Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

Scotts Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®

All-in-one mix of fertilizer, seed and mulch. Repairs bare spots in your lawn.
Overall rating:
3.355 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(378 reviews) 378
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 378 reviews
5 Stars
172
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
14
1 Star
125
226 out of 367(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Review 1 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromButler, PA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product to fill in hard to grow shade areas.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FOR PATCH

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromManhattan, KS, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does exactly what it says it will-- fills patches.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Somebody forgot to put the seed in.

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPort Chester NY
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nothing, zip, no grass. Followed directions exactly.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy HilaryConsumer ServicesAugust 9, 2015
We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced with the results of this product. As with any seed product, PatchMaster requires both continuous moisture and warm soil temperatures. Be sure to spread the PatchMaster Sun & Shade Mix evenly over the prepared area. If this product is allowed to remain in clumps, the seed will not germinate. It is best to spread in a layer no thicker than 1/2 inch.

We offer a product guarantee to our consumers. Please visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not work at all, Please save your hard earn $$$$.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJanuary 13, 2016
We're sorry to hear you didn't get the results that you expected. We would like to talk more with you about your experience. At your earliest convenience, please contact us by using the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n. When calling, please refer to this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great way to repair a patch in the lawn

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromchesapeake city maryland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
This was quite simple to us and the results are great.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small patches

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromKc,mo
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Went on easy and stayed... Growth was fast and thick..
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

noda

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromAlbany, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
thought I did everything correct, no grass?? What's up
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesJanuary 12, 2016
There are a number of reasons why you may not be seeing germination. What were your temperatures when you applied the seed? We recommend seedingin your area between August 1st and September 1st. Have you applied any other products in the same area recently? Certain weed controls can inhibit seed growth.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your seeding endevors with you further. Please reach out to us at the following link so we may be of further assistance. Also know: our products do come with a satisfaction guarantee.
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked well

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromRacine, WI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used in areas dog tore up. Had good results after using
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to Use

PostedJanuary 16, 2016
Customer avatar
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use without all the dirt, etc. and good product.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions, Value, Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this many times and it always grows in full.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Messy and did not work

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromHolden Massachusetts, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
make your yard look messy and plus it did not grow grass
ProsEasy to Use
ConsMessy
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJanuary 13, 2016
We're sorry for your disappointment. To get the best results make sure to spread the seed 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch thick. Apply too thick and the product will bunch and not germinate well. Also, make sure to water lightly and keep the top 1/2 inch of soil moist until the seedlings has germinated and started to grow. This may require watering at least 2 times per day for at least 2 weeks. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick Fix

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromToms River, NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great for a quick fix for patch work around house and lawn
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EASY to utilize

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromAurora, OH, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As above, plus it helps keep seed moist until germination.
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Conspricy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like this product

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromSaginaw, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used on the lawn that had some bare spots works pretty good
ProsEasy to Use
Consno problem
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

patchmaster works

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromOcean County, NJ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
follow directions and prep areas properly and it works fine
ProsEasy to Use, Effective, Good Directions
Consworks well, takes time to germinate
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used this product and Scotts has good overall quality
ProsEasy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Directions are easy to follow.

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMonticello, UT
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product did not produce grass growth I thought it would.
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy KiaraConsumer ServicesFebruary 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®. It's very unfortunate that you did not receive the results that you expected. When our product fails to meet your expectations it is our priority to assure that you remain satisfied in us. For this reason we offer our No-Quibble Guarantee® . Please feel free to reach out to us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Patch master

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
Customer avatar
fromCanfield ohio
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wind tended to blow up his product away. Never did germinate.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy AmandaConsumer ServicesJanuary 14, 2016
We'd like to apologize for the difficulty you had with the Patchmaster seed. We have alerted our Quality Assurance team of this issue and they will be looking into it further.

There are a number of reasons why seeds may not germinate. Water plays a critical role in the establishment of seeds. The seed needs to remain consistently moist for the first few weeks. If it dries out for even a day, that can prove fatal to the newly germinated seedlings.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WORKED OK IN MOST AREAS

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromFort Washington, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WORKED OK IN MOST SPOTS. A FEW SPOTS SHOWED NO SIGN OF GROWTH
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
Consoesn'rt work 100%
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® Patchmaster® Sun & Shade Mix®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
Customer avatar
fromlakewood co
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
:This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works great to fill in bald spots in the lawn and looks great
ProsEffective, Good Directions, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>