Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
1.878 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
61
20 out of 81(25%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

patch repair

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
frommichigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
has not grown one single blabe of garss and it will two weks come 6/4/2012
ProsQuality
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 3, 2012
We're sorry you didn't get the results you expected. Keep in mind that high day temperatures and cool night time temperatures may delay germination. It is also important to keep the grass seed consistently moist. Please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n for additional information and assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't grow one blade of grass.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It simply did not grow grass. I have white newspaper patches in my lawn, but no grass.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 30, 2013
I am sorry that you didn’t get the results you expected from your recent seeding effort. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Also, please be sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination.

We want you to be confident in our products and offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us at
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Perfectly

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNashua, NH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked exactly as described. New grass sprouted by the 7th day! Bye-bye bare spots! Yippee!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wasted my money on this product. Never sprouted any grass. I've had better luck with K-Mart brand.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 22, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKansas, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spread product on a well prepared seed bed, watered daily and 16 days later .... nothing. This stuff is a waste of time and money.
ConsDidn't work as expected, 0 germination
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 7, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This stuff is garbage!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDetroit, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't work. Waste of time. Finally bought generic grass seed from the local hardware. Wish I would have done that in the first place.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, garbage
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JustinConsumer ServicesMay 21, 2012
We're sorry to hear the Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix didn't germinate as expected. Cooler nighttime temperatures may affect seed germination. Your satisfaction is our primary concern and we offer a product guarantee. If you have any questions, please contact us. http://tinyurl.com/6qwd44t
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product, works quick

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely in love with this product. It gave the most beautiful spot of grass in my yard. Would love to use on entire lawn. Absolutely works!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective, mames beautiful patch of grass
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used this product three separate times. It never worked. This should be recalled.
Scott's does have great customer service though and worked with me on the issue.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesOctober 6, 2012
We're sorry that it didn't work, but glad that you took the time to reach out to us so we could help!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDallastown Pa
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It took 3 was to get a few blades of grass to grow. There is not much seed in the bag. Bought a no name brand last fall and it worked great. Maybe put some grass seed in the bag.
Consterrible
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJune 26, 2013
I am sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse. Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't even bother with this junk!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGalloway, NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed all the directions, and got ZERO results. Right now I still have the bluish green tint in my lawn. NOTHING GREW. I am happy Scott's is going to refund my $$, but I would have rather had grass.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use, doesn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy WendyConsumer ServicesDecember 6, 2012
We would rather you have grass, too! At least the refund policy will allow you to make another seeding attempt around the first of May, when soil temperatures should be ideal for growth.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely does not work!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I followed the meticulous directions on the label. Even put down brand new Scotts Garden soil. Watered every day and after 4 weeks it is still bare and I am out over $20. What a waste of time and money.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use, no grass grows, do not buy
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceOctober 3, 2012
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Scotts Patch Master Sun & Shade Mix. For best results, the grass seed should be kept consistently moist, should not be used in an area where weed controls have been applied, should be applied at less then 1/2 inch in thickness and should be applied when temperatures are between 60-70 degrees. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can provide any additional assistance or if you would like to further discuss or product guarantee. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product works well and within the expected time

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromUpper Darby, PA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product when I need help growing areas of my frass whgich have been destroyed. this works weel, the seed does not get ravaged by the birds and grows within the time period on the package.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPelham, NH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product just doesn't work and is not worth the time or money. My son in law used seed and peat moss on other areas of the lawn for patches that worked extremely well.
Do NOT waste your time or money!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 28, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted money and time

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLeatherstocking, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had little to no growth using this product, including carefully following directions. I have had great luck with EZ Seed, your more currrent patch filler, and I'd recommend that use of money over Patch Master.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesAugust 21, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Results

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSidney, IA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this PatchMaster in the early spring and I now have a full, lush, green lawn. There were brown areas before and now it's beautiful. Don't put in on too thick, keep it watered daily, and you'll have great results.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
frompontiac mi
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am very disappointed in this product, I followed the directions and made sure I watered, no results no new grass. Yard still looks awful. I bought 6 bags you would think at least one of them would have worked. waste of money
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too many weeds

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDavenport, IA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
I am a loyal Scotts customer and am usually very satisfied, but when I purchased this product earlier this year the outcome was less than desirable. The area where the product was applied is now filled in but has quite a few weeds.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceAugust 14, 2013
I am sorry that you have been disappointed by the appearance of weeds in your newly seeded areas. Our seeds are guaranteed to be 99.9% weed free. Weed seeds are exposed when the soil is turned and will germinate right along with the new seed. Weed seeds may also be introduced to the area through the addition of topsoil or straw.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product gives better results than just seeding!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having bad luck with seeding I reraked everything and applied patchmaster. Grass came up within 2 weeks and was alot easier to water and grow. I like that you can see when the patchmaster is dried up and when you need to water it.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO GRASS

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromEvansville, IN
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I prepared the soil, laid this product, and watered faithfully twice a day and had absolutely no new grass sprout. The inexpensive grass seed in a mat was laid the same day and it worked beautifully! I will not buy Scott"s seed mix again.
ConsDidn't work as expected, too expensive
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee Ann Consumer ServiceOctober 3, 2012
We're sorry to hear that your application of Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade was unsuccessful. Often, if the product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Generally, it should be spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Please visit the following link for more information. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® PatchMaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product doesn't work

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIowa, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Followed the directions to the T. Watered twice a day, made sure it was spread evenly, made sure was in contact with the soil, made sure soil was soil was warm enough. Not a single blade of grass came up. Sad I wasted my money on this product.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesJuly 17, 2014
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of your recent seeding effort. I'd like to offer a few tips that may be helpful to you in future seeding endeavors. As with any seed product, Scotts PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. When one of these conditions is missing, poor germination is the result. If PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is applied in early spring, when temperatures and moisture are inconsistent, seed development will be sparse.

Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. Check the package for proper coverage; this will give you an idea as to how thick the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix should be placed. Generally, PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix is spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch. Lastly, make sure that no weed control or weed prevention product has been used in the area, as those products will also prevent or inhibit germination. When used on newly germinated lawns, herbicides will kill off the new grass. I hope these extra tips will be helpful.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>