Customer reviews for Scotts Scotts® GrubEx®1*

Scotts Scotts® GrubEx®1*

One application kills and prevents all season (up to 4 months) - Guaranteed!* *Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
33 out of 34(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Review 1 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking forward grub death this fall, and next spring and maybe next fall again!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMilford, MA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do my homework on anything I buy. And if you do yours you will come across a link to the Michigan State University Extension of Turfgrass Science discussing grub control products commercially available for spring 2012. The biggest issue that yardners like us face is the variable seasonal timing of the application of such products (based on chemical used). Biggest failures are not generally with the chemical used, but rather with the user mistiming the application. The second biggest issue is knowing what products will and will not work on mature grubs and growing grubs. Scotts GrubEx's active ingredient is chlorantraniliprole, a newer and excellent preventative agent. But note, it will not kill any mature grubs that you might be currently finding this spring. For that you will need a curative product. That is not a fault of the Grubex. The chemical just wont touch the larger grubs doing damage now. It will however, when correctly timed, do wonders for the fall eruption of grubs and the upcoming spring grubs since the lawn has now been preventatively treated. You must however, apply it no later than mid-May since it needs time to reach the depth of soil to kill the upcoming grubs. Apply GrubEx to soon and you will miss the following spring grubs. Apply GrubEx to late, and you miss this fall's grubs. Knowing this, I went out and got my bags of GrubEx and applied it 2 days ago. The spring rains have been quite steady now and I look forward to the results this year and next. This way I now will avoid needing the curative product in the spring and just reach for Scotts GrubEx for my season long protection in late-April to mid-May.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, 1+ year long protection, pet safe (but follow directions as precaution)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted bydck
 
Please wait while more information about dck is loaded.
Additional information about dck could not be loaded.
onJuly 1, 2012
I put my GrubEx down the last week of May 2012. I have many Japanese beetles flying around my back yard + my back yard has many dead spots... more than last year. I also applied GrubEx last Aug., because the grubs were killing my newly laid sod. My neighbors on both sides of me have nothing but weeds for a back yard, so my new sod must be the target. The Japanese beetle grubs must hate weed roots, because as I said the neighbors yards are untouched. I read the best time to put down GrubEx is when the beetles are flying around and laying their eggs in the grass, which is now, (here in MN.) the first week in July. Hopefully the distribution I put down the last part of May 2012 will kill the new eggs which are being laid now. Also, I heard the product loses its potency if it is a couple years old, so don't buy more than you need. My neighbor behind me is having his apple tree devoured and I think the beetles are coming from his yard also.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byFLEXophile
 
Please wait while more information about FLEXophile is loaded.
Additional information about FLEXophile could not be loaded.
onMay 14, 2012
From all that I have read, there are good studies on this chlorantraniliprole being a very efficacious product while being very selective in what it attacks (See 2011 Society of Chemical Impacts titled "Comparative impact of an anthranilic diamide and other insecticidal chemistries on beneficial invertebrates and ecosystem services in turfgrass"). Also look up the Dupont techincal bulletin pdf file on Rynaxypyr (chlorantraniliprole) where it has been used for pest control in crop farming. It has footnotes to a lot of studies that support the aforemention study, in that it is highly selective (only 0 - 30% mortality of beneficial arthropods), efficacious as low doses, has an excellent environmental profile in that it is also of low impact to fish, birds and mammals. Compared to the prior chemicals used to treat grubs (and some still used today) this is suprisingly about as eco-friendly as you can get, provided you don't subscribe to the organic methods of grub control.
I don't see anything anywhere that would prevent me from using it in my flower beds if grubs were a problem. But you might want to do your own research too, since no where is it labeled for such use. Maybe Scotts can reply too?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byNJKipper
 
Please wait while more information about NJKipper is loaded.
Additional information about NJKipper could not be loaded.
onMay 13, 2012
Can I apply this product in my flower gardens?
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 2 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used twice and the grubs and japanese beetles are still around

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMn
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a new lawn laid last spring (May 2011) and noticed japanese beetles on my grape vines (July through Aug. 2011) plus dead patches on my new grass. I put GrubEx1 on my lawn in Aug. to no avail. Again I put GrubEx1 down last May (end of May 2012) and watered it in. This spring I got rid of the grape vines because the beetles destroyed them last year. For a week now I have noticed beetles flying around my yard and my back yard (new grass last spring) is a disaster... many dead spots. For some reason the beetles have been landing on my two umbrella's on my deck, where I have drowned at least a couple hundred in a bucket of soapy water. The thatch in the grass has become thick because of the grubs eating the grass roots. I'm going to the store today but this time I'm going to try something else.
Prosgrubex is guaranteed to work or your money back.
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJuly 6, 2012
We are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts GrubEx1. This is a good product and is labeled for the control of grubs for approximately 4 months if applied at the appropriate time in your area. Timing is an important factor, we recommend putting GrubEx1 down April through July, with the best time being April-May. One reason for the early application is to make sure the active ingredient is washed into the soil. If you apply it too early in the spring, the active ingredient will break down before prime grub hatching time. If you apply it too late it will not be effective on those grubs hatched early in the year. Unfortunately Grubex1 does not kill Japanese Beetle adults, and will not prevent new Japanese Beetles from entering the yard.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytmark
 
Please wait while more information about tmark is loaded.
Additional information about tmark could not be loaded.
onAugust 6, 2012
I agree product is terrible because directions on product label are WEAK and innaccurate. Scott s recommends on its website, June/July application. Now this response from Scotts is recommending April May?????
There is more information on this blog, then on the label or Scotts website.
I put this down in mid-June, as recommnended and my grass was wiped out with grubs. Scotts, if this product is needs to be applied at an optimal time, please do a better job explaining that. Cost me my lawn for the season. had to use Ortho product to save what was left of it.
+3points
7of 11voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Read the bag!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMentor, Ohio
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fantastic product! One has to read and follow the instructions on the bag for it to work properly.... I guarantee that those who did not find the product any good did not follow the instructions thoroughly. Remember, "The customer is always right, if he reads the manual first!" The only thing I have to say though is the product works best on grubs if you apply it in late spring/early summer depending on where you live. I live in Northern Ohio and always use it between may 15 and June 15. I dont apply it every year because it seems to do the job very adequately over a cycle of two years, but I always apply on the third season. I lost several lawns using many other products and this is the only one that works for me.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts GrubEx

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromFeeding Hills, Agawam, MA 01030, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best product for eliminating grubs from your lawn. I moved into my current home 8 year ago. At that time I had grubs that killed the grass and moles all over. Their tunnels were very noticeable and the lawn was a disaster.
For the first 2 years I tried everything on the market, including trapping these darn moles with no success . On a trip to a local hardware store I purchased (3) bags of Scotts GrubEx . After applying, everything changed with my lawn. No longer did I have grubs and moles but my lawn was revived and looked like a show case lawn. People commented on my "new" picture perfect lawn. For the past 5 years, my lawn has been mole and grub free great lawn
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GrubEx

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSte Genevieve, MO
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Beginner
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had problems with moles in my backyard for several years. I have tried many products in the past and I have had varying degrees of success. I was told to try this product in late Feb/Early March. So far I have had excellent results. I treated on area and left another area of my lawn untreated. I definitely saw a difference between the untreated area and the treated area. I would definitely recommend trying this product. In fact I am going to get another bag of GrubEx to treat the untreated area right now. Hope this helps anyone.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
ConsBad Odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff - lawn saver!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCT
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in a suburban/rural setting and, while many people think having wild turkeys around, it stinks because they tear my lawn to shreds! I found that they are really digging for grubs and Japanese beetles. That's where the Grubex comes in. Last year, I put Grubex down on 85% of my lawn (ran out before I finished). No turkeys on that 85%, but the other 15% took a beating! No more excuses this year. The entire lawn got a full cover. This product is a little pricey, but I don't have a lot of alternatives.
ProsQuality, Effective
Conspricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAthol, MA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were really having a problem with grubs early this Spring and we even had a skunk that was tearing up our lawn to get to the grubs. Once we applied the Grubex we could see a big improvement in that not only was it helping to eliminate the grubs but the skunk too. I plan to do another application again this summer and will make it an on going regular practice. Thank you. Excellent product!!
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, best product by far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and only (1) application needed

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromParkville, MD
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just put this product on our lawn. I've been using it for the last 5+ years. It's so easy to use and you only need to apply it (1# time. I just waited for the rain to activate this product into our lawn/soil#or you can lightly water it in yourself#. I highly recommend it to anyone, who#m# is concerned about grub's#and many other insects) destroying the roots of their lawn.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works - haven't seen grubs in the soil

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I definitely had grubs - found quite a few digging around the yard here and there. I applied this product a couple of years ago, and subsequent digging has not turned up any grubs.
My initial goal was to help eliminate moles! I had a pretty major mole problem, and eliminating the excellent food source grubs provide goes a long way towards that yard battle.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grubex has solved the grub issue I have had in my lawn.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I, in years past, have had issues with grub damage to my lawn. In addition I have had to deal with beatles dinning on my garden plants. I began using Scotts Grubex in the late spring several years ago. It has controlled the lawn damage and eliminated the Japanese beatles. It is an extreemly easy solution to a not so nice situation.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDeeMe
 
Please wait while more information about DeeMe is loaded.
Additional information about DeeMe could not be loaded.
onJune 9, 2012
Wow...I was almost sure that the "Beatles" dined on finer food than garden plants with all their money. Did you see Ringo or Paul?
-9points
3of 15voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCT
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I firmly believe this product is effective given my past experience when I skipped the seasonal application; it resulted in grubs re-populating the lawn and having many bear spots.
To be certain that the near bear areas were caused by grubs: I lifted the dying lawn finding a grub every 3 to 5 inches apart.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

putting grubex down to late

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
frommi
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using grubex for 15 years ,This was the first year i haven't used grubex.now my yard is filled with grubs. So I called Scotts and they told me i was to late, I put down grubex in september and it didn't work . I should of put it down in the spring I'll never make that mistake again
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was so easy to apply and did wonders for my lawn

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWest Mifflin, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:1 to 3 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this item at Home Depot garden center and used my broad cast spreader in no time at all I covered my 80x160 yard. And have't seen a grub or mole tracks in my lawn. I can only say that this will be my item of choice for treating grubs yearly.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, easy to use and effective

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWesterville, OH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the easy way to control grubs. It is effective in most conditions, although I've found I needed to apply a second round in some areas more heavily infested. It seems to have been very effective this year even with the hot dry weather.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective with a low environmental impact

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMid-Atlantic
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotts GrubEx contains a new, highly effective active ingredient known for its low environmental footprint. I like using high quality products that take advantage of best available, modern technology. The results have been great.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grub-ex is the best

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGrosse Pointe, MI, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only buy Grub-ex by Scotts to control the grubs in my lawn. I've tried other off-brand products but Scott's Grub-ex is the only one that works in a thorough and consistent manner. Provides excellent control and is easy to use.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does What it Says

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAkron, OH
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The first year I moved into my home I didn't get around to using GrubEx and my lawn got destroyed by grubs. Each year since then I've applied GrubEx as directed and no longer do I have patches of grass pulling up in chunks.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Consexpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mole Control

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKendallville Indiana
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've lived across from a golf course ffor 17 ye our mole problems were always bad until we started using Grubex to kill the moles food source. After seeing how good our lawn looks, all of our neighbors use Grubex too!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Grub Killer

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPITTSBURGH PA 15229
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:6-10 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
I use Grubex every spring. Our neighbor's yard are all dug up in the fall by Skunks. They are hungry for the grubs; they'll damage an entire yard. My yard is lush and green, thanks to Scott's lawn care products!
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scotts® GrubEx®1*
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one step -good for the season

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
frompittsburgh,pa
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i had noticed some dead areas in lawn-service said grubs at work and recommedned control. half of lawn lost & had to be sprayed for quick releif but ever since i've used grubex and no problems with the grubs.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>