Customer reviews for Scotts Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed

Scotts Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed

Feeds and strengthens against heat and drought.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Review 1 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the dollar weed!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Smyrna Beach, FL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only weed and feed I use. Gets the dollar weed and other weeds and keeps my lawn looking great, all year long!
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Products and Reputation

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using Scott products since 1972 on Zoysia and St Augustine grasses . I have always used Scootts Spreaders - drop and rotary. I have been impressed that Scotts continue to increase its brand across many lines that I also used with gardening and weeds control.
ProsEasy to Use, Quality, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have long term history

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSpring. Tx.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I married my wife 33 years ago. She made me agree to keep our yard weed free and full of grass. At first I didn't worry about it because we lived in Apartments. 29 years ago we started having children and moved into a rental home. My turn to keep my word. First year tried hard but failed. Than I tried Scotts Bonus S Weed & Feed, Wherever I have lived Bonus S has gone down with Great results.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for 15 or more years. I apply it every Spring to kill weeds that try to appear after the winter. It works great for me. My grass is green and practically weed free all summer.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scotts Weed and Feed

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromlancaster, Texas
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used the Scotts Weed and Feed every spring in Texas for probably 15 yrs and we never have anymore weeds all summer.
ProsEffective
Conspricy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brought a poor lawn back to first class shape

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTampa, FL
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife and I bought a home that had been a rental property for several years. The lawn was in poor shape with lots of weeds vying to crowd the St. Augustine grass. After using Super Bonus S Southern Weed & Feed, the weeds are well under control and the grass looks great. We dug up a garden area and ordered sod to reestablish it as lawn and when the sod company owner showed up with the sod, he looked at the rest of the lawn and said, "You really don't need sod for anything but this one little patch, because this is one of the best looking lawns I've seen." Most of the reason for that is the consistent use of Bonus S Weed and Feed.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for ST Augustine lawns

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDunedin, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use Scotts bonus S about 4 times a year to keep the lawn green and control weeds. The product is easy to use and works very well with most weeds. In Florida Dollar weed is very prevalent and Bonus S helps keep it under control.
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product ....I use it every year !

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:4 to 7 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:6-10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on st augustine grass ! Would not use any other product on my grass.
ProsEffective
Conswill stain walk ways if not cleaned up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromconroe, tx
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband swears by this product. He has everyone on our street using it on their grass. It does a great job and helps to keep the grass so green and pretty.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looking for a full lawn.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBoca Raton, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Expert
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This formula designed for southern lawns is much improved over past years. Does a much better job. Have used these products over the last 30 years. Neighbors comment on how nice it is to have a view of my lawn. I simply explain the lawn needs to be strong enough to fight off the weeds. Bonus S is the product to feed and prevent weeds in South Florida. The rain amount doesn't wash away the time released product if applied properly.
ProsValue, Quality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective, time release product
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product works well

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWest Monroe, LA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using this product for a number of years and Ihave better weed control when I spray my yard before using the bonus s. I have had ideal growing conditions this summer and my yard is beautiful. Thanks.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EXCELLENT IN MY LAWN

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product for many years and the results are always good. Follow the instructions 100% and your results will be as indicated. I recommend this product 100%
ProsEffective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for the most part.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGalveston, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Doesn't do a great job killing dollar weed, but really makes the grass look great.
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Good Directions, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

St. Augustine in TX

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArlington, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A must if you have St. Augustine in the south regions. If they could only figure out a way to also kill Dallisgrass too....
ProsQuality, Easy to Use, Effective
Consexpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this Weed & feed good for Grass

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this Scotts® Lawn Pro® Super Bonus® S Weed And Feed to give fertilizer to my grass and to control weed. It help in control weed.
ProsEasy to Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:4-5 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fertilizer worked great and I recommend it! It got rid of weeds immediately and greened up my lawn.
ProsValue, Easy to Use, Effective
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product does 90% of the work

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:30 or more years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:4-5 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough Dollar weed needs a little heavier application than recommended, but it does a great job, knocking it back quickly!
ProsEffective
Constough growth needs heavier application
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bonus S no longer works

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:More than 10 times
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used this product on the same lawn effectively for many years. However, this year the product no longer works on dandelions and crabgrass. The weeds have either developed a resistance to the product or the formula was changed. I will not use this product again and will try another brand.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServiceJuly 17, 2012
We are sorry that the Super Bonus S did not control the dandelions and crabgrass as expected. To get the best results from Super Bonus S, apply the product to a dry lawn when the temperatures are consistently above 60 degrees; water the product in after application. It is especially important to water after applying the product when daytime temperatures are above 85 degrees. We recommend that the weeds not be mowed for two days both before and after the product application.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n




0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What Happened to the Formula!!!!!!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPearland, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Gardening Experience:8 to 15 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:2-3 times
How many times purchased in the past:2-3 times
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I live in the Houston surrounding area and have St. Augustine grass. I WAS an avid SUPER BONUS S user and was ALWAYS pleased with it's results. HOWEVER, the formula has changed to include turf builder. This formula has dramatically decreased its effectiveness. Unfortunately, I have all types of weeds sticking around and popping up within three weeks later. WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT!!! I am completely convinced that this is all about money now. Because, in addition to this new product it is recommended you add another product to get the results you need. Who can afford spending additonal 20-30 dollars per bag everytime you need to do your lawn. With that said I am now on a mission to find ONE product that will produce what Super Bonus S without Turf Builder used to do. I hope Scott's gets enough negative feedback on this new forumula that includes Turf Builder, so they go back to the original product just like the producers of Coke did when they messed with their already great product.
ProsEasy to Use, Good Directions
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy JeremyConsumer ServicesApril 10, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your displeasure with Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed and Feed and for any confusion regarding the name change of the products. Previously we did sell a Super Turf Builder line that was available for purchase at Independent Lawn and Garden Stores. Unfortunately, this line has been discontinued. There were minor nutrient differences in the Super Turf Builder line when compared to our Turf Builder line.

This change also happened to coincide with the renaming of our Scotts Bonus S Southern Weed and Feed which is now named Scotts Turf Builder Bonus S Southern Weed and Feed. Extra ingredients have not been included, and this was mostly a name change. The formulation of these two products were almost identical except for the removal of the 1% phosphorous on the renamed product, that allows us to meet the phosphorous free requirements of many states.

You are not be required to add any additional products to get the results you are expecting, and
should be getting the same great results that you have had in the past when using Super Bonus S. We are sorry that this is not the case. We want you to be confident in our products. All of our products carry our No-Quibble guarantee. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link
http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Super Bonus® S Southern Weed & Feed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dandelions love this stuff!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromConway, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Gardening Experience:15 to 30 years
Experience:Intermediate/Average
How many days within the past 12 months:This is the first time
How many times purchased in the past:This is the first time
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this product two months ago - 10 bags worth on my property. Used as directed and then fall set in. Well the only thing that is growing well are the weeds. I do not believe this killed a single weed, in fact the dandelions are grownhg bigger and faster along with a number of others. This is junk, I wish I could get my money back. Scott's is terrible, never, ever use it.
Prosexpensive, worthless, good dandelion food!
ConsDidn't work as expected
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from scottsBy Lee AnnConsumer Service January 3, 2014
We're sorry to hear you didn't get the results you expected. This product is meant to kill existing weeds growing in the lawn and will not prevent new weeds from developing. Give us a call at 877-465-5160 for additional assistance and help with our product guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.