topsoil and after two weeks I have a few, small blades. Nothing like the lush gras advertised on the packaging. I had faith in Scott's products, their advertising brand has always appeared to me to be superior quality, but now I have to question my choice. I have an area of about 800 sq feet that needs patched (thanks to my 2 dogs) and I started out on a test area with this product to see how it would do before committing to using Scott's on the rest of my yard. I will now be looking for an alternative product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesApril 22, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. We hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product, works quick

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely in love with this product. It gave the most beautiful spot of grass in my yard. Would love to use on entire lawn. Absolutely works!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective, mames beautiful patch of grass
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY Disappointed

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWest Chester, PA, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Long time Scott's customer, I can't believe they could go to market with such an inferior product. Thought it was just me until I read all the negative reviews. Like many, followed the instructions exactly, including light watering 2x a day. After 12 days, not even a BLADE of grass. They should pull this product before it does more PR damage.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesSeptember 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience, even though we don't like to know a long-time customer is disappointed. There are a number of variables that can delay or reduce the germination of grass seed. We would like to know more about what happened in your case. Of course, we also should discuss our guarantee. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scotts Patchmaster- Disappointed

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCentral New York State
Age:55 to 64
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I've been very happy with Scotts products over decades of use. Coupled with the gardening advice and help lines which have often been helpful, I'm willing to pay a premium for Scotts products. But this product just doesn't work for me. I've now purchased this multiple times over many years without success. The most recent involves perhaps 50 square feet in my front lawn where a gas valve was installed. The area was nicely graded with good quality topsoil and then hydroseeded by the contractor. Unfortunately, water runoff from the road washed out some areas, sometimes washing out just the seed and others the topsoil as well. I replaced the topsoil from the contractor pile and reseeded with Patchmaster. After the second washout (and reseeding), I placed a barrier of sod to stop the running water, and have reseeded a third time. I have been careful to water- not too heavily- twice daily - when it has dried out from no rain. Looking closely at the grass, I have lush, beautiful grass everywhere that the hydro seeding is intact. Nowhere that I used the patchmaster- and it's intact - is there more than a few scattered blades of grass. I don't have big, heavy clumps. Given the recommended spreading rate, I'm not horribly off track. This unfortunately parallels my previous experience with this product. I'd like to say it's operator error, but given the above situation where other grass seed grows great under the same circumstances, I have to conclude either that this product doesn't perform or it's too hard to use. I've uploaded a photo- the lighter areas are Patchmaster I put down today. In the middle, you can see patchmaster from last week that has not sprouted. Just below it appears to be grass growing out of prior Patchmaster, but it's simply grass bending over and/or Patchmaster where some of the hydroseeded seed had sprouted and I was trying to overseed.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 2, 2013
I am very sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort with Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix. Thank you so much for taking the time to upload a photo as well.

As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. It’s almost important to be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPardee
 
Please wait while more information about Pardee is loaded.
Additional information about Pardee could not be loaded.
onSeptember 2, 2013
I do appreciate your response. However, the "canned" suggestions tell me to do things my review already say were done. Yes, there was plenty of moisture, it's August so it's warm, it's fresh soil and other grass seed is growing so it's not an herbicide issue. Given the low rating this product gets from a large number of reviewers, I think there's likely a problem.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too many weeds

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDavenport, IA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I am a loyal Scotts customer and am usually very satisfied, but when I purchased this product earlier this year the outcome was less than desirable. The area where the product was applied is now filled in but has quite a few weeds.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceAugust 14, 2013
I am sorry that you have been disappointed by the appearance of weeds in your newly seeded areas. Our seeds are guaranteed to be 99.9% weed free. Weed seeds are exposed when the soil is turned and will germinate right along with the new seed. Weed seeds may also be introduced to the area through the addition of topsoil or straw.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

what a mess!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a couple of areas in my lawn that is bare (2'x2') so I figured I try this since it just small size. I followed instructions completely and kept it moist however after 2 weeks I still had the same paper mess in various areas in my yard. another week later I decided to try the Scott's EZ seed that shakes out. After 2 weeks, it is slowly coming out in 1 small area however the majority is still nothing... I'm not sure if i would try another Scotts product.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 31, 2013
I am very sorry to learn of the problem you had with Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix. For best results when planting any grass seed, including PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix, keep the seed bed consistently moist. This is extremely important when dealing with warm summer temperatures. Do not apply in an area where weed controls have been applied as this can prevent or inhibit germination of the new seed. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't grow one blade of grass.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It simply did not grow grass. I have white newspaper patches in my lawn, but no grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 30, 2013
I am sorry that you didn’t get the results you expected from your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Also, please be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination.

We want you to be confident in our products and offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big disappointment

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDuluth, MN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Applied scotts patchmaster as per instructions along with scotts recommend specialized soil. Water twice per day for four weeks and all I have are big crusted gray spots in my lawn. DID NOT WORK for me. Money back guarantee does not mean much after expending precious time and effort and the resulting frustration only to back to zero. Worse yet I was dumb enough to try application the second time and had the same results.
Consfrustration and disappointment
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 16, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. The seed will not germinate if allowed to remain in clumps. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff worked for me

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSaint Paul, MN, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had good success with this product. Yes I watered it morning and night. It took about 9 days or more to germinate visibly so it helps to use it in the Spring when the rain is more frequent. I think getting it "flat" to the ground using the spray stream of the hose on days 2-3 made a difference (knocking down lumps and clumps) so the seed could enter the soil. I cheated a little and added some Scott's grass seed to mixture, hoping to enhance thickness, and it seems to have worked. Yes $25 is high, but the blue coloring is so beneficial when trying to locate 50-60 different small locations in the yard to water! I have used cheaper brands and had much poorer results, so I decided the Scott's name and price may be worth the premium, certainly was when I considered my time and effort. When wet, I had no issue mowing over the repair locations with my mulching mower, so lawn cutting doesn't have to be hindered either.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>