Customer reviews for Ortho Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®

Ortho Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®

Kills over 250 lawn weeds without harming the lawn - Guaranteed
Overall rating:
3.897 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
20 out of 29(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Review 1 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hose Connector Kept Pulling Off

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew York
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
The plastic yellow hose connector kept popping off, spraying water and I assume some herbicide all over the lawn and me. A few other reviewers mention the same issue. If you use this product be aware that this might happen. The bottle also didn't appear to be venting correctly. I've always had good results with Scotts/Ortho products and am dissapointed in this one.
ConsMessy, Didn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceJuly 3, 2013
I am sorry that you have experienced problems while using Ortho Weed B Gon MAX Ready Spray. Let me reassure you that any liquid coming from the hose connector is plain water, and not the product solution. We do not know why the container is not staying connected to the garden hose. Unfortunately I must recommend that you follow label directions for disposing of unused product.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPhenix City AL
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
We had more weeds and dandelions in our yard than grass. It took one application of this product and they are all dead. The time it took was very quick, I used it yesterday and today, DEAD WEEDS! I live in Phenix City Alabama just so you know. I'm posting a picture of what they looked like less than 24 hours later!!!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this stuff

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought a new house this past winter and the old owner never did anything but cut the grass. Once the spring came the lawn was covered in weeds. I started with Scott's step one then a few weeks later I put down weed b gon. Within two weeks all the dandelions and clover was gone. I couldn't find weed b gon with crabgrass in my area. I looked in all the home improvement stores so I ended up pulling it out by hand. I tell everyone I know to buy this stuff it's a great deal at under $8. I will only use Scott's products on my lawn.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is easy to use and effective

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPlymouth Meeting, PA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No messing around with measuring, or applying where unnecessary! Simply attach a hose and turn on the water. Go to where the weeds are a problem, and turn on the nozzle, and spray directly. Effectively kills the weeds without killing the grass. Only drawback... re-application needed, as it appears only to kill weeds it contacts.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consre-application required to kill new weed sprouts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for large areas

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTrumbull, CT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usually I spot spray for weeds but after a major seeding project my yard usually ends of with lots of weeds. For large areas I always turn to this product. I have done so in the past with great success. Just be sure to follow the directions on the label.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Everytime

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCentral Ohio
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this product every year and it starts killing off the weeds in just a few hours.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
ConsProblem with label
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked beautifully

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product worked very quickly. Was very satisfied
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not user friendly, AND is not effective

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used different Ortho products over the years. I just purchased Weed B Gone in a quart size that is attached to hose and sprayed on the lawn. To start, the yellow molded part that attaches to the hose pulled into 2 pieces as soon as I attached to the hose and began spraying. I had to force back onto the other molded plastic yellow part, and it pulled off again. Frankly, I believe it was poorly designed. So, I took another, older bottle from a couple of years ago, and sprayed the lawn per the directions. Then, 2 weeks later, I sprayed the lawn again, pouring the new Weed B Gone, into the older part, and using that. I followed directions very closely. It did nothing to the weeds in my lawn, except seemed to stress some of them. I was thoroughly dissatisfied with the product. Not only was the new end cap inferior, the product did nothing. I will not use this product again.
ConsDidn't work as expected, Difficult to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 30, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you have experienced problems while using Ortho Weed B Gon MAX Ready Spray. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and we have forwarded your comments to our marketing teams for review. Keep in mind that we do not recommend transferring weed controls in a Ready to Spray bottles to other applicators. An over-application of a weed control can cause damage to the lawn or an under-application can be ineffective.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Grass Dying

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPort Orange, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sprayed on the yard as instructed about 10 days ago now my grass is dying.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected, killing grass
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy ChristinConsumer ServiceSeptember 24, 2013
I am sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Ortho Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions.

Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation. Also, please be aware that issues such as lawn disease or insects feeding are often mistaken for product damage. You may want to take a sample of the damaged area to a reputable nursery to rule these out.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No results after four 1/2 days

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I followed the directions exactly as indicated on the lable. It has been 4 1/2 days since applied. Absolutely no reaction is apparent though it indcates results can be seen within 24 hours. Clover still the same. Dandelions still growing. Other weeds still active. Nothing has withered either. For me this has been a very poor product. I would not recommend
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected, no reaction to weeds. still the same as before
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this to keep my planting area in good shape all year
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for in between control

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPort Vue, Pa.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you need to hit weeds in a large yard but feeding isn't needed, this is the product for you.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Correctly used-it work as stated on side panel

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromClifton Park, NY 12065, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used no name lower priced weed killer on lawns. Lawn weeds won, I lost. This ywear I tried The weed killer and this product worked. We had a dry early spring and before the first Spring storm, I sprayed areas on the lawn, driveway, edge on the strret and in the garden edges.
Rain poured for 2 days and within 3 days after, all those areas I praed the weeds grew and died. I purposely did not spray areas to test the product. Those areas sprung spring weeds. Not for long. I sprayed those and those qweeds died out in a few days
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The weeds were gone!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGarrett, IN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We usea Weed B Gon and we were free of the weeds that were "bugging" us!
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ortho weed b Gon Ready-Spray

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is amazing and so easy to use. Makes spraying a mid to large lawn easy and quick. Found that this product delivers as advertized and keeps the weeds at bay for upto 4 months especially during the hottest part of the summer when the weeds really seems to dig in. Best part about it there is no harm to the lawn. Its now September and my lawn has never looked better. Highly recommend.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product works

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWashington State
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Weed B Gone for over 30 years, and I will continue to use it. I challenge you to find a weed in my lawn.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRumson,NJ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After an extended winter vacation, we arrived home to find that, due to the warm winter in the Northeast, crabgrass had germinated early and made up 50% of our lawn. We thought we would have to re-sod the lawn, but iinstead decided to try the recommended 2 applications of Weed B Gon. The lawn is now back to normal and we saved a lot of money in not having to re-sod!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Awesome!!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBrooklyn Park, MN, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product because it hooks up to the hose. Easy to use and worked with in a few days. I recommend this if you have huge spots of weeds that you want to clear out.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed Results

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLong Island, NY
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appears to temporarily control weeds I have - namely the "veronica" weed and clover. Repeat application is almost a certainty, to maintain weed control throughout the season. Also, I recommend speaking to Ortho for additional tips on best conditions to apply for best results. It should more accurately be advertised with a prominent disclosure that mulitiple applications will likely be needed for best results.
ProsEasy to Use
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJune 5, 2012
We are sorry that the Ortho Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns did not control the veronica or clover as expected. To get the best results from any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime high temperatures are consistently between 65 to 85 degrees. For best results, the night time temperatures should be consistently above 50 degrees. Since this product is absorbed through the weed's foliage, we recommend that the weeds not be mowed for two days both before and after the product application. This product will only kill weeds that are actively growing at the time of application, and cannot prevent new weeds from germinating. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n


0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ortho® Weed B Gon Weed Killer For Lawns Ready-Spray®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Change formula doesn't work !

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSan Diego, CA
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
I have for years used successfully Weed_B-Gone concentrate to control oxalis in my bermuda grass lawn in Southern California.
When my supply ran out, of course I purchased more Weed-B-Gone. and applied it to my lawn. Yes, I read the directions and noticed that the specified application rate had changes, so I compared the formulas on the new and the old container and they are different.
I don't know when the change was made but the new formula does not work !
ProsGood Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer ServiceJune 3, 2012
We're sorry you did not get the results that you expected. This product is registered to kill oxalis. However, heavy infestations may require additional applications. Please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n for more information or for information about our product guarantee.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>